Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
1,263 ratings
331 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

AA

Jun 24, 2017

This course is very good to learn the basics of Java and how to write a Java code in a object oriented manner. Ths course helped me to learn how to write more efficient and scalable code.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 326 Reviews for Java for Android

By Ileana S C H

Mar 14, 2019

.

By Barry O

Dec 30, 2018

Well structured introduction to Java which covers all the fundamentals you need while pointing you in the direction of further resources to expand your knowledge. Also gets you familiar with using Android Studio, running the android emulator and running unit tests.

By Basant S

Jul 22, 2018

This course id really great, professors tried their best to teach all the concepts, all the concepts are explained very nicely, assignments are also great, learnt a great deal of knowledge. Had fun all the time, Thanks a lot for this course.

By hechao

Sep 03, 2018

Excellent works

By Gabriel P d C

Sep 24, 2018

Very good course, goes from basic java with some android application examples. Nice content for a review if you already knew the concepts or to learn the basics.

By Rahul k S

Oct 07, 2018

Good to go with this course if want to have android developer career

By Yahya M

May 25, 2016

The course is very well structured and instructors are very responsive in the forum.

By Kristopher G

Oct 08, 2017

Great introduction to the Java programming language with engaging assignments

By Jimut B P

Dec 25, 2017

good

By Harisankar C M

Jul 04, 2016

Excellent Course.

By Aravinda G

Apr 15, 2016

Great!!

By Ehtisham R

Sep 10, 2017

Fantastic course if you want to learn Java for Android

By Abomo A

May 31, 2016

very good introduction to java for android.

By Selom A

Sep 19, 2017

This course is awesome. Exactly what I needed. Keep up the good work.

By William H

Aug 09, 2017

Excellent class. I took another Android programming series of classes. This first class covering Java used all Android Studio programming examples. This was better than having the programming examples Java based not using Android Studio. I learned so much more in this class.

By Michel-Ange C N

Oct 06, 2017

I am very happy to discover how java is used to create androide apps. This course is well designed to help us understand every basic knowledge relate to POO.

By Do H L

Apr 06, 2016

The content is very rich!

By Muhammad A

Jun 22, 2016

I like this course and wants to complete the specialization

By Kaleem S

May 23, 2016

superb

By Manjeet S

Sep 10, 2017

great course to start your journey with java

By ahsan r

Apr 10, 2016

Fantastic course...

By Massimo T

Jul 28, 2016

A useful course, with clear explanations of the main features of Java programming language and Object Oriented Programming.

I found the teachers competent and I liked the approach of the course, especially aimed at understanding the logic of Java and the logic of good software development.

Finally I found very useful peer review assessments.

By Shaik M R

Jul 26, 2017

The course content is good and clear. Quiz assignments are really improving the knowledge. The only thing is one has to be dedicated and spend the time on this course to gain maximum outcomes. Android studio demonstration is good.

By Trevor W

Apr 19, 2016

Al ot more challenging then i thought. Once i managed my time a bit better it was very engaging

By Shanon R

Sep 11, 2016

Really good course, even for someone who is not from the programming background.