Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
1,265 ratings
333 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

AA

Jun 24, 2017

This course is very good to learn the basics of Java and how to write a Java code in a object oriented manner. Ths course helped me to learn how to write more efficient and scalable code.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 327 Reviews for Java for Android

By Lucas F d O

Jul 30, 2017

Great course!

By Carlos A A A

Feb 23, 2018

It took me a good time to catch on and keep on learning, but still it's been an amazing journey thourghout these 4 weeks, i enjoyed it so so much :D

By Devayani D

Jul 09, 2018

Liked it. Hope to take the advanced course also.

By Aarav j

Jun 02, 2018

its very easy to understand. The teaching style is very simple and effective

By Sakib H

Jun 27, 2018

The whole Course was quite interesting and I've learnt a lot throughout this course . Course is easy and understandable as well as it's contents and graded materials are well organized. Worth completing it.

By Балакирев П А

Feb 14, 2018

This course is fantastic! Everything is well explained, assignments are fun to engage in. Thank you.

By Syed M H

May 02, 2018

Great course for beginners in Java programming, like me.

By Ben M

Dec 16, 2017

Great content, Learning alot!!

By Shuhrat J

Apr 20, 2018

Currently I don't know how about the second MOOC , but the first MOOC are so usefull and enouth for beginers.

By Siddharth M

Dec 25, 2017

Very informative

By Hassaan K

Nov 16, 2017

this course is very useful specially for freshes...

By Payal G

Mar 26, 2017

Assignments are too good.

By Jonathan L

Nov 29, 2017

Excellent course! Hands on, variation in training methodology, excellent organizational structure. Well done!

By Karri S R

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent course.I learned a lot of things from this course. Thank you so much to Dr. Jerry Roth, Dr. Julie L. Johnson, Michael Walker & Dr. Douglas C. Schmidt for this course.

By Somduity B

Oct 23, 2017

Good

By Archit P

Jan 14, 2018

best android course

By JYOTISHKA D

Jul 09, 2017

A good course for the basics related to Java for Android

By Usha S

May 25, 2017

It was very interesting to go learn what I already know:) through this course. I liked the way it is organized. I got a bit casual with the quizzes but was very serious with the programming assignments. Otherwise I should have secured 100%. But marks or grades aside, it was lovely being busy for the past 4 weeks. I look forward to completing the 2nd course in this Specialization pack.

All the instructors were very good. Thank you all so much.

By Yahya M

May 25, 2016

The course is very well structured and instructors are very responsive in the forum.

By Kristopher G

Oct 08, 2017

Great introduction to the Java programming language with engaging assignments

By Jimut B P

Dec 25, 2017

good

By Harisankar C M

Jul 04, 2016

Excellent Course.

By Aravinda G

Apr 15, 2016

Great!!

By Ehtisham R

Sep 10, 2017

Fantastic course if you want to learn Java for Android

By Abomo A

May 31, 2016

very good introduction to java for android.