Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started With Music Theory

Getting Started With Music Theory, Michigan State University

4.5
162 ratings
46 reviews

About this Course

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Top reviews

By DP

May 07, 2017

A great course to understand Music in a technical way. Has not just helped me understand the concepts but also has inspired me to learn an instrument and apply the concepts.

By VH

Feb 21, 2019

I have really enjoyed doing this course. I now understand minor keys and seventh chords and thanks to the course team

Filter by:

46 Reviews

By 朱婧

Mar 30, 2019

You shall never miss it!

A true foundation of the music theory, simple but complete!

By Gustavo Duarte Laranjeira

Mar 26, 2019

I am learning so much. This is a great complement to my music trajectory.

By nikolas antoniades

Feb 21, 2019

I finish the course. How i get my Certificate?

By Vida Hodanu

Feb 21, 2019

I have really enjoyed doing this course. I now understand minor keys and seventh chords and thanks to the course team

By Richard Rojas Orrego

Feb 19, 2019

Great course for anyone trying to enter the world of music theory and even better for someone with a little bit of a background on music. There are some problems with the in-lesson questions where you have to pause a number of times to actually view the thing that is being asked and then proceed to the question.

Also you will need a lot of complementary material to get most of this course but in general this was great, totally recommended.

By Iván García Ugalde

Feb 11, 2019

Excelente desarrollo y herramientas, recomiendo altamente el curso

By Gene Harding

Feb 02, 2019

Very good course, though I thought there could have been more practice exercises to re enforce the lesson taught. Had an issue with the last quiz, seemed like two questions were not being graded. Overall enjoyed the course.

By Fred Dings

Jan 19, 2019

Clear concise modules, excellent instructor. Wish there were a sequel. Recommend highly.

By Erik Van Nooten

Jan 16, 2019

Excellent Course!

By Danila Gomulkin

Oct 24, 2018

The course gives much practice and many useful hints to help students easily identify notes, chords and their inversions in sheet music. A very good help to any course in music theory!