Chevron Left
Back to Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL by Google

4.8
stars
3,268 ratings

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills you need to apply for an entry-level cybersecurity job. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the third Google Cybersecurity Certificate course. In this course, you will explore computing skills that you’ll use on-the-job as a cybersecurity analyst. First, you'll practice using Linux, an operating system commonly used by cybersecurity professionals. For example, you'll use the Linux command line through the Bash shell to navigate and manage the file system and authenticate users. Then, you'll use SQL to communicate with a database. Google employees who currently work in cybersecurity will guide you through videos, provide hands-on activities and examples that simulate common cybersecurity tasks, and help you build your skills to prepare for jobs. Learners who complete this certificate will be equipped to apply for entry-level cybersecurity roles. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Explain the relationship between operating systems, applications, and hardware. - Compare a graphical user interface to a command line interface. - Identify the unique features of common Linux distributions. - Navigate and manage the file system using Linux commands via the Bash shell. - Use Linux commands via the Bash shell to authenticate and authorize users. - Describe how a relational database is organized. - Use SQL to retrieve information from a database. - Apply filters to SQL queries and use joins to combine multiple tables....

Top reviews

SA

Sep 24, 2023

this course linux and sql is the 4th course series of google cyber security certification. This course is linux operating system , and sql. this is very helpful steps in my cyber security journey.

MI

Sep 24, 2023

Learning Linux and SQL is quite challenging but with clear explanation and examples given makes the course easier to understand specially for me without any background on IT or cyber security.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 605 Reviews for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

By Fabrizio B

Jan 10, 2024

Excellent course for beginners, instructor super clear. Labs are quite easy and along with topics don't go too much into details, but if you are learning these topics for the first time is the ideal course

By Paul B

Jan 19, 2024

The course itself was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed it and learned a lot. The instructor, not so much. It was just a person reading from a prompter with no real intonation or emotion.

By Jada T

Sep 10, 2023

I already had experience with Linux and SQL as a Computer Science student but I did pick up a few CLI commands that I haven't used before. A good way to get your feet wet with both.

By Benjamin G

Oct 17, 2023

Fun and more interactive then the first 3 courses, with the introduction of labs to practice and explore Linux and SQL. I found it to be a bit difficult, but ultimately rewarding.

By Yakise E

Mar 10, 2024

The concepts and the way they are explained, makes it relatable to every day usage. the instructor delivered the course in a very exciting and straight forward way. Thank you.

By Richard V

Nov 30, 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Kim, the instructor was excellent. I appreciated it because she used a lot of examples that anyone could relate to. Very good course!!!

By Shreyas P

Feb 6, 2023

I liked the course but the course on mobile not working properly and the lab had some issues,other than that I learned or revised many stuff and terms which were important.

By Harini

Mar 12, 2024

Had an awesome experience while learning, everything was understandable and the contents are knowledgably easy to understand and incorporate while practicing the commands.

By Byron V

Sep 20, 2023

I really enjoyed this course. Being able to get some hands on examples make it much more fun to learn on Linux and SQL. I hope everyone else enjoyed it as much as I did.

By Christen S M

Nov 26, 2023

SQL was killing me, but I made it. I really appreciate how this course is structured. I looked forward to working with my future mentees on the whole certificate soon.

By John E

Sep 30, 2023

I gained a lot of insight in using LINUX and SQL commands. The tutor nailed it. Her way of communicating helped me in understanding especially during the lab sessions.

By Jaime C

Sep 22, 2023

Incredibly difficult to learn for beginners but at the same time it's loads of fun! After you complete this course you end up wanting to learn more about SQL and Bash!

By Ian M

Aug 21, 2023

Before this course I struggled with SQL. This course laid everything out in a way that made perfect sense. Feeling much more comfortable moving ahead in my new career!

By Musa B G

Jun 2, 2024

Its a great course to study, but I prefer if the instruction or lectures were to be done in both video and reading so that learners will have options to choose from.

By Craig B

Nov 28, 2023

I enjoyed the breakdowns of the lesson material and the hands-on activities. Both made it much easier to understand and enjoy learning about and using Linux and SQL.

By Kaiquan M

Mar 23, 2023

Course 4 of the Google Cybersecurity specialisation was good in covering:

-some refresher content for SQL

-basic Linux concepts and bash commands in the Linux Terminal

By Pragati M M

Jan 28, 2024

I enjoyed the breakdown of the lesson material and the hands on activites. Both made it much easier to understand and enjoy learning about and using Linux and SQL.

By Lawrence T

Aug 11, 2023

Great intro and refresher into common Linux commands and SQL queries. This was fun to complete and the labs helped me understand SQL more for my current employer.

By Frankie E

Mar 8, 2024

Very well done and informative! I never really had an interest in (or a clue about) SQL, and this helped me better understand the uses of it, and Linux commands!

By Syrick G

Aug 25, 2023

Since I don’t have any programming experiences, especially with SQL and Linux, this course helped me a lot. I’ve learned the basics so it was a nice experience. 

By Hunter M

Feb 4, 2023

This course was a lot of fun! The labs in this section are very hands-on and really built my confidence with using the command line and implementing SQL queries.

By -LEIII-

Oct 21, 2023

This is a great introduction in understanding Databases and communicating with computers. Excellent Instructors along with easily digested readable material.

By Emilio D s r

Aug 16, 2023

Great introductory course to linux and SQL with practical examples, no querying for apples and oranges, instead looking for log times and events for example.

By Jovon Y

Sep 10, 2023

This course helped me become more aware of the worlds of Linux and SQL. I appreciated the course. The most challenging and most rewarding course thus far.

By K S

Apr 15, 2024

I sincerely appreciate your assistance with my cyber security training and your encouragement of my career aspirations. thank you Regards, K.Srinivas