Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,252 ratings
2,418 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
Aug 21, 2020

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,406 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Rafael T M

Mar 1, 2020

Muy buen curso para empezar a tocar SQL. Tanto las pruebas intermedias como la final te ponen contra las cuerdas y te obliga a utilizar casi todo lo aprendido. Si no has programado nunca o empezaste y lo dejaste te aconsejo tener algo de paciencia para completarlo. Entender cada video y cada paso que das. Sin lugar a dudas escogeré el siguiente curso.

By Sadya S

May 8, 2020

The concepts in this course are explained very well and are very descriptive. They are taught step by step and she also gives an explanation as to why we use these concepts and why theyre important. I was able to delve deeper into SQL and was able to acquire the basics in order to solve real life SQL problems. She is one of my favourite instructors!

By Panumate C

Dec 10, 2020

Good points: Provide the knowledge from zero, Always clarify the learning objectives, Good assignments and grading system, and Final assignment with peer-reviewed system is cool!

Weak points: The number of examples is not enough, Should have a pointer on the screen to make the learner understand more easily

Overall, Impressive!

Thank you very much

By Kanak K

Nov 6, 2020

Great course for anyone who wishes to understand how SQL works with relevance to data science. This course will set you up for advanced data mining using SQL. The topics covered in this course are sufficient for understanding a proper working of SQL. Other than that , you will have to practice to get good at it.

But overall great course. Kudos.

By Rainer K

Oct 30, 2019

Even though this course is aimed at beginners, the assignments encourages a person to do some additional research. This simulates how a person should continually research and explore to enhance one's knowledge and experience. The final peer graded assignment was fun. Make sure you allow enough time to spend on it and you will reap the rewards.

By Antony L

Jul 25, 2018

Really great introductory course to SQL. I highly recommend taking this course for those who have little to no experience with SQL. All of the course work and material was easy to comprehend and very digestible. In addition, the quizzes and assignments were great supplemental exercises to reinforce the concepts that were taught in the course.

By Muhammad B J

Sep 7, 2020

Today in the morning at 7:00AM EDT I was so happy that I can't imagine, Sadie made me positive and passionate in my career. Because of her, I can now achieve my dream to become a data scientist and learn more and do good in life. Hopefull! This is the best course of SQL hands down! I failed many interviews but now I am sure I will pass it.

By Dalya B

Jul 12, 2020

I really enjoyed the course as per the content and the review questions at the end of each week! I have learnt a lot to build on and can't wait to practice SQL and use it in my work. I totally recommend it to anyone who needs flexible hours to learn how to deals with big data and to learn how to retrieve and be tidy with the data in hand.

By Mahmoud H

Apr 7, 2021

One of my favorite courses on SQL so far. I would definitely recommend it for beginners as well as those who want to brush and broaden their knowledge in databases and query optimization. The instructor is highly knowledgeable and very well articulated. I have enjoyed the course so much because of the clear presentations and explanations.

By Tang E

Jul 18, 2019

The course is simple and clear for a beginner. The slides,video and notes are helpful and it guides me slowly to understand different SQL syntax and its applications. The quiz and assignment are really good platform to practice all the knowledge i learnt from those 4 courses. Lovely! Highly recommend to others who never learn SQL before.

By Sumana K

Apr 12, 2020

The course was well explained. I struggled a bit with some topics like combining multiple joins and subqueries. A few additional examples in the form of a case study might have helped understand the concepts a bit easier.

The quizzes , projects were all good practice making us think and apply the knowledge we gained.

Thank you.

By Jessica C

Nov 2, 2020

This course was my first experience with this type of learning and it went so far above and beyond my expectations. Sadie is an excellent teacher and I found the course very easy to follow and interesting. I feel that I learned a lot in a short time and would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to learn SQL.

By Ben S

May 10, 2018

Great course. Final project needs some work and this course will be top notch!! For the project, it would be great if we could port the data into R or Python and do some sort of basic analysis of it. Would make it more interesting. I like the separate coding and concepts quizzes. The teacher is amazing and upbeat!

By Yoshimi K

Jul 21, 2019

Good introduction to learning SQL, data science best practices, and tools to continue developing this skillset. The lessons and quizzes are well-organized and easy to follow, as well as give good food-for-thought questions to get the problem solving gears going. Would recommend to anyone getting into learning SQL.

By VINAYAK G

Mar 26, 2020

The lectures videos are the right size. Assignments are too simple at times. Final peer-review assignment was decent difficulty and allows for a lot of involvement; it also introduces you to data analysis in a structured manner. Liked the course very much. I'd recommend it to beginners in SQL and/or data science.

By Amir T

Feb 26, 2019

I liked the way the material necessary for data analysis was presented and organized. I think there could be a bit more difficult exercises during the course to prepare learners better for final project and give them better idea what is expected in real world.

Overall, it was awesome and well designed. Thank You.

By Cedric T

Jul 25, 2019

Dear teachers I thank you for this course because I took this course to understand the analysis of data sql data science and also to get ahead in my job and especially what I appreciated is the course methodology and homework flexibility that allows the learner to succeed and master. Thank you and see you soon.

By ANUP S

Jan 6, 2019

Absolutely wonderful course. For someone who knew absolutely nothing about using SQL, this course has helped me to understand SQL coding and more importantly understand the logic behind trying to attain the desired result. Would absolutely recommend this course for anyone interested in a career in data science.

By Nidhi V S

Apr 16, 2020

This is a brilliantly designed course. I was a novice in the field of data science when I started this course but now at the end, I have learned a lot. The course was easy to follow and the in-course assignments helped me practice the application of SQL. I am confident in my skills as a data scientist.

By Srishti S

Jul 11, 2020

The instructor was very good in teaching various aspects of Data Science. She was very knowledgeable regarding the course. Also, easy queries were maintained to solve the real-world problem as well. This course has helped me in upgrade my skill in the field in which I am the most interested. Thank you.

By Deshani D A

Nov 30, 2020

This course if very well organized. Our instructor explain very complex theories in a simple manner in which a person with a very less knowledge can apply. The quizzes are also designed such that the learner gets a full understanding on what's going on. I am very happy that I chose to do this course.

By MARIO E M

Nov 23, 2020

The Best key tool for learners to build and develop a successful career!Thank you University of California, Davis and Coursera for this amazing course opportunity, and a Special thanks as well for Sadie St. Lawrence and her unique combination of technical expertise and analytics management experience!

By Antonio M

Dec 29, 2018

This course provides me the basic techniques to jump into the electronic medical records and start to code queries and provides reports to Clinical and Research Management. The test are intense and the final project is a real challenge. The good news is I learned to code as a beginner SQL programmer.

By David L

Aug 23, 2020

Well structured and covers the basics of SQL queries. One thing that could be added is a guide explaining some of the different software the is available for running queries locally, rather than through the web page portal that the course offers. Otherwise the course was an excellent introduction.

By Yossakorn K

Jun 13, 2020

I ever thought the programming languages were difficult to understand even a basic one like SQL. But after I enrolled this cause it changes my mind a lot. It's not really hard whether you pay intention and apply good tips from the instructor. Hopefully, It's my first step for continuing this kind.