Chevron Left
Back to Medical Terminology I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Medical Terminology I by Rice University

4.9
stars
394 ratings

About the Course

This course will discuss the importance of learning medical language as well as introduce basic word parts and concepts applied in medical terminology. We will also learn about common organization and terms seen in medical records before moving into system-specific terms for the integumentary system (skin), musculoskeletal system (muscles and bones), and urinary (kidneys)....

Top reviews

SJ

Sep 27, 2022

Love every piece of this course, from the instructor to the course content. Nothing but phenomenal... I love the way Dr. Laura teaches, so far she is one of my favorites...

Thank You so Much!

SS

Nov 16, 2022

Great course, professor kept it interesting and made it fun with plenty of different learning styles provided; from helpful handouts to matching games, practice with spelling, pictures and more.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 112 Reviews for Medical Terminology I

By Osei A

May 27, 2022

The transcript in the lectures was helpful. I suggest that a transcript be added to the short videos in Final Course assessments. I made a 100% though but i couldn't hear some words clearly from the short videos in the Final Course Assessment. Thanks Dr Laura!

By Jun Y

Mar 14, 2022

Very informative, useful, and helpful. The instructor is really humourous! Many thanks for the great efforts in making this wonderful course.

By patricia a c

Apr 3, 2022

Excellent course! I learned a lot. Instructor is so good at what she does! Gearing up for the 2nd part.

By Vinetta E H

Feb 28, 2023

Very easy to learn content material. The professor was clear and relatable: she made learning interesting.

By Rebecca K

Feb 25, 2022

Everything was Well organized . I really the positive attitude of the professor

By Rob

May 31, 2023

This is an easy course that is fairly effective, but it has its short-comings. Some exercises are very poorly designed, e.g. Spelling Exercises. Video transcripts have critical typos and erroneous transcriptions There is zero interaction with any professional educator. The discussion forums are black holes where students seem to post mono-syllabic responses and contribute nothing to discussions. Each Module covers a good amount of vocabulary but that vocabulary is a minimal part of the testing. This is a program that from a testing perspective focuses primarily on prefixes and suffixes. Quizzes are on an honor code, meaning you can look up answers and cheat. This greatly diminishes the value of the certificate, because anyone can get this without effort - just pay the fee, submit a quiz completed through cheating, and you get a certificate. I did do the work and took the quizzes seriously; however, regardless of whether you are studious and work very hard or are lazy and do absolutely nothing everyone gets a certificate. The initial appeal of the course for e was the relatively cheap fee and the schedule flexibility. I wouldn't dissuade anyone from taking the course, but I think I would explore online courses more carefully in the future and probably find one that has a better professor / student interface with actual dialogue. Good luck.

By Darlene M

Mar 14, 2023

This course is very informative! It is very detail-oriented and the instructor (PT, Med Term Instructor) was very knowledgeable and entertaining! I would enroll into another course with her ANY day! This course is hands down well structured!

By Kun C

Mar 11, 2023

It is an excellent course, fun learning with relatively boring medical terminology. Flashcards, matching games are really helpful to practice and memorize. Thanks to the instructor and Rice University.

By Pham T K H

Sep 6, 2023

In the beginning i though it would be really boring and not interactive with student, the turns out the course is super helpful , easy to study, I could not ask for any course better than this.

By René B

May 8, 2022

Great course! well done, nice resources provided that help you follow along the lecture and animated flash cards to help you study. It requires actually memorizing and studying.

By Lara D

Jul 10, 2023

This was a great course with awesome content and study materials. The instructor was so engaging! I wish I had college instructors that were this much fun to learn with.

By Delicia P S

Oct 5, 2023

This the best course about MedTerm ever that I've been enroll in. And the way instructor teaching and explain is very understandable and I fell comfortable with that.

By Isabelle S

Oct 17, 2023

While this course alone was highly educational and engaging, it would not have been the same without Laura Kabiri. Her personality truly made this class. Thank you.

By Birgül K

Sep 22, 2023

this course is the most interesting course i have ever had at coursera. Laura Kabiri was amazing! Exercise options were very useful. thank u very much!

By Alisha N P

Oct 2, 2023

I really liked the instructor, she made things light and easy to understand, which made the class work go much smoother. She has a great personality

By Ashby G

May 21, 2023

Very well taught and entertaining course! I learned a lot and have already noticed how much more I recognize medical terms in my daily life.

By Lien V

Sep 13, 2023

The teacher is very approachable and funny! The course does have way too much to remember but I guess that is what the course is about.

By Christina K

Oct 4, 2023

I love how this course utilizes all the learning styles! You can read along while your listening and looking at the video!

By Mokgadi

Jul 4, 2023

it was great, it kept me interested and all learning materials are provided. Thank you very much

By Jeseka P

May 29, 2023

Great Course on Medical Terminology! I learned so much!

Huge Thanks to Rice University!

By Chloe c

Jan 11, 2023

Very informational!! I completed an audit of this course, Prof. Kabiri is phenomenal!!!

By ALAA D

Dec 24, 2022

Great Course .. but why the certificate is not issued with the name of Learner ?

By Lautaro M

Jul 12, 2023

Excellent course! Easy to follow and understand. Thank you Dr. Kabiri!

By Shaghayegh S p

Jun 27, 2022

I learned a lot and I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you very much

By DaJanae W

May 4, 2022

Found the course as well as Professor Kabiri quite pleasant