Chevron Left
Back to Improving your statistical inferences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving your statistical inferences by Eindhoven University of Technology

4.9
stars
692 ratings
226 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 30.000 learners have enrolled so far! If you enjoyed this course, I can recommend following it up with me new course "Improving Your Statistical Questions"...

Top reviews

MS
May 13, 2021

Eye opening course. My first introduction to some of the issues surrounding p-values as well as how to better utilize them and what they truly represent. My first introduction to effect sizes as well.

PP
Jun 28, 2020

Excellent explanations. Strong examples. Helpful exercises. Highly recommended for anyone who ever has to conduct inferential statistics or read anything that reports a p value or bayes factor.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 225 Reviews for Improving your statistical inferences

By John B

Jul 17, 2018

very well organised course and deepens understanding. Excellent resources provided also, e.g. books and papers.

By Davide F S

May 21, 2017

Clear, concise, and engaging explanation of many statistical concepts that can be readily applied in research.

By Amy M

Nov 2, 2016

Great lectures and really helpful simulations. Very engaging and interesting. Full of useful resources.

By Lydia A G

May 28, 2020

Highly recommendable course. It puts clarity from the most basic concepts to some other new insights.

By Sandra V

Dec 10, 2016

Extremely useful cours, especially the first 5 weeks! Pleasant and enjoyable. Definitely recommended!

By Fengyuan L

Jul 31, 2020

excellent course. It solves lots of my question over the p value as well as the statistic analysis.

By Habiba A

Dec 29, 2016

Easy to follow, light workload, and most importantly: very useful material of supreme importance.

By Thijs

Aug 14, 2019

Great course. Already had some knowledge about statistics, but this course really improved it.

By Rahul P S

Sep 21, 2021

The instructor has explained fine details in statistical inferences. Very informative course.

By Cezar D S d S

May 28, 2021

Awesome course! I've had amost given up on learning this topic. Thanks for renewing my faith

By Mr. J

Feb 24, 2020

Superbly Done synopsis of statistical gotchas and best practice against them. Very Valauble.

By Morio C

Jan 2, 2020

Great course, clear and helpful. I will definitely recommend it to colleagues and students.

By Jose M S

Jun 17, 2017

Quite interesting and well structured. The contents of this course deserve a wide audience.

By Tamires M

Nov 30, 2020

I never thought I would say that about statistics, but: It was fun! Thank you Dr. Lakens!

By Patrick H

Aug 10, 2020

This course should be taken by any psychologist (and actually anyone who does statistics)

By Eva D P

Jan 23, 2017

Probably the best stats course I've ever taken (and also the most fun and enlightening)!

By Carlo D V

Aug 21, 2020

This course was very useful. I recommend it to anyone who wants to deepen these topics.

By Sergey L

Jan 1, 2020

The course is full of useful insights and practices. I can definitely recommend it!

By Gerald R

Sep 2, 2017

a very thoughtful introduction to the different approaches of statistical reasoning

By Aviv E

Jul 17, 2017

Great course, lots of new tools and materials that really helped me in my study.

By ABBAS S

Mar 21, 2021

This great course changed my knowledge about researching methods significantly.

By Linda

Sep 16, 2020

very well presented by D. Lakens. It was a difficult course but very rewarding.

By Richard M

Jan 22, 2019

Great course. A lot of topics introduced and explored. Well worth the time.

By Bertin

Nov 17, 2018

This course is amazing, dynamic and entertaining. Daniel Lakens is brilliant.

By Robert H

Oct 1, 2019

Excellent—an absolute must for all PhD students and early-career researchers