Chevron Left
Back to Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL by Google

4.8
stars
3,324 ratings

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills you need to apply for an entry-level cybersecurity job. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the third Google Cybersecurity Certificate course. In this course, you will explore computing skills that you’ll use on-the-job as a cybersecurity analyst. First, you'll practice using Linux, an operating system commonly used by cybersecurity professionals. For example, you'll use the Linux command line through the Bash shell to navigate and manage the file system and authenticate users. Then, you'll use SQL to communicate with a database. Google employees who currently work in cybersecurity will guide you through videos, provide hands-on activities and examples that simulate common cybersecurity tasks, and help you build your skills to prepare for jobs. Learners who complete this certificate will be equipped to apply for entry-level cybersecurity roles. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Explain the relationship between operating systems, applications, and hardware. - Compare a graphical user interface to a command line interface. - Identify the unique features of common Linux distributions. - Navigate and manage the file system using Linux commands via the Bash shell. - Use Linux commands via the Bash shell to authenticate and authorize users. - Describe how a relational database is organized. - Use SQL to retrieve information from a database. - Apply filters to SQL queries and use joins to combine multiple tables....

Top reviews

SA

Sep 24, 2023

this course linux and sql is the 4th course series of google cyber security certification. This course is linux operating system , and sql. this is very helpful steps in my cyber security journey.

MI

Sep 24, 2023

Learning Linux and SQL is quite challenging but with clear explanation and examples given makes the course easier to understand specially for me without any background on IT or cyber security.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 612 Reviews for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

By RICKI M A

Aug 26, 2023

good course

By aldrin B

Aug 17, 2023

not bad

By Rajani K V

Jan 21, 2024

Gr8

By Abdulrahman M

Dec 23, 2023

.

By John

Apr 28, 2024

The Linux section was great. The SQL section started strong, but I found the materials on SQL Joins to be insufficient for my understanding as a true beginner. I had to search for information outside of the course to assist in my comprehension. For a course like this with a monthly price tag of around $50 I expect the material to be more comprehensive. Taking the concept from even smaller baby steps and using more visuals to explain the logical movement and combinations of database columns within the types of joins. Additionally, and only on this course so far, each time I paused a video to take notes, the video would not play after I tried to continue. Changing the streaming quality and refreshing did not resolve this technical issue. Because I took several pages of notes this was a frequent issue that distracted from the focus of learning and application.

By R C

Jun 6, 2024

The class was very informative and educational, but this instructor for this specific course was not easy to follow. Not trying to hate or be rude, but there were a few times where she was not speaking very clearly. So I had to go back a couple of times just to get a better understanding of what she was saying. It sounded very much like someone who was reading an instruction manual to me rather than explain and teach a course.

By Jason C

Nov 15, 2023

I feel LINUX and SQL are important to know but the host did not keep me engaged. This is the one I had the most trouble with and discouraged me a lot. However, the labs are an important foundation and I am glad they were in here.

By Abdullah H

Jun 25, 2023

The workshops help a lot but can be confusing at times. The most difficult part for me was the JOINS section. It should be elaborated more with the help of examples. Overall good learning experience.

By James B

Jan 1, 2024

Good information but felt like was just being spoke at, no emotion. The Inner Joins in the SQL portion I never quite understood the syntax no matter videos or readings I did in the course.

By Audrey V

Jun 12, 2024

Great high level introduction to cybersecurity, but the industry does not recognize this certificate in any meaningful way and it has been nearly impossible to find a job.

By Jonathan C

Feb 21, 2024

Mainly I gave this course a 3 star because in my opinion the instructor for me was not engaging and you can tell she was ready from a teleprompter. It was quite annoying

By Jaydeepsinh V

Jun 20, 2023

SQL course could have been better.

As for the initial learner in view of SQL query provided video based training content is not sufficient to learn.

Thanks,

By Zachary A

Nov 5, 2023

3.5/5 Stars. The content offered in this course was well worth it. The delivery by the instructor for this course is brain-numbingly dull and robotic.

By Natasha C

Dec 17, 2023

Too much info and too many assignments. Linux is open-source so it did not have to feel like an expert level class.

By A G U

Aug 9, 2023

Definitely the hardest course to date. I found the instructor hard to understand at times. Overall very good stuff

By Chris T

Aug 14, 2023

Course was really good! Just wish we had more time in the lab, doing projects. Thanks!

By Daniel O

Dec 27, 2023

There should be far less biographies. The courses should be focused on the topic

By Hector J

Jul 20, 2023

Really basic stuff, therefore I felt the course to be flat with no excitement.

By Ehsan T

Dec 6, 2023

I think it needs more training or be 2 separate courses.

By Cheick A T

Nov 15, 2023

I know it's about SQL but this lecturer was very bland.

By Dan H

Oct 23, 2023

Needs to be more in depth and explained better

By Roy

Jun 21, 2023

This was somewhat difficult.

By Dennis I

Dec 3, 2023

Linux content lacks depth

By Mike S

Jun 8, 2024

Relies heavily on qwiklabs. The qwiklabs implementation is broken. I am stuck on infinite CAPTCHA attempts. Thankfully this is review, but for a student for whom it is not review, this is unacceptable. Students experiencing the same would be right to ask for a refund.

By André G

Jan 22, 2024

The coverage of Linux and SQL are too basic. The content of this course could have been presented in a few pages.