Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Inference

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
3,491 ratings
676 reviews

About the Course

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Top reviews

JA

Oct 26, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

AP

Mar 22, 2017

The strategy for model selection in multivariate environment should have been explained with an example. This will make the model selection process, interaction and its interpretation more clear.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 645 Reviews for Statistical Inference

By Shashwat K

Sep 11, 2018

good course

By Ajendra S

Aug 29, 2018

It was a good course to go through. I have learned concepts of random variables and hypothesis testing.

By Sirsendu S

Aug 30, 2018

must take course

By Amr h m s

Aug 19, 2018

perfect course

By Elmer P

Aug 19, 2018

Solid on statistics, which I think is very relevant in Data Science and Research.

By Pankaj K

Oct 16, 2018

This course covers the very basics of statistical inference which will help to strengthen your base concept. I loved doing the course especially the practice assignments on swirl.

Thanks.

By SAMA V N N

Oct 15, 2018

it is very helpful for me to solve the statistical problems by applications

Thank you COURSERA

By Jacob A

Oct 26, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

By amit p

Oct 04, 2018

This course is one of the most difficult to comprehend, particularly if one does not have any prior knowledge of statistics and probability. But Swirl package of Statistical Inference helps a lot and is a good heuristic approach to learn.

P.S. I would recommend to read this lecture along with any textbook. I referred Probability and Statistics (Schaum Series).

By Hisham E M

Oct 04, 2018

Good Course

By Raunak S

Nov 01, 2018

nice course before digging deeper into Data Science advanced topics.

By Terry L J

Nov 02, 2018

Good material and presentation!

By Akshay A

Nov 01, 2018

Could be more interactive

By Vijay B

Nov 02, 2018

More practical exercises with R (like a pre-exam of examples with exercices) would give more opportunities to practice and understand the matter (R implementation).

By Praveen k

Nov 11, 2018

Good course to know the math behind inferential techniques !

By David R

Nov 12, 2018

Great refresher on stats and how to carry out tests in R...lots of useful examples

By Bojan B

Oct 14, 2018

Great course with great materials. Easy to understand and to learn.

By Adham A

Sep 18, 2018

I learned a lot!

By Siria S A

Aug 23, 2018

I am very very happy for complete this course I learned a lot!!

By SagarSrinivas

Sep 11, 2017

Its too good for getting exited!.

By Matti N

Dec 10, 2017

After many years had passed since my last encounter with statistics this course proved to be quite some work to complete. Nevertheless, still a great course and definitely worth your while.

By Changkeun K

Aug 23, 2017

it's really helpful.

By João F

May 14, 2018

Very intensive and demanding course with interesting examples. Students without previous knowledge in statistics will likely need additional resources to complete the course.

By Luis M M R

Apr 03, 2018

very good

By Javier E S

Jun 18, 2018

Excellent course.