Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
1,265 ratings
333 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

AA

Jun 24, 2017

This course is very good to learn the basics of Java and how to write a Java code in a object oriented manner. Ths course helped me to learn how to write more efficient and scalable code.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 327 Reviews for Java for Android

By Ramendra M

Jul 19, 2016

Very Helpful

By Edwin V

Oct 14, 2016

Excelente

By Ujjwal S

Jun 11, 2017

awesome course.... one should try this...

By Michaela F

Mar 26, 2018

Great introduction with nice assignments.

By Adam K

Feb 20, 2017

Good course but I think it is better for peaple with some programming background and be prepered for third week, it is lot to do.

By Daniel J

Jun 12, 2017

Really good and well thought through course. It's also a lot of information and concepts for anyone who hasn't studied any kind of computer programming before. I think the average of 5-6hrs a week commitment is very optimistic, even with background knowledge.

By Abdullah M A

Apr 19, 2018

Very good but need some updates.

By Jaimin P

Apr 25, 2017

this course is for very beginner in java or in coding so recommended this course to only those who are beginner otherwise it is good if you loose your hands on programming then to cleanup your hands it's very helpful

By David F

Feb 06, 2018

Each modual has a summary video at the beginning and then each video summarizes what they are going to cover in the video AND each video has a summary at the end of the video summarizing what they covered! it is very redundant and annoying, but i just skipped ahead on each video to get to the relevant content.

Good content though, learned a lot once i started skipping ahead on the videos.

By Arti K

Jun 23, 2017

i like the way the lectures has been arrange.

By Ayush S

Dec 18, 2017

The course is excellent.However it could have been much better if the assignments would have been more difficult.They are too basic.They should have been more challenging.

By Natraj n c

Apr 01, 2018

I loved this course and mainly It's assignments. I liked the practical way of learning which means assignment after each and every topic

By Nathan W

Jun 21, 2018

Very nice course, learned a great deal.I couldn't really say I learned much that was relevant to Android so there's just no need to go into the Android side of things. It does set you up nicely for the courses which do go into Android however.Would enjoy more assignments if possible, however.

By Luis M

Dec 15, 2017

Great course to dive in java and start using Android Studio.

By Shubham G

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course for beginners and curious people.

By Nasharat h a u

Jun 19, 2018

i want to learn something new about java for android so i think this is better way for me...

By David M P

Jun 15, 2017

Good start from scratch.

By Monica R d S

Apr 18, 2018

The only problem is that I can't stand the music opening every single video

By Niladri R

May 21, 2016

Content was good. But organization could have been better. Assignments and auto-grader had issues and the problem statements were modified during the course.

By Tadeu A V

Aug 26, 2016

This is a good course but there's some flaws (not about knowledge)

By Steve A

Jun 24, 2016

I wouldn't recommend this to student who has never programmed in any computer language before. A bright, aggressive, student could learn this material with help of online examples, etc. The basic language features, etc, are pretty straight forward, but the object oriented features are probably too advanced for someone 3 weeks into programming. As an experienced programmer in other languages (C++ / Python / Perl) I found it was about the right pace to do in addition to my real job, and am looking forward to the rest of the series coming online.

By Yu K

Apr 10, 2016

Quite basic and clear for JAVA beginners

By James M

Aug 05, 2016

It's a good course, but you do need programming experience. Also, takes twice as much time as they say, at least. Also, third week of course has a lot of work, while fourth week has very little. Would be nice to balance them out. I did get a lot out of the course and plan to continue with this specialization.

By Marco N

Apr 29, 2016

Good course on Java and OOP, Android it's a sort of pretext, but it's ok

By Antonina G

Apr 07, 2016

It's about 4.4 actually. Not enough to give 5 though.

First about positive sides. I think course is well structured (except for a few minor drawbacks), quizzes fit to the material. An assignments truly buck up the material. And I think material give a grounding in future Android Development.

But I think it can be problem with the learning process, mostly with programming assignment. I think it's common that when course come out for the first time it's almost inevitably that there are some issues with autograder. It' s just common. But these issue are usually easy to spot, because the output of autograder contains test cases. So one can easily find out what the problem is, if it's with autograder. As for this course, the autograder output is very minimalistic, and if the problem is with autograder it's rather hard to spot. I myself spent entire evening, trying to find what is wrong with my code, and it was pure luck that I finely spotted the problem (and, yes, it was autograder issue). Such thing could be very frustrating, really.

Another problem with programming assignments is about Peer Review. The students actually get access to assessment criteria, after they have submitted they code. And their code not necessary fit these criteria. I think it could spoil the learning process as well.

I actually aware that these drawbacks can be corrected in release course, and if they will be, I will be glad to change the rating.