Chevron Left
Back to Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.4
468 ratings
137 reviews

About the Course

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Top reviews

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 134 Reviews for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

By Henk J G

Mar 17, 2019

Interesting though not always easy to consume

By Juan D G G

May 01, 2018

This is an incredibly terrible course, that only serves as propaganda for Christian creationism. Some of the lecturers are people completely unknowledgeable about both science and philosophy. It is incredibly sad that an university of such quality and history would lend its name for such endeavors.

By James R E

Mar 22, 2018

First weeks material was pretty good, during the second week I started to get a funny feeling about the way it was going. I noticed, during the credits, that this was funded by a group called the Templeton Foundation. I googled them, and discovered that this "foundation" is dedicated to funding endeavors that promote Christianity. So, under the guise of a serious academic, what we have here is propaganda. Coursera should remove this, or at least reveal the true source and purpose of this program. BTW, the lectture by Connor Cunningham is hilarious - a disjointed rambling monologue that reminded me of ...Hunter Thompson? Donald Trump on acid?

By Christopher M

Jun 06, 2018

The aim of these three courses seems to be to persuade people that the debate about the compatibility or otherwise of Christianity (and there's very little attempt here to disguise the view that 'religion' means Christianity) and science is genuinely important. Do they succeed? I don't think so; the somewhat confusing view of science presented by the course creators - that scientists have deliberately chosen naturalism as their metaphysical foundation, refusing to acknowledge any supernatural possibility, and consequently need to 'change their story' whenever they encounter new evidence leaving science weak and unreliable but on the other hand, that science is so powerful and successful that 'scientism' is a real threat to the future of humanity - contrasts with the uncritical view of Christianity (what little critical assessment there is, is laughable in my view) to such an extent that any debate would be meaningless. As far as I can see this remains a problem within Christianity between young earth fundamentalists and those, such as the Templeton Foundation who financed the courses, who want Christianity to be acceptable and relevant in modern society. I think Christians should be free to believe whichever of the hundreds of different types of Christianity they want but that, in the same way that they don't want science imposing a naturalistic view on everyone, they shouldn't expect everyone else to believe the same things that they do.

By Tapuwa L S

Feb 06, 2019

The course was very enlightening and now my understanding of the world has been aptly rectified

By Dmitriy S

Jan 24, 2019

Great course showing modern branches of philosophy of science.

By Rafael S

Feb 21, 2019

Curso excelente! Gostei demais

By Horacio M C

Mar 25, 2019

Excellent course I am waiting for the 2 courses that I need to complete the series.

By Laura O

Jan 28, 2019

fun and easy

By René D N A

Jan 28, 2019

muy bueno

By Peta A

Apr 04, 2019

Wonderful thank you, will definitely participate in the additional courses offered on this subject.

By Flavia L

Jan 06, 2019

Enlightening and extremely well taught.

By Emiel d J

Dec 08, 2018

In the beginning of the course I had the sense that the course was somewhat biased towards religion. But later on I found out that both aspects are explained quite honest and well in the course. All in all well worth the time and effort.

By Fogan A

Mar 09, 2019

This course is a great course! Thanks to Coursera and all the professors and others that made it possible

By nalany

Feb 26, 2019

excelente

By Tan J F

Oct 17, 2018

Interesting course to learn from!

By Solveig H

Nov 11, 2018

An excellent and interesting range of lectures. Not particularly fond of the Stanford readings, but such is life. Very enjoyable!

By Leonidas T

Sep 11, 2017

New knowledge, new optic, new field of thinking. Very good course.

By Andrii B

May 24, 2018

Very good course

By Anne S

Jan 05, 2018

A very interesting and well presented introduction to a controversial area of debate. Encourages further intellectual investigation of three disciplines that seem to have more in common than many would like to admit.

By Tsvi B

Feb 25, 2017

Enjoyed a lot watching this course. Gives a lot to think about!

Thank you so much for providing such an interesting and quality content for free!

By Denis N F J

Jun 28, 2017

Great course! Really helps for a different perspective on the subject!

By Ali A M

Mar 17, 2018

In most of Middle-Eastern countries which i live in one of them , talking about the relationship between science and religion is a kind of a taboo. Ideas and critical thoughts usually not goes out from the academic field. Therefore; the person who wants to learn different perspectives about the issue need to be challenger. Thanks to this course, it is much more easier for me. Great job!

By Pavithra V

Aug 26, 2017

This course has helped me look at a lot of things from a different point of view. It was a thrilling experience to discover that a lot of theories that seem obviously true aren't really so! The lectures were amazing.

By Leonardo A

Jul 28, 2017

Es un excelente curso, muy bien explicado e interesante.