Chevron Left
Back to Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL by Google

4.8
stars
3,274 ratings

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills you need to apply for an entry-level cybersecurity job. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the third Google Cybersecurity Certificate course. In this course, you will explore computing skills that you’ll use on-the-job as a cybersecurity analyst. First, you'll practice using Linux, an operating system commonly used by cybersecurity professionals. For example, you'll use the Linux command line through the Bash shell to navigate and manage the file system and authenticate users. Then, you'll use SQL to communicate with a database. Google employees who currently work in cybersecurity will guide you through videos, provide hands-on activities and examples that simulate common cybersecurity tasks, and help you build your skills to prepare for jobs. Learners who complete this certificate will be equipped to apply for entry-level cybersecurity roles. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Explain the relationship between operating systems, applications, and hardware. - Compare a graphical user interface to a command line interface. - Identify the unique features of common Linux distributions. - Navigate and manage the file system using Linux commands via the Bash shell. - Use Linux commands via the Bash shell to authenticate and authorize users. - Describe how a relational database is organized. - Use SQL to retrieve information from a database. - Apply filters to SQL queries and use joins to combine multiple tables....

Top reviews

SA

Sep 24, 2023

this course linux and sql is the 4th course series of google cyber security certification. This course is linux operating system , and sql. this is very helpful steps in my cyber security journey.

MI

Sep 24, 2023

Learning Linux and SQL is quite challenging but with clear explanation and examples given makes the course easier to understand specially for me without any background on IT or cyber security.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 608 Reviews for Tools of the Trade: Linux and SQL

By Salma N F

Jan 20, 2024

I like that it offers the most hands-on activities so far. I loved being able to test running the code myself to retrieve different results and data.

By Kim N

Nov 3, 2023

I like the labs and tests in this course because they stimulated and motivated me to learn how to use them and I want to become good at using them.

By Shainyce J

Feb 5, 2024

This course was very informative but not overloading with informations. I enjoyed the activities and aplpying what I am learning through action.

By Abdul K B

Jun 23, 2023

It was amazing course and I enjoyed it. It starts from basic level and easy to comprehend concepts. and get chance to have hands on experience.

By Abdul L A B M

Sep 18, 2023

Thank you for information on me, i will take all input iwhat i got, and i will improve my knowledge in Linux and SQL make me better in future.

By A M

Apr 22, 2024

I liked this course a lot. The explanations was good and I learned a lot about Linux command line (the Shell) and how to work with the SQL.

By MARVIN N M

Aug 22, 2023

I learned all the best practices of Cybersecurity and some of the tools used in analyzing logs to investigate an incident from a Network.

By Erich C

Mar 13, 2024

Excellent, beginner- and user-friendly approach to learning about Linux and SQL. Very accessible and instructive material. Great stuff!

By Christy O

Oct 5, 2023

I AM GRATEFUL TO GOOGLE FOR THIS CYBER SECURITY CIURSE ON TOOLS OF THE TRADE USED IN CYBER SECURITY,NOW I KNOW HOW TO USE THESE TOOLS.

By Lynn L

Aug 17, 2023

Although I was comfortable with the Linux portion as I use it daily, I had not run a SQL query in 20 years. This was a good refresher.

By Antonio P d S M P

Oct 16, 2023

Very good!! Very interesting content and presented in a very practical way. The use of practical examples makes learning much easier.

By Hsein H

Aug 25, 2023

i wanna say thanks to the teacher. because she's the best with teaching i got everything and i was very happy with learning from her.

By Traci L

Jul 18, 2023

Very extensive course and definitely jam packed but you learn what you need to learn in a progressive class at a an accelerated pace.

By Richard l

Feb 18, 2024

Great refresher on the Linux command line for me, and a great introduction to SQL, which should be a very useful and powerful tool.

By David R

Jun 28, 2023

A very practical course that introduces key elements of both LINUX and SQL. This was an enjoyable course to learn new skills.

By scot l

Aug 30, 2023

This was a challenging class. Lots of projects, and hands on labs. This block took me a while to finish do to my inexperience.

By Marcos C

Oct 5, 2023

This course is a jewel with such knowledge about Linux command line and SQL. The Qwiklabs' tasks are so much fun to perform.

By Sarah W

Feb 21, 2023

Really great explanation and labs for the use of tools. The content was clear and helpful to getting a better understanding.

By Julia D

Dec 5, 2023

This is my favorite so far. I have enjoyed the other courses as well, but I really enjoyed being able to practice with SQL.

By Aidan W

Oct 20, 2023

Honestly taught me a lot and explained super in-depth. Probably the hardest course in the series so far but most rewarding.

By Ian W

Sep 14, 2023

Crucial course to help you learn the basics of Linux and SQL to help you as a Security Analyst. It really helped me a lot!!

By Faith U E

Jul 7, 2023

It was my first ever attempt to lerarn and know to use Linux and SQL, i just want to say that i enjoyed doing this course.

By Eddie T

Jun 6, 2024

Lots of hands-on on that will teach you in a real simulated environment how to handle Linux CLI commands and SQL queries.

By Doreen I

Oct 29, 2023

DEFINITELY WASN'T EASY LEARNING AND APPLYING THE CONCEPTS DURING THE LABS, COMPLETING THIS COURSE MADE IT ALL REWARDING.

By mj m 7

Oct 28, 2023

absolutely must recommended!!! for the beginners but only con is this course doesnt teach you how to CREATE A DATABASE