Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
651 ratings
261 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

RR

Jun 17, 2017

Amazing course to understand the nature of probability and its applications. Lecture delivery by Karl is fabulous and the efforts put in by Jose is highly appreciable. Hoping for an advance course.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 259 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Jeremi S

Nov 29, 2017

Karl has a nice tone, cadence and rhythm. More intuitive than other courses I have taken on the same subject.

By aineko

Feb 22, 2018

Good and remarkably easy introduction to probability theory. The chosen real world applications really helped me to understand the subject better. Might have to recap some lessons to really grasp the subject.

By Fatih C

Jul 10, 2018

Fun but too basic so a good intro for a complete newbie

By Ali H

Jun 01, 2017

Every thing was fine, just I expected a little bit more advanced materials.

By Ibrahim N

Jan 13, 2018

A very good course, especially if you are interested in the applications of probability theory. The title fulfills itself and this course is kind of an alternative approach to the very popular problem: how to understand probability theory in a better way.

By Robert C P

Apr 29, 2017

A very nice introduction. The instructor shows a lot of enthusiasm for the subject. The exercises help reinforce the material.

By Vladimir L

Aug 21, 2017

Down to earth explanation of probability basics, explanations are clear and mostly intuitively understandable. Great examples of Excel use for different probability tasks resolution. However use of Normal distribution Excel functionality is not needed when explaining 5 coins toss. It is more intuitive to show it using combination formula.

By Cris

May 16, 2017

overview is quite good.

couple of intuitive explanations.

script is more deep.

By ayhan k

Jun 05, 2017

very clear explanation, good examples to make better understood

By Noah P

Jun 01, 2017

Quick introductory course

By Mayank J

Jun 15, 2017

As written in course introduction this course covers basics of Probability. Instructor is good and explains everything from scratch. Would recommend this course for someone who want to learn about basics.

By Francisco P

Apr 28, 2018

Nice course it is a wonderful way to introduce to probabiility

By Hasan B

Feb 01, 2017

Very nice and entertaining course

Sometimes the quizzes can be a bit frustrating. They could be set better.

Also, often the quizzes are very trivial.

By EIRINI M

Jun 10, 2017

Very interesting course, I would like it going a little bit deeper in theoretical level.

By Tengfei H

May 06, 2017

The course is very interesting. It has taught me a lot about basic ideas/definitions/applications of probability. But the difficulties of the exercises may be raised a little bit to bring a little bit more challenge to this course.

By PRASAD K

Apr 04, 2019

Very enthusiastic professor. The real world examples were the highlight of the course. Would have liked more math content though.

By Jason N

May 12, 2019

not bad, not technical enough but applications were interesting

By Crispin R

Mar 29, 2019

Videos were very useful and interesting. This helped me develop my understanding of statistics in my A-Level Maths course.

By Issam B

Jul 31, 2019

It's an interesting course because it has many applications .Thank you very much to Professor Karl Schmedders

By Ahmed A A

Apr 26, 2019

Thank you

By Antonio P

Aug 30, 2019

Excellent teaching of a well designed introductory course about probability. I’ve appreciated how much can be taught while keeping tough maths out of sight. I’ve also appreciated the connection between theory and non-scholastic, real life applications.

By Evgeny G

Dec 20, 2018

While the lectures was interesting, I found flaws in exercises part and material navigation. We need more difficult exercises to practice or maybe links to some external tasks. Also navigation bar is bad. There's no way we can get back to completed videos on different weeks.

By Lucas B

Mar 01, 2019

Not that challenging

By Jan P

Dec 16, 2018

The in-class quizzes are not relevant and exercises uninteresting. Otherwise interestingly conducted and helpful course.

By yogesh s d

Apr 26, 2018

The course was basic. Exercises were way too easy.