Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started With Music Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started With Music Theory by Michigan State University

4.5
stars
735 ratings

About the Course

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Top reviews

MA

Invalid date

This course is enlightening as it digs deep into the essential basics of Music theory. I had a nice time taking this course.

DT

Invalid date

This course was very helpful as i earned a basic knowledge of music theory...........and also it is the best for the beginners who are keen in learning music.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 270 Reviews for Getting Started With Music Theory

By Prabir S

Dec 30, 2020

This is one of the most enjoyable course I had undertaken so far. The content and method of imparting knowledge in this course have been chosen with great care and love for the learner.

Regards to the faculty and the organization.

By milad n

Jan 24, 2021

is was great cours for me specially because I learned theory of music in traditional way in traditiolan music of Iran and I saw in this cours there are many things more then traadition in music theory ...

By Ricardo B

Jun 26, 2017

I'm a software developer who can't play any instrument, and I enjoyed this course a lot. There are really no pre-requisites, any beginner can take this course, even if they can't tell apart do from re.

By Danila G

Oct 24, 2018

The course gives much practice and many useful hints to help students easily identify notes, chords and their inversions in sheet music. A very good help to any course in music theory!

By Nikki O

Apr 19, 2020

This course was a great way to get into music theory. It does help if you have some background knowledge first but a little more study and you'll be just fine anyway.

By Marian K

May 12, 2023

I vey much enjoyed this course. It was challenging enough and gave me the basics of music theory which I was looking for.

By Jose P (

Apr 24, 2023

Great course to take for beginners in music, or for those who want to re-learn music notation and writing altogether.

By Francesca F

Jan 20, 2021

This course is very well-planned and well-taught. You get a clear start on many basic concepts of music theory.

By Dawn G

Jan 19, 2024

Outstanding course taught from a slightly different perspective than others. I truly enjoyed it.

By Mark D M R

Sep 2, 2022

quizzes are really tough, but just have a great listen on the explanation and you will get it.

By Japheth M

Oct 23, 2020

The course was quite tough but covered most of the categories. Professional way of teaching.

By Sudha S

Jul 22, 2023

Excellent and great inputs from faculty on topics like counterpoint and chord progressions

By Fred D

Jan 19, 2019

Clear concise modules, excellent instructor. Wish there were a sequel. Recommend highly.

By Jonatan M

Mar 1, 2023

Learned many things from this course. I recommend it for anyone getting started. Thank

By kurt c

Aug 25, 2022

Really great! Helped me learn a lot about the basics of music!

By Juan J A L

Nov 8, 2020

Excelent Course, So complete, and the teacher learn so good.

By Pablo R

Jan 18, 2023

Hard but very interesting course, I recommend it a lot

By Nikita K

Feb 22, 2020

May be little bit frustrating for absolute beginners.

By Peter A

Feb 1, 2024

such a great course for theory beginners in music

By DEIBY J C Z

May 2, 2022

Un curso muy completo.. Aprendí muchísimo!!

By Hossein A F

Nov 2, 2022

Thanks for your perfect course.

By Jayla w

Dec 29, 2020

I AM PLEASE WITH THIS COURSE

By Sofia F L

Feb 19, 2023

Excellent!

By tunji a

Feb 7, 2023

Excellent!

By Sehnaz Y

Dec 6, 2020

Thank you!