Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations by École normale supérieure

4.8
stars
229 ratings
76 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn a whole lot of modern physics (classical and quantum) from basic computer programs that you will download, generalize, or write from scratch, discuss, and then hand in. Join in if you are curious (but not necessarily knowledgeable) about algorithms, and about the deep insights into science that you can obtain by the algorithmic approach....

Top reviews

SB

Aug 28, 2020

This is a really good course for the introduction of computational methods in statistical physics. Quite a few topics are covered and very subtle and efficient algorithms are developed and discussed.

KL

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent and enthusiastic lectures and tutorials covering a number of topics. Much of the learning took place in the assignments where the concepts were applied and various points were illustrated.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 74 Reviews for Statistical Mechanics: Algorithms and Computations

By Bingyu Z

May 29, 2016

The course is self-contained. Very good for people even if they are not physicist. They can still learn a lot about computational methods that are useful in many ways.

By Christian F

May 24, 2020

High quality, very well explained, but if you are like me, a non-physicist mainly interested in the statistical part, you might get slightly lost at times...

By Siddhartha S

Oct 24, 2016

Awesome course for anyone aspiring to learn Statistical mechanics. The problems treated are far from trivial. Instruction and course material is very good

By Volodymyr S

Jun 18, 2016

Brilliant course, lots of advanced material, pretty much exceptional way of teaching. The difficulty is just right. Appreciate the effort of the team.

By Le Q L

Aug 29, 2018

A good course in introducing statistical mechanics concept with programming! If there are other advanced courses, I'm willing to take!

By Márcio G d S

Aug 17, 2016

Curso excelente! professores são bastante didáticos. Parabéns professores pela iniciativa em proporcionar um curso desse nível online.

By Aom S

Jun 03, 2020

Really challenging course but super informative. Highly recommend for those who want to be a master in Monte Carlo method

By Ning A

Jan 10, 2017

I learned a lot from all kinds of algorithms that I heard of, but never had the chance to get the clarifications.

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2016

This course was awesome! Although, I can tell I'll need another pass at it to understand things more fully...

By Tim B

Oct 24, 2017

Some of the lessons are very difficult, but if you persevere, it's very rewarding.

By José J B d M

Apr 08, 2018

It was a very interesting course, both for having a look on Statistical Mechanic

By Constantin J

Dec 02, 2016

Je viens de terminer l'initiation. Rien à redire. Cours propre et accessible.

By Efren S

Mar 09, 2018

Most useful course I've had a quite some time. Thank you Monsieur Krauth!

By Philipp K

Aug 07, 2016

Really good course. Thanks for all that work you put in the lectures.

By Gavin C

Aug 16, 2016

An exceptionally brilliant course.

Exceptionnel. Nutzlich. Speciale.

By Nicolas B

Mar 23, 2016

Not one of the easiest courses, but extremely interesting!

By Kwan-Yuet H

Aug 23, 2018

Highly recommended. Old subjects with new technology!

By shifan

Oct 14, 2016

Excellent online lecture, the best I have ever taken.

By Philippe S

Apr 29, 2017

I learned a bunch of things, thank you very much.

By Elias

Dec 18, 2019

Excellent introduction to Monte Carlo Algorithms

By Monika K

Aug 02, 2016

Way over my head but hope to keep working at it.

By Teng

Jun 05, 2017

A good combination of physics and programming.

By Lifeng H

Jan 15, 2017

great course. wish could cover more physics

By 霍永学

Mar 25, 2018

So awesome! This is a marvelous course!

By Do H L

Apr 08, 2016

This course is superbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb!