Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Inference

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
3,497 ratings
678 reviews

About the Course

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Top reviews

JA

Oct 26, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

AP

Mar 22, 2017

The strategy for model selection in multivariate environment should have been explained with an example. This will make the model selection process, interaction and its interpretation more clear.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 646 Reviews for Statistical Inference

By Marc T

Apr 01, 2019

Not only did this course help me to understand concepts that I have encountered in my job over the length of my career, but it also introduced me to using R Markdown, which will come in handy for future projects.

By Tarek L

Dec 13, 2018

Dr Brian DeCaffo is a talented and forward thinking educator. The amount of supplementary material he brings to the course is a bountiful bonus that really helped me grasp concepts. One of the best courses I've taken on Coursera.

By Zhuang W

Jul 16, 2018

This class is extremely useful as it gives me a solid basis of the statistical concepts that will be used in the course later.

By Greg A

Feb 22, 2018

Very good course, but definitely a challenge. There is no shame in watching some of these lectures multiple times. I would recommend taking all of these quizzes until you can get 100%. It will help you out a lot in the regression and machine learning

By Tine M

Mar 02, 2018

The course was at times difficult, I found that extra research was needed to fully understand what was going on. The extra questions related to the homework questions are a great way to test your understanding of the class.

By sneha

Jul 02, 2018

best course to learn and understand deeply about statistical inference thank you Mr Jeff for giving everyone opportunity to learn this course

By Angela W

Oct 19, 2017

I really liked this course, especially the course project at the end - the second part felt like (a really simplified version of) a task one might actually have to do as a data scientist, and I liked that through this course and the previous ones, I knew exactly what I had to do. The course itself is pretty mathematical and I think intellectually the most challenging so far, especially since it's a lot of content for 4 weeks.

By WANG H

Nov 11, 2017

Excellent course! Thanks!

By Maliheh S

Sep 17, 2017

The best course I've taken in Data Science Specialization.

Thanks Professor Caffo!

By Léa F

Nov 10, 2017

Thank you Brian !!! I learned a lot of things in a very short amount of time :)

By Reza K

Jan 02, 2018

Nice Course.

By Keidzh S

May 16, 2018

Everything absolutely amazing. Sometimes there were some troubles with audio files, but I think it doesn't affect on the course. Because I have no trouble with understanding. Thank you to al masters!

By Anil G

May 14, 2018

Provide deep knowledge on inference statistics,

By Erich F G

Feb 11, 2018

OUTSTANDING CLASS

By T, K

Jul 04, 2018

Good Course for Data science.

By Harland H

Jul 03, 2018

Great course. Difficult concepts, but the lectures and quizzes make it easy to learn.

By Eduardo v

Mar 14, 2018

fantastic course ! Truly recomend

By Arun V K

Oct 27, 2017

Can improve the intonation and content delivery. sentences are too complex to comprehend and lost motivation to complete the course some times,

By Maggie L

Aug 21, 2017

Week 4 lessons are most useful

By SagarSrinivas

Sep 11, 2017

Its too good for getting exited!.

By Luis M M R

Apr 03, 2018

very good

By Roland P

Dec 20, 2017

Though but worth while

By Matti N

Dec 10, 2017

After many years had passed since my last encounter with statistics this course proved to be quite some work to complete. Nevertheless, still a great course and definitely worth your while.

By Changkeun K

Aug 23, 2017

it's really helpful.

By João F

May 14, 2018

Very intensive and demanding course with interesting examples. Students without previous knowledge in statistics will likely need additional resources to complete the course.