Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations by École normale supérieure

4.8
stars
251 ratings
84 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn a whole lot of modern physics (classical and quantum) from basic computer programs that you will download, generalize, or write from scratch, discuss, and then hand in. Join in if you are curious (but not necessarily knowledgeable) about algorithms, and about the deep insights into science that you can obtain by the algorithmic approach....

Top reviews

SB
Aug 27, 2020

This is a really good course for the introduction of computational methods in statistical physics. Quite a few topics are covered and very subtle and efficient algorithms are developed and discussed.

KL
Sep 22, 2017

Excellent and enthusiastic lectures and tutorials covering a number of topics. Much of the learning took place in the assignments where the concepts were applied and various points were illustrated.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 82 Reviews for Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations

By subham b

Aug 28, 2020

This is a really good course for the introduction of computational methods in statistical physics. Quite a few topics are covered and very subtle and efficient algorithms are developed and discussed.

By Le Y

Mar 30, 2016

Deepen my trust in Monte-Carlo and Markov Chain Monte-Carlo simulation --- exact mimic their analytical counterpart.

Also get the chance to touch the spirit of Quantum Mechanics.

By Matt R

Aug 2, 2017

Great course, very nice material and supremely interesting assignments. It takes some work to go through the homeworks but it is totally worth it. Great overall course!

By Bingyu Z

May 29, 2016

The course is self-contained. Very good for people even if they are not physicist. They can still learn a lot about computational methods that are useful in many ways.

By Christian

May 24, 2020

High quality, very well explained, but if you are like me, a non-physicist mainly interested in the statistical part, you might get slightly lost at times...

By Siddhartha S

Oct 23, 2016

Awesome course for anyone aspiring to learn Statistical mechanics. The problems treated are far from trivial. Instruction and course material is very good

By Volodymyr S

Jun 18, 2016

Brilliant course, lots of advanced material, pretty much exceptional way of teaching. The difficulty is just right. Appreciate the effort of the team.

By Le Q L

Aug 29, 2018

A good course in introducing statistical mechanics concept with programming! If there are other advanced courses, I'm willing to take!

By Márcio G d S

Aug 17, 2016

Curso excelente! professores são bastante didáticos. Parabéns professores pela iniciativa em proporcionar um curso desse nível online.

By Ayan R

Aug 25, 2021

This course had very engaging assignments and very insightful algorithms to learn! Enjoyed the rigour and the learning of the course!

By Aom S

Jun 3, 2020

Really challenging course but super informative. Highly recommend for those who want to be a master in Monte Carlo method

By Ning A

Jan 10, 2017

I learned a lot from all kinds of algorithms that I heard of, but never had the chance to get the clarifications.

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2016

This course was awesome! Although, I can tell I'll need another pass at it to understand things more fully...

By Tim B

Oct 24, 2017

Some of the lessons are very difficult, but if you persevere, it's very rewarding.

By José J B d M

Apr 8, 2018

It was a very interesting course, both for having a look on Statistical Mechanic

By Constantin J

Dec 2, 2016

Je viens de terminer l'initiation. Rien à redire. Cours propre et accessible.

By Efren S

Mar 9, 2018

Most useful course I've had a quite some time. Thank you Monsieur Krauth!

By Philipp K

Aug 7, 2016

Really good course. Thanks for all that work you put in the lectures.

By Deleted A

Aug 16, 2016

An exceptionally brilliant course.

Exceptionnel. Nutzlich. Speciale.

By David G

May 2, 2021

A very interesting course with a lot of hands-on examples!

By Nicolas B

Mar 23, 2016

Not one of the easiest courses, but extremely interesting!

By Akash K

Nov 25, 2020

Excellent course to statistical mechanics for Physics

By Kwan-Yuet H

Aug 23, 2018

Highly recommended. Old subjects with new technology!

By shifan

Oct 14, 2016

Excellent online lecture, the best I have ever taken.

By Philippe S

Apr 29, 2017

I learned a bunch of things, thank you very much.