Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
1,101 ratings
277 reviews

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top reviews

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 273 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

By Paras J

Jan 10, 2017

The course material was balanced and the Assignments questions were well selected.

By Nikita S

Apr 30, 2018

Unexpectedly interesting course on Calculus, some of the extra problems are really difficult. With a total of 109 problems and many colorful lectures, it is one of the best courses on Calculus in English. - Nikita Skybytskyi, winner of the International Mathematical Olympiad

By MIGUEL C B L

May 27, 2018

EXELENTE

By xiangdong z

May 27, 2017

Great course teaches me through clear and detailed clues.

By Wenkai L

Jan 08, 2016

This course is very great and helpful. However, I think the course should provide more exercises to help students comprehend the new knowledge better.

By Mikayla B

Jun 19, 2016

This course offers so much! I haven't been in a class that goes this in-depth in calculus. I definitely recommend this course to others who want to explore calculus and want a challenge!

Best of luck to those who choose to enroll in all 5 parts of single variable calculus sessions. It's worth it :)

By Zeda L

Jun 13, 2017

Excellent!Professor makes it so easy for me to understand and learn the difficult part of this course. Thanks a lot!

By 杨佳熙

Jun 21, 2016

the first four session is free which is econmic friendly. show u my respect :)

By Ersan E

Nov 08, 2016

Taking everything deep enough; not less or not much until now.

By zhangzhe

Feb 05, 2017

Great course, it explained a lot of questions about calculus I had.

By 易灿

May 16, 2016

Very intuitive, I think 1.5 speed is more properly

By Robert H

Feb 25, 2016

The YouTube description was overly enthusiastic. The course description on signup was much more to the point: This is not AB calculus. Reach the end and you will have accomplished something. Warning: You will not be led by the hand.

By Alex O

Apr 01, 2017

Great course. I've never had math being explained as good as mr Ghrist did.

By Vamsidhar B

Jul 15, 2017

very good simple to understand but homework problems are some times complex

By Shahen K

Jun 30, 2016

One of the best courses I've ever taken.

By Hoagy C

Sep 30, 2017

Very well explained, well set out, interesting concepts - highly recommended. Would have liked it if the 'Challenge' question sets were a little more thought provoking rather than (often) just requiring more computation - there were some interesting ones (the ln(lnx) question comes to mind) but didn't add as much depth as they could have.

By Patricia B

Jul 11, 2017

Best calculus course ever.

By Wanying P

May 11, 2017

Very good course and format, highly recommended!

By Kumail H A H

May 22, 2017

Excellent course! Prior exposure to Calculus (familiarity with a couple famous derivatives and integrals) is helpful, but you're sure to learn much more than that in this course. I have deepened my understanding of limits (not just the notion of a limit, but working out limits is now more intuitive to me) and stuff like l'hopital's rule seems logical now.

Starting with infinite series, with contrast to leaving it at the end, which is the standard in such courses, was brilliant!

Highly recommended!

By Jarrod K

Nov 11, 2016

Fantastic applied mathematics course for students interested in engineering. Extremely challenging but amazingly rewarding.

By Фесенко Г Е

May 20, 2017

Great course, thank you! Easy explanations for complecated math theorems is exactly what I wanted to see in online course.

By Sachin M V

Nov 01, 2016

Makes all basic clear

By 张柏豪

Oct 09, 2016

wonderful class, and i am looking forward to the next part.

By Lijia L

Feb 27, 2017

I like this course very much. Prof. Robert Ghrist is humorous, and the mentor is very helpful!

By Walter C G V

Sep 19, 2017

MUY BUEN CURSO EXCELENTE PRESENTACIÓN DE LA INFORMACIÓN PARA LAS EVALUACIONES.