Chevron Left
Back to Digital Media and Marketing Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Media and Marketing Principles by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.2
1,527 ratings
322 reviews

About the Course

The digital revolution has led to a titanic shift in the landscape of the marketing communication, while also creating new opportunities for businesses to reach and engage consumers through smart, social, and mobile media technologies. In this course, you will learn about the impacts of digital technologies on marketing communication strategies and practices. By understanding the underlying processes of marketing communication and the core features of new media technologies, you can strategically select the appropriate channels to deliver the right marketing message to the right audience at the right moment....

Top reviews

SK

Sep 02, 2019

The course gives a introductory insight into the digital marketing. It'll enable the students of this course to introduce themselves to world of digital marketing. Thanks for this amazing course.

LM

Aug 30, 2015

Very good, informative and useful. My only wish is that the presenter was a bit more natural, rather than appearing to read the text off the screen all the time. But that is just a minor comment

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 312 Reviews for Digital Media and Marketing Principles

By Marcus U

Oct 30, 2017

They put the right content in evidence but I felt miss more market experience from the tutor in this field.

By Phoebe A M

Apr 24, 2019

Overall the content was good and useful and I enjoyed it. However, I felt the format the professor had the course in was more daunting and less concise than previous lecturers. Having a series of lectures ranging from 3 minutes to 20 minutes and links that you can't click on within the lecture made it distracting and not as user friendly. I think if there were possibly two lectures per week with ALL of the information and incorporating video examples into the lecture it would be more of a pleasant experience. Watching a three minute video then clicking next and going into a 5 minute video and then a 15 minute video is a bit of a nuisance. I've taken many online classes and this is the only thing that I find very irritating.

By Nicolay K

Sep 18, 2019

The course provided a good structure and various contents and reading / video resources. It is very advantageous that the presentation slides are being shared. However, the course might need some updating as some links from the resources are outdated. Sometimes, the video presentations and interviews seemed a bit mechanic. Also, I was missing to see the professor's / his chair's own publications and academic research in this field, such academic insights should be part of the readings and resources.

By Alexandru S

Feb 03, 2016

A little bit too basic, I expected more.

By lance h

Dec 04, 2016

The content was good, however Prof Clifton is very difficult to listen to and watch on the videos. Mistakes in the PPT and her presentation skills do not meet the expected standard. She seemed as though she didn't know the material and is seemingly unaware of what is required for successful on-camera delivery of lectures.

By Shivam T

Jan 11, 2019

It lacks practical knowledge

By Lakeisha

Feb 18, 2016

The instructor needs improvement on her presentation skills. She is just reading off the slides instead of providing more examples and scenarios to help student comprehend the material. I have to retake almost every quiz under her courses. In previous courses, I passed quizzes in one try. Please improve material or get a better instructor.

By Oana D

Aug 10, 2016

Very light in useful content

By Rhiannon C

Feb 08, 2016

This was my least favorite of the course. The questions were out of order, the videos and lectures were terrible and dry

By Seif E T A

Feb 25, 2018

More interaction and better presentation from the instructor and more case studies are needed, I would have read the book by myself and didn't bother to spend any money on this course

By Alexander S

Sep 24, 2016

Honestly didn't learn much from this course. The majority of content is simply common sense, and things you'll know if you've spent any time on the internet in the recent years. The good parts were the evaluation of different marketing channels (traditional and digital) and various stats on how people spend from the industry (ownership of TV networks, time spent per day on different media, etc.).

By Rex C D

Mar 06, 2017

The lectures were nothing more than a person reading from the reference text. There seemed to be a lack of understanding of the material--even the jokes were taken from the book (without credit to the author).

By Domenico M

Apr 15, 2016

waste of time.

By Dinh T K H

Sep 19, 2016

Not very much information and lesson to learn deep

By Victor C

Dec 01, 2016

I did not like the teacher but I did like the course material.

By Avril F M

Feb 21, 2016

This course is not as good as the ones that are part of the Digital Marketing specialization. It was hard to keep traction and interest to finish it.

By Jessica P

Jun 28, 2016

The presenter in this course is hard to follow and does not have good slides. She often does not put her bullet points or lists on the slides ( I am a visual learner and she does not provide enough on screen info) She is really uncomfortable and makes it really hard to listen to her talk. She struggles through the entire presentation which is just super distracting. Content is good though.

By Guia G

May 04, 2017

I don't feel like the videos were helpful in explaining and offering guidance. They were boring and basically repeated everything given in the readings. The delivery should be improved. Kevin Hartman was clearer

By Sofia P

Feb 15, 2017

This type of course structure may work at an undergrad level, but for continuing education it is sub-par.

The video lectures were the instructor reading the slides, reading from the course reading, or showing videos that were listed in the course reading. The course quizzes had too many questions that focused on memorizing details from the case studies or a statistic shown for a bit in the lectures rather than try to foster understanding of the material.

There were some technical issues such as links from the course readings expiring and not being replaced, in-lecture questions dealing with a subject matter different from the topic of the lecture, etc.

The one good thing from this course - it uses a great textbook (free), which provides lots and lots of useful data and insights into digital marketing - and this is the sole reason the course gets 2 stars instead of 1.

By Sammy L

Jan 06, 2017

was boring. nothing interesting here.

By Ankit K

Mar 27, 2017

Too much theoretical.This course should not be a separate course.It can be a part of other course.

By Jana B

Feb 18, 2017

very boring lectures, the professor should not read the slides, but actually try to speak her own words, because this is causing lost interest and as a result less attention paid and less knowledge received.

By Andrea R

May 19, 2016

I found this course less engaging than the previous ones in the specialization. I would have appreciated if the video lessons were focusing more on commenting case studies; in many cases I had the impression that the Professor was simply reading the slides...

By Krisztina F

Aug 05, 2016

Not up to my expectations. Compared to the previous modules in this specialisation, the lectures are dry, the presenter is not focused and slides are sometimes mixed up. The reading material is great and a definite plus is that it is free. But the lectures should be more practical (not just the bullet points of the book), and the weekly assignment should not be a chapter summary question. The course developers should have taken the time to develop a case study for each topic, like in the first module in this spec. I highly recommend reviewing and improving the content.

By JaiPal Y

Dec 11, 2017

Long theory bases course, Need to me more practical base, did not expected this form Illinois university