Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.8
stars
1,701 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

MB

Invalid date

What an incredible course! Dr. Schmedders' energy combined with his knowledge made for an insightful introduction to probability that I will use as a launchpad for further explorations!

UR

Invalid date

This course is an absolute GEM. I am glad I took it before my CFA preparation. I would highly recommend this course . I thoroughly enjoyed all the real time applications given by the professor!!!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 662 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Withanage M S W

Mar 6, 2024

This is one of the best online courses I have followed. Examples were really interesting. I learned a lot from this course. I would like to appreciate the confidence and excellent way of explaining of Prof. Karl Schmedders. Excel demonstrations were really cool as it proved everything right after I learned it. Thank you so much...!!!

By Kamalkishor P

Jul 23, 2021

I was apprehensive at the beginning, should I enroll, should I learn, should I start this course, what if some other course has a better content...etc...etc. I am very happy that I did enroll and complete this course. The professor is one of the best one can find out there! The course is amazing, Go ahead for anyone who wants to learn!

By Alperen Ç K

Sep 18, 2020

Very good course on Probability. As the title says it is an intuitive introduction. No formulas or plenty of problem solving. If you would like to understand the ideas before going deep into the Probability then this is the course. Clear explanation and a lot of real world examples. The professor is absolutetly amazing! Thank you!

By Giovanni V

Dec 3, 2017

It finally got me convinced of bayes' theorem rationality (I used it a lot before).

There are a lot other courses about probability and statistics that goes way deeper, but this one imho is definitely the best to start, since it explains thoroughly the basic concepts, letting the student overcome their initial counter-intuitivity.

By Anastasia T

Jun 29, 2017

The instructor is so great. Cheerful and to the point, he wants you to learn without much sweating. The information is simple, and through examples it becomes very well acquired. However, it helps much, if you have some background in working with probabilities. I really enjoy having him as a teacher, even from far away. Great job!

By Peter V

Aug 21, 2022

Professor Schmedders has an engaging presentation style and I think the course lives up to its description. The content is quite basic, I was hoping for more depth. However it works as a basic introduction. I also thought that the exercises could have been in improved a bit and the quizes could have been a bit more challenging.

By Alejandra V

Feb 12, 2024

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! Prof. Schmedders' way of explaining the topics is wonderful and I was listening attentively during each session. Highly recommend this course to fully understand Probability and to argue its importance in daily life. I hope there were more courses with the same Professor to further this topic.

By ECE B G

Jul 29, 2023

I would like to express my gratitude for this exceptional course that has provided me with a solid foundation in statistics. Your guidance and expertise have been invaluable, and I am truly appreciative of the effort you have put into ensuring that the material was presented in a clear and concise manner. Thank you so much!

By Thomas G

Jan 5, 2021

The course is very clear and enlightening thanks to the many motivating examples. Despite this, or perhaps because of it, it achieves the learning objective of introducing the basics of probability theory.

Many thanks to Professor Karl Schmedders for his witty, personal and highly engaged way of presenting the material.

By Leo

Jul 22, 2022

Really very inspiring lesson. As can be seen from the title 'intuitive introduction', this lesson compensates for the lack of application introduction of the probability lesson that I learnt at school. Give me a more comprehensive and straightforward understanding of the probability system. Strongly recommended!

By Dmitriy K

Aug 28, 2017

Excellent course for students seeking for understanding of underlying concepts of probability. The course structure and problems are very helpful. Application based problems help to see concepts discussed in the course in action. Would like to see a higher-level course on probability from Professor Schmedder.

By Deleted A

Apr 9, 2022

Great introduction to probability. The professor explains the concepts very clearly with intuitive examples. I wish there was another course where this professor goes deep into statistics and probability. Overall, enjoyed the course and would recommend to anyone who wants to learn about probability basics.

By Krishna C C

Feb 12, 2018

Very good introductory course with relevant real world examples to understand the concepts better without just showing some formulas. Really thankful to Prof. Schmedders and TA Jose for exercises. Note that some quiz questions in Wk-3 (3.2) are not opening in Chrome. Very good and quick intro course!

By Mateus F

Oct 18, 2020

I thought that was a really good introductory course and with a lot of real-world examples that help us not just understand but visualize where these concepts are applied. Karl is a great teacher and a fun teacher. I have taken this class in my graduation but didn't learn as much as in this course.

By Alan L

May 12, 2020

This was a great, relaxed introduction to probability. I learned a lot about the basics, and am looking forward to taking more advanced courses in graduate school. The real world applications really helped in solidifying the concepts, showing just how important probability is in our everyday lives.

By M N

Jul 26, 2020

Excellent course for beginners to understand the basics of Probability and it's importance. The examples are well laid out and interesting. This course is also great as a refresher for people who have previously studied Probability and want to brush up before continuing with more advanced courses.

By Muzoon A

Dec 13, 2019

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn with a great Professor such as Prof. Karl. It was a knowledgeable, thoughtful and fun experience. I would and did recommend this course to my network. I really appreciate the effort you all have put to provide us with the best quality. Best wishes.

By Random U

Jan 26, 2019

The course lived up to my expectations, providing good intuition for the fundamentals of probability. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a brief overview of the subject. The exercises were a bit too easy for my taste, but that didn't detract from the overall quality of the course.

By RJ S

May 5, 2021

One of the best online courses I've taken in a while. The concepts were clearly explained, common pitfalls in understanding were addressed, and Karl's occasional humor kept it fun. Jose's examples were also interesting. I did in fact change from disliking probability concepts to enjoying them.

By Jerry R

Jun 14, 2017

An excellent course! a very gentle introduction to Probability. Subjects are taught in simple and yet effective explanations with a good sense of humor. I really like the real-world examples and exercises; they greatly help me to understand the concepts and enhance my learning experience.

By Thomas J R

Jun 20, 2022

This is the best course I have taken with Coursera so far. Prof. Schmedders was both entertaining and extremely educational. His numerous examples meant that at least one would allow me to understand the concept. I hope there are other courses taught by Prof Schmedders that I can take.

By Muhammad Y A

Sep 24, 2020

It's been a fun journey! I used to scared of probability or statistics, even if just heard their words made me feel insecure. But after this course, it totally gives me a new perspective and basic knowledge about probability and statistic, I really enjoy this course a lot, thank you.

By Valeriy K

May 9, 2019

Indeed, this is a very intuitive intro to the topic of probability presented by a great professor. I took this course along with one from the University of London (To p or not to p) which was more advanced. So this course complemented the concepts in a great way. Strongly recommended!

By Jorge V

May 28, 2018

The course is a good introduction. There are certain aspects of the course I was not prepared and I had to do extra research on my own. I did not obtain answers from the forum but being able to learn something on my own was really nice and I felt like I did something great for myself.