Chevron Left
Back to Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
stars
953 ratings

About the Course

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Top reviews

DM

Invalid date

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

TS

Invalid date

Precise and to the point! In the time and space we dwell in, this course is of utmost importance and the respected professors are of undeniable excellence.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 256 Reviews for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

By Diego S D

Jul 25, 2020

Brilliant. I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about the deeper questions in human life.

By John W W

Nov 20, 2020

thankyou university of edinburg for this course its very helpful especially in building ones spirituality

By Fogan A (

Mar 9, 2019

This course is a great course! Thanks to Coursera and all the professors and others that made it possible

By Анастасия К

Mar 22, 2017

Thank you so mush for providing such an interesting course on philosophy for free! The material was good!

By özlem b k

Apr 11, 2021

Everything was perfect. Thank you very much for this course and I am very happy to have this chance.

By Claudia M

Feb 23, 2021

I loved this course overall, even though I must admit that I preferred some instructors over others.

By Robert C

Jul 30, 2019

Good course, though I think the instructors are rather condescending toward young earth creationism.

By Peta O (

Apr 4, 2019

Wonderful thank you, will definitely participate in the additional courses offered on this subject.

By Rafael A T

Aug 10, 2017

Excelent course, all the topics are very interesting, great team of professors, congratulations.

By Stacey M

Feb 25, 2018

Excellent material, very well presented and explained. Thoroughly interesting. Thank you so much.

By Goodness T

Jun 19, 2024

Very enlightening and educative. Hard to believe such time and energy could be granted for free.

By Tapuwa L S

Feb 6, 2019

The course was very enlightening and now my understanding of the world has been aptly rectified

By Donald A

Oct 5, 2020

Very informative and gave me a different perspective on how to combine ideas from both topics.

By Mahbubul I

Mar 12, 2021

Excellent for basic understanding of relationship between Philosophy, Science, and religion.

By Roseane d C L S

Jun 30, 2022

Ótimo curso e ótimo material de leitura. Fui muito beneficiada pelas indicações de artigos.

By HELLEN S

Jul 9, 2020

Very good course! It inspired me and gave me tools to keep questioning life and the world.

By Juliano d t

Jun 28, 2022

Great! Very didactic with excellent support material! Thanks for the learning passed on!

By Bruno P d C

May 12, 2020

Espetacular experiência e interdisciplinaridade para a Teologia e Ciências da Religião.

By Antonia T B

Mar 16, 2020

Very interesting. Easy quizzes. Different points of view. I learnt a lot. Thanks a lot!

By Rita d C A G O

Feb 19, 2017

Very interesting course. Help me increase my vocabulary and my power of argumentation.

By Horacio M C

Mar 24, 2019

Excellent course I am waiting for the 2 courses that I need to complete the series.

By Andrew M

Jan 22, 2018

A fantastic introduction, academically this had the right mix of depth and breadth.

By Hugh H

Jun 2, 2017

I enjoyed this course. The content was excellent and lectures were well presented.

By Michaela K

Mar 8, 2023

This cours also was one of my beginning pleasure to add a lottle to my knowledge.

By John H P

Nov 25, 2020

very helpful. It reoriented me on the fundamental explanation of Faith and Reason