Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
stars
1,793 ratings
473 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

SP

Nov 17, 2019

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 474 Reviews for Java for Android

By Sucharitha V

Aug 02, 2017

The quizzes and assignments are well designed to strengthen the basic concepts. Good course to work upon Java basics.

By Manisha D

May 18, 2020

It was good programming experience. I liked android programming. Need to do more advance courses in java for android

By Amrathesh

Feb 03, 2020

This course helped me to develop some cool apps,Thank you coursera for giving me the finacial aid for this course.

By Sitaram K

Nov 03, 2017

Very detailed course design and very systematic lecture delivery. Gery grateful to the team, thank you very much.

By SIDHARTH V

May 25, 2020

This course provides a brief understanding of Java from basics and how it is implemented in Android development.

By Vishal R V

Mar 02, 2019

this course is very good and used for me in industry to get very good job.it is give me very great opportunity.

By Shuhrat J

Apr 20, 2018

Currently I don't know how about the second MOOC , but the first MOOC are so usefull and enouth for beginers.

By Sajjad A

May 27, 2020

Very interesting course. All the professors have very vast knowledge and experience about Android development

By Jonathan L

Nov 29, 2017

Excellent course! Hands on, variation in training methodology, excellent organizational structure. Well done!

By Moh. A R

Apr 07, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Though it was a little bit difficult but still it cleared all the basics <3

By sachin m

Nov 05, 2019

This course of java for android was really awesome, solving it gave me a chance to learn android studio.

By Chandan k

Aug 28, 2019

After study this course am learning my types of topics for developing android application..

So thank you

By Dheeraj K Y

Nov 16, 2019

This course is very useful to me at the time when I am about to start my career in Android Development.

By Ayush A

May 22, 2020

Great course for beginners to learn and intermediates to clarify and strengthen their grip over java

By Балакирев П А

Feb 14, 2018

This course is fantastic! Everything is well explained, assignments are fun to engage in. Thank you.

By Sri S C P

Jun 04, 2020

Excellent course. One of the best materials needed to start with android development hands down!!!

By Atanu P

May 15, 2020

Really very helpful course and it gives a lot of information on android to be a professional coder.

By rohit k s

Apr 05, 2018

i was able to learn a lot and the style of teaching made the whole new concept easy for a beginner.

By Sanket P D

Jun 05, 2020

It was real awesome . I think this was real a great choice for me to choose this course . Love you

By Yun X

Dec 24, 2019

A great course to know some Java features like class, interface, polymorphism, overload, overwrite

By Asghar I

May 28, 2020

This course is best course for beginners and contains good modules for learning java for Android

By Trevor W

Apr 19, 2016

Al ot more challenging then i thought. Once i managed my time a bit better it was very engaging

By Yimmy A E M

Jul 08, 2019

me parece espectucular el curso, solo necesito una revision para terminar el curso, por favor.

By Mina K

May 25, 2020

VERY GOOD I LIKED THAT SO MUCH AND I HAVE PASSION TO CONTINUE ALL COURSES IN THIS MOOC :D <3

By Sanskar S

May 09, 2020

Really nice course which deepens the knowledge of java that is needed for Android Development