Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,824 ratings
2,548 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
Aug 21, 2020

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,539 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Maxim V

Apr 5, 2020

This course is very good as an introductory one is SQL. The instructor explains everything very clearly, whereas quizzes, coding assignments, and the final project are very helpful in order to apply the skills you've learned watching videos.

By Javier G

Jan 19, 2020

Very useful course. The videos are short so they don't need much effort to finish. They are easy to understand and well explained. The girl talks very fluency and slowly so it's easy to understand and also she is pretty so it´s nice to see.

By Haijing

Oct 14, 2018

This course starts from core concepts and easy coding. Provided with comprehensive practices and good resources recommendation. I like the instructor very much. She can speaks clearly every concept and usage of SQL commend. Highly recommend

By Kevlin

Apr 19, 2020

A very good course for them who are new to datascience and SQL. Course divided into modules was very helpful. Pace of course was evenly distributed throughout the course. Only problem with the course was few more problems can be discussed.

By Jovin K

Jul 15, 2020

This course is simple and easy to understand the basics of SQL and its effect on Data-Science.It was a good course and i have gained a lot of insights on the power of SQL in Data-Science.Thank you Coursera for this wonderful oppurtunity.

By Divya M

Jul 7, 2020

This is an excellent course to get started with SQL.The concepts are explained in a step by step manner and explanations are clear too.Also there is good amount of coding practice given that helps a lot to get familiar around syntax .

By Robert B

Jan 23, 2020

This was a really great course that provided good instructional material, opportunities and recommendations of additional research, and good hands on exercises. First Coursera course for me and I would certainly recommend this to others.

By Michael B

Mar 26, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much. There are a few issues that need to be addressed, but if you can overlook her occasional stumbles, she is effective and entertaining and the material was engaging and held my interests which is NOT easy.

By Adem Y

Aug 23, 2020

Overall best introduction and practice of SQL for Data Science, well structured, and easy to understand along with some good quality tests to practice what you have learned. You should give it a try, I promise you won't regret doing it.

By Jonathan R

Apr 25, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot of fundamentals. There are some gaps about notation and an occasional unclear question that would most likely be addressed in a live class. Otherwise, this format worked well for this information.

By Yuda B

Apr 6, 2021

It's amazing. And the last assignment was very challenging. We create a query to support the data analyze process. And we also have chance to see other participant work on it. It' a great experience. Thank you for running this course.

By Aura d l E R A

Aug 26, 2020

Very good course! All the material, exercises and explanations were simple and easy to understand, but the final assignment was a bit more challenging which allowed me to reinforce what I had learnt throughout the course. Recommended!

By NISHANT K A

May 16, 2020

course is perfectly designed and focused more on some theoretical concepts in deep.

overall its a great course for beginners.The assignments are quiz were very helpful in understanding the concepts and proper implementation of syntax..

By Suchitra M

May 17, 2020

The course was taught very well. Throughout the course lot of tips and helpful links were provided. The questions in all the assignments were very challenging and interesting to solve. Recommended for everyone who wants to learn SQL.

By Azhan A

Aug 31, 2018

I would recommend this course to everyone who has almost no knowledge of SQL except for the name SQL. This course taught me about everything. I don't know about advanced level but for the basics , this is enough and this is the best.

By Antonis A

Sep 21, 2020

Very usefull course for someone who wants to get in touch with SQL. The fundamentals that are explained are very important in the Databases industry and I can say that this course contains some advanced challenges for the students.

By Vinesh A

Jun 12, 2020

Course content was very useful for SQL Beginner and intermediate. This SQL course covers all the basics of SQL code. User can easily create queries through this content to get the data as per his requirement. Recommended course.

By Jennifer M

Feb 24, 2020

Great class for a beginner with no SQL experience. I had already taken another SQL for beginners online class but got MUCH more out of this one. The instructor did a great job with starting with the basics and building upon them.

By Summer M

Apr 9, 2018

Great introduction to SQL- I knew nothing about the programming language prior and have minimal experience with writing code. The course was easy to understand and had great practice examples in the quizzes. 10 out of 10 recommend.

By Ruchitha G

Nov 6, 2019

Its a very clearly explained information that i received from this course that made me want to pursue data science. I'm going to take up projects and look for internships since i ve learnt enough to know this is something id enjoy

By Daren C

May 4, 2018

This is a great learning experience. Although I have learned Database System Concept during my undergraduate course, this course taught me something new and novel. This is my first course in coursera. Hopefully I can work harder.

By ABDUL R

Mar 5, 2019

Best thing about this course is that its syllabus starts with fundamentals of SQL and covered most of the concept of SQL. By completing this course you will be able to write data queries according to client or your requirement.

By KÜBRA T

Jan 3, 2021

I find it very good to start SQL training. I was an absolute beginner and with a very lot of exercises, I believe that I covered a great foundation. Now it's time to continue building some more. I highly recommend this course.

By Ahmed M K M

Dec 3, 2020

I was so weak applying my sql knowledge before taking this course, but this course made me write many sql query which made me after that very confident enough to write sql query on my own.

Thank you so much for your support <3

By Olorunfemi T

Nov 30, 2020

A really good introduction to SQLite. Easy to understand but it would have been better if while the examples (codes) were displayed, there is a corresponding database so people can practice what they see and understand better.