Chevron Left
Back to Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL by Google

4.8
stars
3,176 ratings

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills you need to apply for an entry-level cybersecurity job. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the third Google Cybersecurity Certificate course. In this course, you will explore computing skills that you’ll use on-the-job as a cybersecurity analyst. First, you'll practice using Linux, an operating system commonly used by cybersecurity professionals. For example, you'll use the Linux command line through the Bash shell to navigate and manage the file system and authenticate users. Then, you'll use SQL to communicate with a database. Google employees who currently work in cybersecurity will guide you through videos, provide hands-on activities and examples that simulate common cybersecurity tasks, and help you build your skills to prepare for jobs. Learners who complete this certificate will be equipped to apply for entry-level cybersecurity roles. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Explain the relationship between operating systems, applications, and hardware. - Compare a graphical user interface to a command line interface. - Identify the unique features of common Linux distributions. - Navigate and manage the file system using Linux commands via the Bash shell. - Use Linux commands via the Bash shell to authenticate and authorize users. - Describe how a relational database is organized. - Use SQL to retrieve information from a database. - Apply filters to SQL queries and use joins to combine multiple tables....

Top reviews

SA

Sep 24, 2023

this course linux and sql is the 4th course series of google cyber security certification. This course is linux operating system , and sql. this is very helpful steps in my cyber security journey.

MI

Sep 24, 2023

Learning Linux and SQL is quite challenging but with clear explanation and examples given makes the course easier to understand specially for me without any background on IT or cyber security.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 588 Reviews for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

By Lindsey W

Jan 26, 2024

The hands on practice with the Labs for Linux and SQL was the MOST beneficial. This helped with learning, absorbing, and genuinely understanding the material. This course is set up very well!

By Ian D M

Aug 19, 2023

Positive: Finally something practical! I was getting tired of writing exercises on .docx files. Negative: Bloated with useless propaganda, repetitive tasks, VERY lengthy videos that fail to efficiently explain how SQL and Linux works, and not enough valuable information within the course materials. At most this was introductory. I doubt anyone can use the Linux shell or filter with SQL at a basic level with what's taught here. A little more content and much less bloat would've earned it a 4th star.

By M I

Sep 25, 2023

Learning Linux and SQL is quite challenging but with clear explanation and examples given makes the course easier to understand specially for me without any background on IT or cyber security.

By Sean W

Jun 2, 2023

This course really challenged me to the point I wasn't sure I would understand some

of the SQL context< but I stuck with it and am so proud of myself for passing this course.

Thank you

By Rahul V

Jun 14, 2023

Enjoyed a lot performing all the knowledge learned throughout this course via labs.

Great course for understanding basics of Linux and SQL with hands-on experience.

By Cazac M

Jul 26, 2023

The course is pretty basic and is only scratching the surface. I recommend Sander van Vugt courses on Linux. The good thing about the course that although its basic it explains them really well. But then again that is easy when the scope is for beginners only. The fact that there are some labs makes the course more engaging though. Still, the course leaves the taste of wanting more. A mixed bag of good and bad.

By Tim W

Jul 16, 2023

The Linux portion of this section was very good and I understood this portion of the course very well. The SQL portion not so much. Notes were harder to take as the video had a lot of verbiage and note taking was much more difficult. Also, through out the course, the video portions of the course were followed up by the reading section, which summed up the videos. In the SQL section, the reading portion after the videos did not. I found I had to flip back and forth from these sections and I wish that there were more graphs perhaps to illustrate the learning.

By Geronimo

May 29, 2023

The labs are very poorly designed and do not offer step by step instructions for absolute beginners.

By Kris D

Jul 18, 2023

Whole course is nothing but definitions. You don't really learn how to do anything.

By Kar I

Apr 15, 2024

This is a very good entry level course for individuals who will use Linux and SQL queries in their day to day work. It provides a foundation to understand the core linux commands for filesystem navigation and access control, and moves on to basic SQL queries and table JOINs. After this course, one has the necessary prerequisites to further enhance their knowledge of more advanced commands from many online resources.

By shahid a

Sep 25, 2023

this course linux and sql is the 4th course series of google cyber security certification. This course is linux operating system , and sql. this is very helpful steps in my cyber security journey.

By ABBA K

Jan 4, 2024

It was a very wonderful course full of practical aspects and theoretical guidance. I enjoyed it very much and promise to further my study in Linux and SQL.......To my Instructor I thank YOU.

By Alberto O C

Aug 16, 2023

The different learning aspects within the course really helped me to better understand each concept. The labs also help by adding repetition and letting me know where I need study further.

By Muhammad A

Jul 23, 2023

Fantastic course with great knowledge, Instructor was also so good. The best thing of course is practicing labs, i enjoyed that labs and quiz. thanks to coursera and google

By Mritunjoy C

Jun 17, 2023

Please improve the VM software and its projects related to Linux, i did not get any response when i typed in a linux command which was being suggested in the instructions while performing ungraded activity.

By DAVID F

Jul 19, 2023

I wasn't impressed by the instructor. A lot of the videos were "fluff" and wasted valuable time that could have been better used to learn more security-related Linux commands. I'm also not sure how valuable SQL is in security. It might have been more practical to introduce actual security tools (GUI/Dashboard) that use SQL to query data. It is unlikely that we would be using "raw" SQL queries from the command line.

By Fernando G

Nov 30, 2023

This course was insanely hard to follow. The instructor videos were very robotic and hard to keep track of. I found myself going back to the reading more than the video. The word run off and incomplete sentence structure of the instructor made learning this simple concept hard to swallow. Felt as if this person wanted this to end as fast as possible. Or was very nervous. I would recommend this instructor practice public speaking or reading from a card. Out of all the courses, I absolutely couldn't be engaged the way I was in the others.

By Omar M A G S A

Jul 29, 2023

To be honest it teaches very little about SQL, and only on linux shell

By Michael N

Aug 17, 2023

I think this course was very inconsistent with how the activities were made. For example, the SQL activities in the system had several occurrences where the support line could not figure out why I was continuously getting an error message and later told me to continue with the course. This made it difficult to know for sure whether I was making a personal error or if it was a system error by default. Therefore, completing the tests became a hurdle because of the non confirmations I was receiving in the activities.

In addition, this course advertises that you "Don't

need" a technical background in order to get into cybersecurity. However, the content in later parts of this course were very technical to understand.

By Teferi H

Jun 16, 2023

This assignment is one of the worst one. I have been enjoying these courses, but I am about to give up. Every time I am typing something, it is just repeating the same thing over and over. I don't know how to ever go back to the directory. I tried to end the lab and start again, but the system wouldn't let me. This is so frustrating.

By Chong Y N

May 7, 2023

Please don't verify what the user types in the labs but instead with what has been executed. Nullifying queries that edit previous inputs is just a waste of time.

By Dominic N

Nov 11, 2023

instructor reads the teleprompter infuriatingly slow. 2x speed saved my sanity

By Matthew M

Nov 5, 2023

Some of the test don't score correctly I have photo proof

By Braily V

Jul 15, 2023

This section of the course was excellent! I had previously watched some YouTube videos on Linux about eight months ago, so it was relatively easy for me to grasp and navigate through. It served as a valuable refresher, and I even learned some new commands.

However, I found the SQL part to be quite challenging. Nevertheless, it is a common sentiment echoed by other analysts in various videos that it's perfectly acceptable to look up command usage for both Linux and SQL. It is virtually impossible to remember everything, and relying on online resources to find the desired answers is an integral part of the learning process.

I've watched numerous cybersecurity-related videos, and they often emphasize the following: "The beauty of IT lies in those moments when you can't initially figure out why something isn't working or troubleshoot the problem. The frustration you experience during such times serves as a catalyst to keep you motivated. When you finally uncover the solution, enter the command, and witness everything falling into place, an overwhelming sense of joy rushes through your body. That sensation is what drives you forward." I'm confident that you've experienced this sensation before.

IT is intentionally complex since we are essentially attempting to communicate with computers that solely comprehend binary code. However, through programming, we enable them to interpret every keystroke and beyond. Embrace the challenges, and never give up! Keep pushing forward! (:

By Dwin G

Feb 27, 2024

Having just completed this security course, I must express my sincere appreciation for the exceptional quality of content and instruction provided. The course material was comprehensive, covering a wide range of topics in-depth and with clarity. The instructors demonstrated a profound understanding of the subject matter and engaged students effectively throughout the learning process. What truly set this course apart was its emphasis on practical application, with hands-on exercises and real-world case studies that enabled me to immediately apply what I learned. I feel significantly more confident in my ability to navigate complex security challenges after completing this course, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking to enhance their knowledge and skills in the field of security.