Chevron Left
Back to Social Computing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Computing by University of California San Diego

4.4
742 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

People are social creatures and the modern Internet reflects that. Technology has made collaboration at a distance possible in new ways that present their own set of challenges. This course will introduce you to the major challenges and opportunities for creating online communities. What does the future hold? Learn how social computing can create collaboration experiences that go beyond what’s possible face to face....

Top reviews

ML

Mar 10, 2016

Really interesting course. Good introduction to the dynamics of group behavior and collaboration. Nice overview of advantages of crowdsourcing, but no mention of any ethical or economic concerns.

MI

Apr 08, 2017

Great course, very practical and a great pack of skills which will help me interpret problems better, especially ones involving multiple people (which is basically all problems.)

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 93 Reviews for Social Computing

By Kevin M

Dec 27, 2018

I don't think introduction needed to be stretched so long but it was good :)

By Giny C

Mar 31, 2019

Interesting course :)

By Will H

Feb 26, 2019

yeet

By Devin H

Aug 30, 2016

I loved learning more about social computation and the power of contributions by many people to reach a common design solution.

By Nivedita N

Jan 08, 2016

Very informational . I personally learnt a lot.

By Vaibhav M B

Feb 13, 2017

The course has very good material especially in terms of crowdsourcing. Gave me really good insights in social thinking and how to relate it to your product

By Wallace L

Aug 28, 2016

I learned a lot! :) thanks coursera and mentors!

By Oana D

Mar 17, 2016

relevant and useful

By Ingrida M

Sep 17, 2015

Amazing course with a lot of secrets about social computing from USA to other countries :)

By Zunaira E

Feb 15, 2017

This was an excellent primer on how social collaboration and crowdsourcing works. Gave a good understanding of the concepts involved when creating such platforms.

By Anastasia S

Mar 16, 2016

Great course. Do not forget to submit your work on time, otherwise you will not be graded.

By Tam N

Jun 24, 2018

very cool projects to exercise

By Adriana C

Mar 13, 2016

Very interesting topic!

By Juliana S

Nov 10, 2016

This course was very usable and important to know.

By Jean W

Mar 15, 2017

I enjoyed this course the most in the specialization so far. I think it could be awesome as a Part 1 and Part 2, or maybe you all could offer an Advanced Social Computing course. This is such an interesting topic, and it's a huge part of how new technologies are being incorporated into the way we collaborate in many areas of social and professional life.

By Emily A

Mar 15, 2016

I really enjoyed this class a lot! The assignments directly tested the weekly material and I thought they were useful activities. The end quiz was good to re-think the entire course and reflect on all of the material we learned.

By Sicong C

Jan 16, 2017

It is a great class. But I would like to see more examples and related learning material.

By Anuj M

May 07, 2017

This course is very interesting, informative and same time tough (not easy).

By Pablo P G

Mar 29, 2017

Excellent course, provides tools needed to design applications based on social networks

By Poamrong R

Feb 18, 2016

Great, awesome, wonderful.

By Jess C

Aug 30, 2016

Really enjoyed this course and found it very enlightening.

By Prakriti M

Mar 23, 2017

You will thank yourself for taking this course up. Assignments in this course are very well designed to give you a real experience. You have the best faulty here.

By Thomas L

Jul 11, 2017

This is a great course!

By yashar k s

Oct 04, 2016

Best Course

By Nina K

Apr 04, 2016

All the videos and assignments were interesting and informative, I am just not sure how relevant they were to the specialization.