Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
1,264 ratings
332 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

AA

Jun 24, 2017

This course is very good to learn the basics of Java and how to write a Java code in a object oriented manner. Ths course helped me to learn how to write more efficient and scalable code.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 326 Reviews for Java for Android

By Mahyar M

Jan 28, 2017

It is an excellent course for learning Java.

By rohit k s

Apr 05, 2018

i was able to learn a lot and the style of teaching made the whole new concept easy for a beginner.

By Marija V

Mar 07, 2018

Great course. A little bit difficult for someone who really knows nothing.

By Sitaram K

Nov 03, 2017

Very detailed course design and very systematic lecture delivery. Gery grateful to the team, thank you very much.

By som k

Jun 29, 2017

i love this course .its a wonderful experience

By Muhammed s e

Aug 20, 2017

Really very helpful course,it was just the beginning that wasn't that good , trying to explain all the java Object oriented programming features in the beginning i felt lost, but as i moved on through the whole course i started understanding everything in detail.

really very helpful course for the java language and for android development to understand java language very well.

actually the whole course took me less than 4 days to complete , not so hard to understand.

note(i had previous knowledge of c and c++ but not too much , just basics)

By Tatiana P

Mar 01, 2017

Thank you!!

By Kanika S

Aug 28, 2017

Course was excellent. I personally want to thank Dr Jerry Roth for taking time out to help with my predicaments. I would recommend this course to everyone.

By Archit S

Jun 16, 2017

Great course for beginners.

By Diego N

Jun 15, 2018

I learned a lot :)

By Karan B

Apr 21, 2017

nice overview for java

By Valentin B

Dec 11, 2016

Simply amazing

By yasasvy

Dec 13, 2016

really very useful. i love this course

By S. M S H

May 06, 2017

this is a nice course for beginners, although it does not completed all basic functionality.

By Uttam R

Nov 08, 2017

Gr8

By Deepsijain

Oct 14, 2016

great course

By Maksim

Feb 13, 2017

a good course for a very beginner to learn android programing.it covers many useful aspects about java.and this course has demonstrated most of the idea of coding,so you won't get confused by its concept.

By Marcelino J R C

Sep 18, 2017

Excelente curso, algo complicado por el idioma, así que lograrlo es doble satisfacción !

By Igor D

Dec 11, 2017

Great course, i'm delighted.

By Yaroslav S

Sep 14, 2017

Good course especially for non-experience learneres

By sourav m

Mar 15, 2018

very nice

By Vinay J

Mar 24, 2017

Very Nice and easy for a beginner.

By kirti k

Oct 23, 2017

Learnt a lot and peer review is really helpful to know your positive and negative aspects of coding standards ..

Enjoying a lot ,,

Hoping android will be more interesting

By Vedang B

Feb 01, 2018

best course available. :)

By Chamman S

Oct 20, 2017

effective cource for everybody want to learn android .