Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations by École normale supérieure

4.8
189 ratings
63 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn a whole lot of modern physics (classical and quantum) from basic computer programs that you will download, generalize, or write from scratch, discuss, and then hand in. Join in if you are curious (but not necessarily knowledgeable) about algorithms, and about the deep insights into science that you can obtain by the algorithmic approach....

Top reviews

KL

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent and enthusiastic lectures and tutorials covering a number of topics. Much of the learning took place in the assignments where the concepts were applied and various points were illustrated.

YR

Mar 18, 2017

I really like this course also I am only confused by my knowledge in computing because this course is very high rated in sense of detailed explanation and easy to follow through difficult themes.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 61 Reviews for Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations

By jadoul m

Nov 02, 2018

One of the three best MOOCs I have seen.

By Kunal L

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent and enthusiastic lectures and tutorials covering a number of topics. Much of the learning took place in the assignments where the concepts were applied and various points were illustrated.

By Ahmad M

Jan 31, 2019

i love this course, but most codes were not properly explained and rather difficult to tweak.

By Marcus S

Mar 27, 2017

Nice but demanding course. No course certficate is available after passing the course...

By Wan-Yi W

Aug 25, 2018

Very helpful to me.

By Le Q L

Aug 29, 2018

A good course in introducing statistical mechanics concept with programming! If there are other advanced courses, I'm willing to take!

By Kwan-Yuet H

Aug 23, 2018

Highly recommended. Old subjects with new technology!

By Gavin C

Aug 16, 2016

An exceptionally brilliant course.

Exceptionnel. Nutzlich. Speciale.

By JeRuiChang

Oct 22, 2016

great and succinct course

By Volodymyr S

Jun 18, 2016

Brilliant course, lots of advanced material, pretty much exceptional way of teaching. The difficulty is just right. Appreciate the effort of the team.

By 霍永学

Mar 25, 2018

So awesome! This is a marvelous course!

By Marcio G

Aug 17, 2016

Curso excelente! professores são bastante didáticos. Parabéns professores pela iniciativa em proporcionar um curso desse nível online.

By Philippe S

Apr 29, 2017

I learned a bunch of things, thank you very much.

By Jiting T (

Sep 09, 2017

This is a graduate or advanced undergraduate level class on statistical physics, focusing on the computational tools (MC and MD). The materials are organized very well and the concepts are illustrated in a clear way. A lot of Python examples are provided to help students master the contents. The homework and exam is not hard, as most of the code is already present by the teachers, and students only need to fill the blank or do a little changes. It's not difficult to go through this course and pass the exam, but it's truly difficult to deeply understand all the materials. Although, for the guys who love statistical mechanics, this course deserve your effects.

By Siddhartha S

Oct 24, 2016

Awesome course for anyone aspiring to learn Statistical mechanics. The problems treated are far from trivial. Instruction and course material is very good

By Lifeng H

Jan 15, 2017

great course. wish could cover more physics

By Mateo R

Aug 02, 2017

Great course, very nice material and supremely interesting assignments. It takes some work to go through the homeworks but it is totally worth it. Great overall course!

By Do H L

Apr 08, 2016

This course is superbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb!

By Jianfei X

Aug 21, 2016

a great course!

By Xu H

Sep 15, 2017

It helps deepen my understanding about Mont Carlo. I had a lot of fun in programing and reading codes or opinions from other students. Our lovely teachers are humorous. They even prepared a big Party at the end of this course XD. hf gl

By César A L

Dec 22, 2017

You will learn not only the theory about how to solve differente many body problems, but you will laso will adquire the hability to ptogram the solutions for any incoming value in almost any related problem

the best statiscal mechanics course i've taken in my whole live. I also bought the book by Werner, it's very well written

By Ning A

Jan 10, 2017

I learned a lot from all kinds of algorithms that I heard of, but never had the chance to get the clarifications.

By Le Y

Mar 30, 2016

Deepen my trust in Monte-Carlo and Markov Chain Monte-Carlo simulation --- exact mimic their analytical counterpart.

Also get the chance to touch the spirit of Quantum Mechanics.

By Sirui L

Sep 12, 2016

Perfect Course!

By Marcelo S

Aug 23, 2016

The course is excellent. Great quality of supplied material, teachers and assignments. I rate it on the fact that I was able to follow it and learn quite a lot on a subject that is far from easy, and I'm pleased with the results.

The only issue / recommendation I can point out : The course is not very specific on the needed background. As an example, I took this course being an engineer with a decent understanding of maths, a less-decent understanding of physics (almost no quantum physics background), and experience with python programming: in my case, it required a lot of effort in order to follow some of the chapters (specially the ones focused in quantum physics), and normally always more than the normal 8 hs/week. I recommend the student to have some background on probability theory / functions and python programming so as to follow easier, and expect some difficulty in fully understanding some of the subjects. I still rate it 5 stars.