Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
1,260 ratings
331 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

AA

Jun 24, 2017

This course is very good to learn the basics of Java and how to write a Java code in a object oriented manner. Ths course helped me to learn how to write more efficient and scalable code.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 324 Reviews for Java for Android

By Deepsijain

Oct 14, 2016

great course

By Maksim

Feb 13, 2017

a good course for a very beginner to learn android programing.it covers many useful aspects about java.and this course has demonstrated most of the idea of coding,so you won't get confused by its concept.

By Marcelino J R C

Sep 18, 2017

Excelente curso, algo complicado por el idioma, así que lograrlo es doble satisfacción !

By Chandan S

Sep 05, 2016

Grate Course content and very well explained.

By Dushyant s

Aug 10, 2016

Very well

By Shahbaz Z

Jan 17, 2018

Great course , excellent teachers , got many things related to java for android. which help me to gain more skill in java .

By Shubham A

Aug 03, 2017

Its very descriptive and helpful

By Dominik B

Jan 23, 2017

Great course!

By Paul R

Jan 23, 2017

This is basic course of Java applied not only for Android development. At the beginning of this course you don't need to know anything about java, but step by step you will find out basics and going to know OOP fundamentals. In my opinion third week is the hardest one, but everything is possible to do. Great course.

By Mohamed W H E

Oct 18, 2017

very good

By Gaetano D

Nov 09, 2016

This Course is a Great One! I hope many peoples will improve their knowledge following Vanderbilt University's Courses because of the Professors Great explaining manner!

Thank you all

By Harshal

Sep 18, 2017

Amazing course. Learnt a lot from it. The teachers did a great job. It was actually better than sitting in a class because we rewind the stuff and the weekly assignments were great to test your skills. Thank you Coursera.

By Abdul H M

Jul 09, 2017

i understand lots of thing and improve myself too much

By Syed M H

May 02, 2018

Great course for beginners in Java programming, like me.

By Ben M

Dec 16, 2017

Great content, Learning alot!!

By Josue D G P

Nov 17, 2016

Excelente curso.

By Mohamed A H

Oct 24, 2017

This course is well-designed.The instructors are very good.Highly recommended!!

By Matthew R

Apr 21, 2017

Excellent pace to review Java. I have dabbled in Java for over a decade, but this course gave me a formal footing esp regarding the strengths of inheritance vs. polymorphism.

By Abdil F B

Feb 27, 2017

Subtitle files helped me to understand the lessons

and the explanation was well detailed

By Sarah A

Aug 13, 2017

really helpful for java beginners.

By Ankit b

Mar 11, 2018

its so good and intresting.

By ABHISHEK S

Aug 01, 2016

Course was really good.

If someone is not having any coding experience then also he can learn with the help of these courses.

By Gaston F

Aug 18, 2016

Excellent course

By Vutukuri S V K D R

Jun 29, 2017

Good it helps me a lot, Thanks to Coursera.

By Hiramary M

Feb 13, 2017

Excellent course, it helped me reinforce my Java knowledge and learn the basis of Android development through many specialized tasks which I completed easily thanks to the hight quality professors and very detailed lessons.