Chevron Left
Back to Social Computing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Computing by University of California San Diego

4.4
738 ratings
98 reviews

About the Course

People are social creatures and the modern Internet reflects that. Technology has made collaboration at a distance possible in new ways that present their own set of challenges. This course will introduce you to the major challenges and opportunities for creating online communities. What does the future hold? Learn how social computing can create collaboration experiences that go beyond what’s possible face to face....

Top reviews

ML

Mar 10, 2016

Really interesting course. Good introduction to the dynamics of group behavior and collaboration. Nice overview of advantages of crowdsourcing, but no mention of any ethical or economic concerns.

MI

Apr 08, 2017

Great course, very practical and a great pack of skills which will help me interpret problems better, especially ones involving multiple people (which is basically all problems.)

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 91 Reviews for Social Computing

By Michael L

Mar 10, 2016

Really interesting course. Good introduction to the dynamics of group behavior and collaboration. Nice overview of advantages of crowdsourcing, but no mention of any ethical or economic concerns.

By Sergi B

Oct 26, 2017

Everything about the course is great - the concepts, the presentation of the concepts, the assignments and even the quiz.

By Oana D

Mar 17, 2016

relevant and useful

By Mikhil R

Sep 06, 2015

This is one of the most innovative courses that I have seen. It really helped in thinking out of box.

By Tamella H

Sep 19, 2017

This course will make you work and think more. Some assignment will be one whereas others will take a good amount of time. Make sure you go through the video couple times or take notes while the instructor is explaining.

By nancy g s

Aug 31, 2015

Great first lessons, I'll have started.

By Mikhail S

Feb 04, 2018

Good stuff!

By Ingrida M

Sep 17, 2015

Amazing course with a lot of secrets about social computing from USA to other countries :)

By Nivedita N

Jan 08, 2016

Very informational . I personally learnt a lot.

By Adriana C

Mar 13, 2016

Very interesting topic!

By Vaibhav M B

Feb 13, 2017

The course has very good material especially in terms of crowdsourcing. Gave me really good insights in social thinking and how to relate it to your product

By diego a

Oct 11, 2015

Excellent Course. I really like the explanation and the topics. I 've learned a lot

By Poamrong R

Feb 18, 2016

Great, awesome, wonderful.

By Jess C

Aug 30, 2016

Really enjoyed this course and found it very enlightening.

By Wallace L

Aug 28, 2016

I learned a lot! :) thanks coursera and mentors!

By Renee

Jan 10, 2018

Opening a new field of computing to me!

By Juliana S

Nov 10, 2016

This course was very usable and important to know.

By Jean W

Mar 15, 2017

I enjoyed this course the most in the specialization so far. I think it could be awesome as a Part 1 and Part 2, or maybe you all could offer an Advanced Social Computing course. This is such an interesting topic, and it's a huge part of how new technologies are being incorporated into the way we collaborate in many areas of social and professional life.

By Aram Y

May 02, 2017

I had awesome experience while studying a t this course. Must-attend in case you are interested in society psychology

By Anastasia S

Mar 16, 2016

Great course. Do not forget to submit your work on time, otherwise you will not be graded.

By Alfredo H

Aug 26, 2018

excellent course about understanding Social interaction

By Jared G

Jan 22, 2019

My least favorite of the group so far as it spends a bit too much time on crowd sourcing and was missing the latest industry powerhouse topics like Slack.

By Shahar E

Mar 05, 2019

Started off strong, but is missing the key aspects of social networks and how to integrate their prevalence into our designs.

By Raluca M

Mar 28, 2019

Felt a bit light and not necessary, but it was good info still. Took pleasure in it and actually enjoyed the easy homework.

By Santiago B

Jan 14, 2019

Handy information