Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Inference

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
3,482 ratings
674 reviews

About the Course

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Top reviews

JA

Oct 26, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

AP

Mar 22, 2017

The strategy for model selection in multivariate environment should have been explained with an example. This will make the model selection process, interaction and its interpretation more clear.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 643 Reviews for Statistical Inference

By Coral P

Jul 04, 2017

The qns do test understanding

By Maggie L

Aug 21, 2017

Week 4 lessons are most useful

By Maliheh S

Sep 17, 2017

The best course I've taken in Data Science Specialization.

Thanks Professor Caffo!

By Léa F

Nov 10, 2017

Thank you Brian !!! I learned a lot of things in a very short amount of time :)

By Angela W

Oct 19, 2017

I really liked this course, especially the course project at the end - the second part felt like (a really simplified version of) a task one might actually have to do as a data scientist, and I liked that through this course and the previous ones, I knew exactly what I had to do. The course itself is pretty mathematical and I think intellectually the most challenging so far, especially since it's a lot of content for 4 weeks.

By WANG H

Nov 11, 2017

Excellent course! Thanks!

By Arun V K

Oct 27, 2017

Can improve the intonation and content delivery. sentences are too complex to comprehend and lost motivation to complete the course some times,

By Manuel C

May 31, 2017

recommended!

By Joseph M

Dec 04, 2015

This is an excellent course for anyone who needs a better understanding of statistics and that includes all professions that deal with quantitative data. It helps you become a better citizen by helping you decide when something is mere chance and when mere chance would not explain the events.

By Leandro

Jul 15, 2017

This is exactly the course I was looking for. Great job guys!

By Lucia F M

Jul 17, 2017

Awesome course if you need to understand the theory behind the statistical test you keep reading in scientific articles, if you wanna get the basis with which to learn more complicated regressions models, or if you have studied statistics before and forgotten most if it !

By Illich M

Jun 16, 2017

This is a tough course! I had to take it multiple times to understand it.

By Noelia O F

Jul 19, 2016

Great course!

By Edith

Jun 23, 2016

Great course! I learnt a lot! And it even was fun.

By Owais M

Nov 15, 2017

Nice course! focussing mostly on hypothesis testing and p-values.

By Sebastian R

Sep 19, 2017

Great intro to statistical inference. Also, the materials are awesome

By BALSHER S

Feb 03, 2017

This is a good course to set up for further learning. One gets exposure to topics in intro and intermediate statistic and starts to grasp how intricate the web of statistics it all the while the focus is on Hypothesis testing which is one cornerstones of statistics.

By Jose A R N

Mar 31, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Science and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

By E. M

Apr 24, 2016

Wow!

By Felipe L

Jan 16, 2016

Very effective review! but quizzes were not challenging enough to test the concepts taught in the class

By Arushi A

Dec 05, 2017

Amazing course content and assignments for practical application

By Irene R

Feb 03, 2018

Great course! I learned a lot

By Iñaki O

Jul 03, 2018

Nice course, with very practical approach.

By Diego N

Mar 26, 2017

Excellent course to get up to speed on important statistics concepts

By Rodney A J

Jul 30, 2017

This was a great course.