Chevron Left
Back to Scandinavian Film and Television

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Scandinavian Film and Television by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
531 ratings
130 reviews

About the Course

In many ways Scandinavian film and television is a global cultural brand, connected with and exporting some of the cultural and social values connected to a liberal and progressive welfare society. This course deals with the social, institutional and cultural background of film and television in Scandinavia and in a broader European and global context....

Top reviews

TR

Aug 13, 2020

Good information and little shots of movie clips. Movies were depressing in nature. Good to see Scandinavian countries creating original content that is valued. Had to retake quizzes a few times. LOL

DC

Jul 21, 2017

Informative and a very good orientation towards the Scandinavian and in fact the European film and television scene. Also gave insights on future trends and developments. Many thanks.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 126 Reviews for Scandinavian Film and Television

By Lazar B

Dec 15, 2015

Very Interesting so far, great profesors

By Keshab R

May 15, 2021

one of the best courses at CourseEra!

By Herzen P

Jul 20, 2020

Excellent course, highly recommended!

By Peter S

Mar 2, 2022

Very high quality. Very informative.

By Akhil M

Jan 3, 2020

excellent course i learned alot

By Rachel E

Oct 5, 2016

A brilliant course :) I loved it.

By Abdulaziz F A

Aug 1, 2021

Really good course : )

By Juan C A E

Dec 4, 2020

Excellent materials!

By K A E

Mar 12, 2016

I loved this course!

By Derek P

Mar 24, 2016

Excellent course.

By annie g

Apr 26, 2020

excellent course

By Zanyar M

Oct 26, 2018

It was Amazing!

By Flavio T

Feb 17, 2017

Amaizing course

By MOHIT D J

Sep 8, 2020

Great Course

By Lino G Q H

Aug 6, 2017

great course

By Ruslan A

Apr 9, 2016

great intro

By Nina M

Nov 24, 2020

Amazing!!

By Marc P

Mar 21, 2016

Thank you to the instructors and the university! A very interesting course that not only focuses on the content and quality of Scandinavian TV and movie productions but also on the broader (institutional and cultural) framework in which they are produced. I would have rated it 4.5 starts if possible, but as halves are not possible I give it 4. Possible improvements:

-the delivery of the course can be a bit livier, smoother; some instructors seem a bit at unease with this format

-while an interest in Scandinavian movies and TV series is an implicit prerequisite for a course like this, sometimes simply mentioning 'lists' of directors, movies, series you might never have heard of can make it a bit overwhelming, hard to relate to

-students' engagement could be enhanced with more interactive assignments

By Christopher C

May 13, 2020

Excellent information and presentation of an overall view of Scandinavian film. I was disappointed to see so little time spent on Nicholas Winding Refn (NWR), He's one of my favorite directors and I have seen all of his work. He has a huge presence on the film festival circuit (particularly Cannes) and currently has written and directed a series for Amazon Too Old To Die young. I was hoping to hear how NWR is perceived by intellectuals in his own country, but did not. Also, I was hoping to learn more about Finnish films and television. Perhaps Finland is not considered a true "Scandinavian" country?

By Art O

Jun 4, 2017

Its an excellent course that gives a detailed and comprehensive overview of the major developments in Scandinavian Film and Television. there are plenty of examples , links, references and good discussion. To a large extent the course is concerned with the integrity of cultural programming that reinforces the Scandinavian nations. And I wonder are there independent filmmakers? The pace is somewhat academic rather than entertaining and sometimes the presentation suffers from the dryness and seriousness of it. I particularly liked the section on documentary and the films of Carl Dreyer.

By Kenneth R

Jan 17, 2017

I enjoyed the lectures and content. I would have liked to see more use of clips. The quiz format (select 2, select 3) is not one I find effective and often leads to the creation of "trick" question through wording that don't really assess conceptual understanding. The same is true of history class questions of the old school - recall a name, date or place.

By Aida B G

Aug 1, 2017

Very happy to have taken the course, I've learnt a lot about Scandinavian Film and Television and really enjoyed it. I'm not giving 5 starts because at times the video-lectures have not been giving in a very natural way, and thus sometimes some of them have been rather boring. Anyhow, all in all, I would take it again because it's been really interesting.

By Danni T

May 21, 2016

Although the form of lecturing is quite limited in this course, I still found it attractive. Just if you are interested in the topic. Information quantity is just enough, and well organized. Tiny quizzes are there for you to recall the things that you just listened to. I like it and hope there're more courses about Nordic culture and social system.

By Jonathan G

Jan 10, 2018

though it was interesting to learn about filmmaking, Scandinavian perspective and to learn about story content and Independent film, the lectures in later modules seemed boring and self-explanatory and seem to accentuate the triviality of Scandinavian film with the rise of Netflix. Interesting, but aspects that were boring.

By kasper B

Apr 24, 2020

I did enjoy the course through scandinavian film & history. If i had one wish would it be that they updated their last two lectures in week 5 of the course. It sounds like this was made aroundt 2014/2015 and major changes have happend since then. Especially if we are talking digitial techonolgy for film and streaming.