Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,445 ratings
339 reviews

About the Course

We will introduce methods to perform systematic reviews and meta-analysis of clinical trials. We will cover how to formulate an answerable research question, define inclusion and exclusion criteria, search for the evidence, extract data, assess the risk of bias in clinical trials, and perform a meta-analysis. Upon successfully completing this course, participants will be able to: - Describe the steps in conducting a systematic review - Develop an answerable question using the “Participants Interventions Comparisons Outcomes” (PICO) framework - Describe the process used to collect and extract data from reports of clinical trials - Describe methods to critically assess the risk of bias of clinical trials - Describe and interpret the results of meta-analyses...

Top reviews

MJ

Jan 08, 2019

Although introductory, I do carry out reviews as a researcher. I Learned a lot to improve my systematic reviews through this course. High quality, though the music could be a little less intense.

PS

Aug 23, 2019

Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course is a very good source for beginners which provides an overview on fundamental terminology and steps involved in the systematic review.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 331 Reviews for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

By Felipe M C

Oct 14, 2019

A little superficial, but as an introductory course, it is good!

By Germanno T

Jun 12, 2019

Should address meta-analysis in other areas and not only health.

By Jorge P

Jul 13, 2016

It's a very good introductory course to systematic reviews.

By Yousab Y H

Feb 15, 2017

good material and knowledge ... but some how boring ...

By Gerardo G

Mar 04, 2018

very helpful, spect to see more of these and deeper

By Hamed K

Sep 19, 2019

I feel the material been covered not sufficient.

By Hani M

Jun 26, 2016

Very well organized and very informative.

By Cássio M B V

Aug 24, 2019

An excellent introduction to the topic.

By suresh

Apr 25, 2017

excellent information for researcher..

By Victoria S

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent introductory material!

By Ahmed G

Sep 21, 2017

very useful and informative

By neeraj

May 16, 2017

It was a good learning

By Hassan S

Jan 31, 2017

thank you very much

By dr j b

Nov 23, 2018

More on peto maybe

By Osama D E

Nov 08, 2017

very penificial

By Felix J G G

Jul 23, 2017

Need updates...

By AHMED M

Aug 14, 2016

very useful

By Tiago V

Jun 08, 2017

Great

By BHAVYA B M

Jul 29, 2019

Good

By Dorice L V

May 30, 2017

I found this course extremely helpful, but I think it needs to be updated. It might be useful to discuss a few key tools that are essential to SRs, one in particular the Equator Network for Systematic Reviews. SRs should be registered with PROSPERO. If you show a PROSPERO record, it will help reinforce some of the concepts you are teaching. Some quiz questions are ambiguous. I do not have my notes at the time of this writing so cannot point out the problem. I think the problem was in Module 2. My most important concern is with the final assignment. Having worked with so many groups on writing as well as evaluating SRs, "those who analyzed the data" would not need to be blinded to the treatment phase but the outcome phase. It is my assumption that the sentence could have been written in a more meaningful way: " . . . were blinded to treatment and outcomes assessment." From a "critical thinking" standpoint, which is what I always try to get students to do because of the quality (or lack thereof) of writing, I thought this through carefully, and came up with a significantly different answer. The course is geared so heavily to what is taught at Johns Hopkins. This can be a bit wearying for some, though I appreciate the quality of your program. The literature searching component could also use an update, but I did find much of the lecture very helpful--there are several webinars that will help the librarian (just as a refresher). The examples that were used throughout the slides were exceptional and helped me to understand much of the material from a student's point of view. Overall, the course will help me with teaching and evaluating SRs and MAs. Thank you!

By Pietro P

May 02, 2017

Five stars for the excellent teachers and content, but the course is not made for Coursera: very long videos, slides full of words, many references to the group work for the course at JHU, tiny quizzes and just two practical assignments. The format and the examinations can be definitely improved.

By Payal S

Oct 14, 2019

Although the course faculty is good, it would be really helpful if there were notes summarizing each week.

By ASHISH S

Jun 23, 2018

i would love to see how to extract data in software and use it for metaanalysis. which is more practical

By Suisin P L L

Apr 27, 2018

Me gustó el curso, solo que al final, me perdí. Desde que empezó con el meta análisis.

By N.A. T

Feb 27, 2017

Great content, but not delivered in a very dynamic manner so hard to stay attentive.