Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
1,268 ratings
334 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

AA

Jun 24, 2017

This course is very good to learn the basics of Java and how to write a Java code in a object oriented manner. Ths course helped me to learn how to write more efficient and scalable code.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 327 Reviews for Java for Android

By Aaditya N

Sep 04, 2016

It could done better

By Nathan W

Jun 21, 2018

Very nice course, learned a great deal.I couldn't really say I learned much that was relevant to Android so there's just no need to go into the Android side of things. It does set you up nicely for the courses which do go into Android however.Would enjoy more assignments if possible, however.

By Luis M

Dec 15, 2017

Great course to dive in java and start using Android Studio.

By Daniel J

Jun 12, 2017

Really good and well thought through course. It's also a lot of information and concepts for anyone who hasn't studied any kind of computer programming before. I think the average of 5-6hrs a week commitment is very optimistic, even with background knowledge.

By Adam K

Feb 20, 2017

Good course but I think it is better for peaple with some programming background and be prepered for third week, it is lot to do.

By Abdullah M A

Apr 19, 2018

Very good but need some updates.

By Jaimin P

Apr 25, 2017

this course is for very beginner in java or in coding so recommended this course to only those who are beginner otherwise it is good if you loose your hands on programming then to cleanup your hands it's very helpful

By Michaela F

Mar 26, 2018

Great introduction with nice assignments.

By David F

Feb 06, 2018

Each modual has a summary video at the beginning and then each video summarizes what they are going to cover in the video AND each video has a summary at the end of the video summarizing what they covered! it is very redundant and annoying, but i just skipped ahead on each video to get to the relevant content.

Good content though, learned a lot once i started skipping ahead on the videos.

By Natraj n c

Apr 01, 2018

I loved this course and mainly It's assignments. I liked the practical way of learning which means assignment after each and every topic

By Соломонов М А

Apr 05, 2018

Course consist from small number of real tasks. This course is more theoretical. You will have some new knowledge from this course if you are already have programming experience.

By Akash A

Jun 02, 2016

Learn Java first, as they go through it at an agile pace.

By Shubham G

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course for beginners and curious people.

By Nasharat h a u

Jun 19, 2018

i want to learn something new about java for android so i think this is better way for me...

By ayush j

Aug 08, 2018

its very good course

By Shashi R

Sep 20, 2018

Nice course for those who have some basic knowledge of java and want to start learning Android. it helped me a lot.

By Sudhanshu C

Apr 29, 2019

It's great content to learn

By Yashika V

Jun 06, 2019

Productive course with excellent learning outcomes and learning assignments.

By Qamar h

Jun 28, 2019

it exceptionally too good,video can be improved to clear the basics

By Kiều T K

Jul 02, 2019

It's difficult to beginner, no experience programming

By Nikita B

Jul 12, 2019

good ,well maintain

By Shivam S

Jul 13, 2019

Could have been better in delivering concepts.

By Zhiqiang W

Sep 05, 2019

the description of the assignment can be more detailed, which will help beginners to understand

By manas p

Sep 06, 2019

This is best platform to learn java for android

By Eiknath T

Mar 06, 2019

nice