Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Inference

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
4,248 ratings
856 reviews

About the Course

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Top reviews

JA
Oct 25, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

MI
Sep 24, 2020

the teachers were awesome in this course. I liked this course a lot.Understood it properly.Thanks to all the beloved teachers and mentors who toiled hard to make these course easy to handle.Gracious!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 823 Reviews for Statistical Inference

By Filipe M d L

Sep 13, 2020

I already had this course in my university, and this course helped me a lot to understand some concepts that I didn't fully understand in that course.

By Daniel H

Jan 17, 2021

Excelente curso, fue muy útil para mi porque me abrió la mente con respecto a la utilidad de la inferencia estadística y sus aplicaciones en la vida.

By Nathan M

Jun 11, 2016

Great class; very informative! I was surprised to see that Brian mentioned the Central Limit Theorem; he definitely knows what he is talking about.

By Hua S

Nov 22, 2020

I learned this course two years ago and now I'm coming back to retake again, this type of knowledge never expires! Please don't remove this course!

By Gayathri N

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent material and illustrations by Brian Caffo. definitely enjoyed it, though mastery will be possible only if I keep refreshing my basics

By Arun V K

Oct 27, 2017

Can improve the intonation and content delivery. sentences are too complex to comprehend and lost motivation to complete the course some times,

By Rumian R

Aug 23, 2020

Worth taking twice. These are rudimentary concepts that even seasoned statisticians need to keep in the forefront of their mind at all times.

By sneha

Jul 2, 2018

best course to learn and understand deeply about statistical inference thank you Mr Jeff for giving everyone opportunity to learn this course

By Andrey V

Mar 10, 2017

Statistical inference is one of the most useful things in data analysis.

It was very interesting and useful course!!! Many thanks to authors!

By Pavel T

Jan 23, 2017

This course is exciting opportunity to "connect the dots" in introductory statistics. It is challenging, but very informative and engaging.

By Joonas S

May 29, 2017

Really good course when combined with the e-book and exercises in that. Gives a really solid foundation for modelling at later stages.

By Joaquin T

Jun 17, 2017

Extremely important subject within the specialization. Instructor is precise and articulate in his excellent delivery of the material.

By Daniel L

Jul 25, 2020

Such a grate course, definitively not easy for people starting with statistics, but overall the concepts explained are really clear.

By Vamsee A

May 3, 2016

An Excellently conceived course with good content and a competitively efficient evaluation components viz., assignments and quizzes.

By Hang D

Dec 24, 2020

Excellent course with concise material and easy to understand lectures. Swirl package is wonderful tool for learning ang reviewing.

By Juan P L R

Oct 26, 2020

Great course for statistical inference with R. It comprehends from the basic concept to more advanced topics. Strongly recommended.

By Jun L

Sep 30, 2020

Covered a lot of the ground in short time. Combination of exercises, quizzes, and project filled out the content experientially.

By Candida B

Apr 29, 2020

The course was fantastic! The class are very understandable with a lot of practical exercises!

I completely recommend this course!

By Lan D

Feb 17, 2016

I love your lectures so much, I understood much better than what it's used to be for statistics, it's funny as well, thank you.

By Chaity G

Nov 15, 2020

The course is very detail oriented. I have learned so many things from this course by doing the assignments. Than you coursera.

By Jeremy J

Nov 12, 2016

I really like the use of media by this professor. The class itself is far more analytical and work than the preceding classes.

By Surya P T

Nov 27, 2018

Outstanding course.Thanks Coursera for providing such a good platform wherein we can attend courses of top instructor/College.

By Zhuang W

Jul 16, 2018

This class is extremely useful as it gives me a solid basis of the statistical concepts that will be used in the course later.

By Adam R

Oct 12, 2017

Well done course. Relevant and useful material. I've taken 6 college level statistics courses and still learned new things.

By Sabitabrata M

Jan 15, 2017

The course should be more elaborated. I had to go through other reference books on statistics to understand all the topics.