Chevron Left
Back to Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL by Google

4.8
stars
3,274 ratings

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills you need to apply for an entry-level cybersecurity job. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the third Google Cybersecurity Certificate course. In this course, you will explore computing skills that you’ll use on-the-job as a cybersecurity analyst. First, you'll practice using Linux, an operating system commonly used by cybersecurity professionals. For example, you'll use the Linux command line through the Bash shell to navigate and manage the file system and authenticate users. Then, you'll use SQL to communicate with a database. Google employees who currently work in cybersecurity will guide you through videos, provide hands-on activities and examples that simulate common cybersecurity tasks, and help you build your skills to prepare for jobs. Learners who complete this certificate will be equipped to apply for entry-level cybersecurity roles. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Explain the relationship between operating systems, applications, and hardware. - Compare a graphical user interface to a command line interface. - Identify the unique features of common Linux distributions. - Navigate and manage the file system using Linux commands via the Bash shell. - Use Linux commands via the Bash shell to authenticate and authorize users. - Describe how a relational database is organized. - Use SQL to retrieve information from a database. - Apply filters to SQL queries and use joins to combine multiple tables....

Top reviews

SA

Sep 24, 2023

this course linux and sql is the 4th course series of google cyber security certification. This course is linux operating system , and sql. this is very helpful steps in my cyber security journey.

MI

Sep 24, 2023

Learning Linux and SQL is quite challenging but with clear explanation and examples given makes the course easier to understand specially for me without any background on IT or cyber security.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 608 Reviews for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

By Jen H

Nov 1, 2023

Very good fundamental instruction on Linux and SQL. The labs were very easy, but helpful to get practice on commands.

By Laxman G

Feb 2, 2023

A gentle introduction to OS, Linux and SQL.

As structured a course as SQL.

Thank you Google, instructors and Coursera.

By Carl M

Jan 10, 2024

Fantastic review of Linux (prior user/admin) and Beginner's Intro to SQL. Way easier to learn SQL than I anticipated.

By Sarah S

Feb 5, 2023

Really enjoyed this class; many hands-on labs to practice the concepts discussed in the videos and written materials.

By Cris O

Dec 24, 2023

This is by far my favorite. I learned so much about basic linux and SQL commands. Looking forward to learning more..

By brent z

May 31, 2023

I thought this was a great course. I really enjoyed the hands-on lab in Linux and SQL. I wish they had more on linux

By Paul A L

May 25, 2024

This is a very good class for beginners. I had to totally let go of what I knew of sql and learn it all over again.

By Godliveth M

Mar 26, 2024

I learnt alot . Was opened to a total new world in Linux and SQL. A must do course for an entry level cybersecurity

By Joaquín Á C

Dec 15, 2023

Very interesting course on SQL and Linux. It presents and complete overview about these tools for cibersecurity job

By Akachi O

Jan 3, 2024

The pattern of delivery is the best I have ever seen so far a far as Linux and MySQL are relating to Cybersecuriy.

By Debasish M

Jul 2, 2023

nice course , one think i like about this 4th one is the qwiklabs , through which i learn through practical skills

By ghana

Jun 1, 2023

I've spent a week on this course. Totally worth my time. I've learnt a lot and I'll continue to learn this course.

By Taija S

Jun 13, 2024

Absolutely loved the course. I will definitely get back to it at some point just to remind myself of these tools.

By Mathilde N

Nov 21, 2023

Very clear and efficient instructor especially for me who just wrote my first commands ever through this course.

By destiny s

Mar 3, 2024

Loved learning about Linux! I can't wait to learn more about it in the future. Very informative and interactive

By Gustavo A T M

May 26, 2023

Excelente material relacionado con la ciberseguridad, es sorprendente lo que puedes aprender, muchas gracias.

By Temi A

Aug 29, 2023

What I thought was impossible ended up being easy to understand and now, I am loving it. Thank you, Google.

By Amit K S

Mar 30, 2024

i learned so much new thanks to this even though it was hard for me. i still enjoyed this course very much

By Celestine C

Feb 9, 2024

This course was great! My mind is stuffed with a lot of information from Linux and SQL! Thanks so much!

By Mary C J

Sep 3, 2023

This was the hardest training this far. But I will continue to review my notes to become more efficient.

By Stan P

Apr 29, 2024

Enjoyed this module immensely - would recommend to all who are interested in getting into cybersecurity.

By Lakshami M

Aug 7, 2023

Challenging but very informative. Great course to assist in learning to understand commands and queries.

By P. O

Aug 7, 2023

Excellent material. The labs are such a great tool to deep dive into the basic codes for Linux and SQL.

By Noor M K

Aug 3, 2023

Big Thanks. Till now its best journey of learning with the Google team.

content is amazing and perfect.

By Dauda S

Feb 16, 2023

Educative and interesting, practical exercises aided in enhancing understanding and improving skills