Chevron Left
Back to Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL by Google

4.8
stars
3,442 ratings

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills you need to apply for an entry-level cybersecurity job. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the third Google Cybersecurity Certificate course. In this course, you will explore computing skills that you’ll use on-the-job as a cybersecurity analyst. First, you'll practice using Linux, an operating system commonly used by cybersecurity professionals. For example, you'll use the Linux command line through the Bash shell to navigate and manage the file system and authenticate users. Then, you'll use SQL to communicate with a database. Google employees who currently work in cybersecurity will guide you through videos, provide hands-on activities and examples that simulate common cybersecurity tasks, and help you build your skills to prepare for jobs. Learners who complete this certificate will be equipped to apply for entry-level cybersecurity roles. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Explain the relationship between operating systems, applications, and hardware. - Compare a graphical user interface to a command line interface. - Identify the unique features of common Linux distributions. - Navigate and manage the file system using Linux commands via the Bash shell. - Use Linux commands via the Bash shell to authenticate and authorize users. - Describe how a relational database is organized. - Use SQL to retrieve information from a database. - Apply filters to SQL queries and use joins to combine multiple tables....

Top reviews

ZF

Invalid date

I liked the labs. Did not like the optional project assignments. Would have like to seen a Linux and SQL 'cheat sheet' of commands and syntax for download instead of a glossary.

SW

Invalid date

This course really challenged me to the point I wasn't sure I would understand some

of the SQL context< but I stuck with it and am so proud of myself for passing this course.

Thank you

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 630 Reviews for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

By Jonathan C

Feb 21, 2024

Mainly I gave this course a 3 star because in my opinion the instructor for me was not engaging and you can tell she was ready from a teleprompter. It was quite annoying

By Jaydeepsinh V

Jun 20, 2023

SQL course could have been better.

As for the initial learner in view of SQL query provided video based training content is not sufficient to learn.

Thanks,

By Zachary A

Nov 5, 2023

3.5/5 Stars. The content offered in this course was well worth it. The delivery by the instructor for this course is brain-numbingly dull and robotic.

By Natasha C

Dec 17, 2023

Too much info and too many assignments. Linux is open-source so it did not have to feel like an expert level class.

By A G U

Aug 9, 2023

Definitely the hardest course to date. I found the instructor hard to understand at times. Overall very good stuff

By Chris T

Aug 14, 2023

Course was really good! Just wish we had more time in the lab, doing projects. Thanks!

By Daniel O

Dec 27, 2023

There should be far less biographies. The courses should be focused on the topic

By Hector J

Jul 20, 2023

Really basic stuff, therefore I felt the course to be flat with no excitement.

By Tina B

Jun 30, 2024

Hands on projects were difficult for a beginner, great instructors

By Ehsan T

Dec 6, 2023

I think it needs more training or be 2 separate courses.

By C. A T

Nov 15, 2023

I know it's about SQL but this lecturer was very bland.

By Dan H

Oct 23, 2023

Needs to be more in depth and explained better

By Javier A C O

Jul 5, 2024

got burned out, its kinda to large

By Roy

Jun 21, 2023

This was somewhat difficult.

By Dennis I

Dec 3, 2023

Linux content lacks depth

By Mike S

Jun 8, 2024

Relies heavily on qwiklabs. The qwiklabs implementation is broken. I am stuck on infinite CAPTCHA attempts. Thankfully this is review, but for a student for whom it is not review, this is unacceptable. Students experiencing the same would be right to ask for a refund.

By André G

Jan 22, 2024

The coverage of Linux and SQL are too basic. The content of this course could have been presented in a few pages.

By Daniel G L

Jun 11, 2024

Too Technical, some of the labs lack specific instructions, making it highly complicated to complete.

By Brandon

Feb 12, 2024

no where near enough information to be able to do SQL join tables

By Alexander S

Jan 16, 2024

the girl hosting... was very boring to listen to...

By Miranda B

Nov 14, 2023

My name is not on the cert

By K F

Feb 4, 2024

I really disliked the instructor for this course. For the amount of knowledge and heavy, and I mean HEAVY, course load of leaning something as complex as SQL- this instructor did a horrible job compared to the other courses. I had a 4.9 gpa in college and I equated this to ONE course I couldn't pass due to the instructor (the course had a 36% pass rate which included people taking it for the second time). Instructors or Teachers matter, and had there been a better teacher I might've had an easier time completing this course. Granted, I completed it in 4 days with an 80-something%, my normal is 9something% in about 2 days. This instructor did not explain the information effectively. Also, for something as complex as this, once you PASS a test - there should be an explanation on a question you got wrong. For my final test I had to take it 4 times, and still got the exact question wrong every time even when I passed. I have no idea how to learn from my mistake.

By Austin S

Jan 21, 2024

Doesn't say when things and case-sensitive and when they are tells you that you got something wrong but not what you got wrong. The labs have issues with them so when you input something right it tells you that you did it wrong even though when you go into the review and check how it wants you to put in the commands is the same as what you entered. Haven't had a problem with the overall coarse until now.

By Alakbar G

Jun 28, 2024

Everything GOOD but in last my ask to Financial aid to get 100% discount as first ones to find a job. They don't accept and ask me to pay for that ( 75% . if course project. May be this information will help you to find don't get attention to this course to earn certificate and think you will get for free Cybersecurity Certification to find a new job. Please don't waste your time.

By Atakorah K

Apr 29, 2024

the linux system keeps logging me out and makes it difficult for me to log back in by giving me this error "Oops! Something went wrong. This page encountered an error. If the problem persists: Refresh the page. Try again later. Contact Coursera Support."