Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,692 ratings
464 reviews

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top reviews

YG
Jul 2, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL
Feb 9, 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 456 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

By Георгий Ф

May 20, 2017

Great course, thank you! Easy explanations for complecated math theorems is exactly what I wanted to see in online course.

By Noe G S G

Apr 26, 2016

Mr. Robert Ghrist is an excellent teacher. It's a dificult course.,You wil need to practice very much. But you can do it.

By Tsun F C

Jun 22, 2021

Very inspiring and challenging course. Definitely suitable for those who want to gain a deeper insight into precalculus.

By Khin M M M

Jan 8, 2021

Dear Teachers,

I would like to tell you about my thanks because of it was very beneficial course for me.

Best wishes!!!

By Gallo B

Mar 14, 2021

Great course on Functions. But, as the Proffesor said, it is challenging and require some knowledge of A-level calculus

By Irina Š

May 5, 2020

Great course! Thank you Professor Ghrist for being a great teacher and giving us the right intuition for every lesson.

By Zeda L

Jun 13, 2017

Excellent!Professor makes it so easy for me to understand and learn the difficult part of this course. Thanks a lot!

By Kevin S

May 24, 2020

Challenging and entertaining as well.

Personally, I must learn to utilize the forums as I continue in these courses.

By Yuji N

Oct 28, 2016

I liked these fancy lecture videos in this course! It's really fun to learn and yet I can learn an advanced stuffs.

By oximas

Jan 28, 2020

this is a great course, it talks about a lot of important points in calculus and I really got a lot of value of it

By Ujjwal K

Jan 3, 2018

I sincerely thank the professors and the coursera.org team for bringing out to the public this excellent course.

By Zheng J Y

Jan 29, 2019

It's a very nice course. I strongly recommend it no matter who your are, as long as you what to learn calculus.

By Yalcin C K

May 29, 2018

This approach of defining taylor series and using them to study limits , function etc is realy a great idea:)

By Samuel K

Sep 20, 2020

Excellent course. You MUST have some previous calculus exposure to take this class. It is quite difficult.

By Brandon Y

Jul 5, 2020

This course helped me to rationalize calculus concepts in ways not taught by my high school calculus course.

By Xiaoming J

May 22, 2017

Very good organized and I especially like the exercises in this course which is both challenging and doable.

By Tom W

Jul 8, 2018

very interesting and fun course! it's not an easy course. but it worths the challenge. highly recommended!!

By Hyosik M

Jun 13, 2020

Awesome lecture!. If I could get the explanation about challenging problems, it could be the best lecture.

By SUBRAMANIAN R S

Oct 6, 2019

COURSE IS VERY GOOD

I LIKED THE WAY OF TEACHING AND THE PROBLEMS IN THE HOMEWORK AND QUIZ SECTION

THANK YOU

By Benjamin N

Dec 2, 2019

Passionate, heart-felt teaching combined with challenging homework make this a course worth investing in.

By Xiyang S

Mar 19, 2019

Great course series to learn, thanks for the work of the staff! Hope to study Multi Variable series soon.

By Keqin H

Jun 13, 2018

Extremely concise lectures. Good aiding graphics. The HWs are challenging yet doable. Highly recommended.

By Max C

Mar 31, 2020

Very good video lecture. Very good speech for not native english students. But little difficult for me.

By mike

Jun 18, 2021

T​his course was well done and highly recommended secondary to the novel presentation of the material.

By Pavel K

Jun 15, 2019

Good explanation of quite complicated things. Bonus materials are especially useful for understanding.