Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
1,280 ratings
302 reviews

About the Course

We will introduce methods to perform systematic reviews and meta-analysis of clinical trials. We will cover how to formulate an answerable research question, define inclusion and exclusion criteria, search for the evidence, extract data, assess the risk of bias in clinical trials, and perform a meta-analysis. Upon successfully completing this course, participants will be able to: - Describe the steps in conducting a systematic review - Develop an answerable question using the “Participants Interventions Comparisons Outcomes” (PICO) framework - Describe the process used to collect and extract data from reports of clinical trials - Describe methods to critically assess the risk of bias of clinical trials - Describe and interpret the results of meta-analyses...

Top reviews

MJ

Jan 08, 2019

Although introductory, I do carry out reviews as a researcher. I Learned a lot to improve my systematic reviews through this course. High quality, though the music could be a little less intense.

PS

Aug 23, 2019

Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course is a very good source for beginners which provides an overview on fundamental terminology and steps involved in the systematic review.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 293 Reviews for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

By Ahmed G

Sep 21, 2017

very useful and informative

By Keyur S

Jun 11, 2018

The course need to be updated. Some of the information sounds outdated. Otherwise a great experience. Thank you so much.

By Catia M R P

Aug 10, 2016

The course is a good introduction to the topic, however, it is a pity that there is no follow up to the course. At the end of the course you will not be able to perform a SLR + meta-analysis.

By Yousab Y H

Feb 15, 2017

good material and knowledge ... but some how boring ...

By AMIT P

Nov 11, 2016

It was comprehensive and worth course to take upon. I would recommend to add course about detailed methodology behind conducting meta-analysis.

By Ignacio S

Jun 26, 2017

Very useful to put into place and frame up my previous experience on this matter! Thanks for making possible to benefit from it.

By Lei W

Sep 17, 2016

Meta-analysis 101.

This course introduces some basic concepts of evidence-based medicine and meta-analysis. The peer assignments are well designed, which encourage students to read papers critically.

However, practical and advanced meta-analysis skills are not introduced in lectures. Looking forward to future advanced courses!

By Søren B E

Jun 26, 2016

Good introduction to conducting systematic reviews in general and a teaser for doing meta-analysis. I enjoyed it!

By Aya A O

Jan 09, 2018

This is a good introductory course to how and why systematic reviews are performed. I would have liked to have one assignment at the end to try and apply it ourselves but all in all great course !

By Gerardo G

Mar 04, 2018

very helpful, spect to see more of these and deeper

By AZEEM A

Mar 12, 2018

helped me a lot to learn basics about systematic review and meta-analysis... thanks a lot

By Hassan S

Jan 31, 2017

thank you very much

By Carlos C

Jun 24, 2016

Excellent course for students and researchers who want to start exploring systematic reviews and meta-analysis! There some few minor problem with the materials. Also, I wished there more advanced information regarding meta-analysis. Maybe you can develop an second course :)

By khalid A

Oct 18, 2016

The course is great as an introductory course to Meta-Analysis. I feel like I know a lot more about Meta-Analysis now.

By neeraj

May 16, 2017

It was a good learning

By Johan L

Oct 27, 2017

Excellent introductory course. Both on systematic review and Meta-Analysis. Some room for improvement in the mathematical section of the last part on meta-analysis is possible: either in depth and slower or less math-detailed.

By Mohammadali M S

Mar 27, 2017

It is very useful course for beginners and although those who have done systematic reviews/meta-analysis before in order to improve their basic understanding. There are few shortcomings with the course:

1- lectures frequently refer to biostat and epidemiology classes, but no reference or links has been provided for these classes.

2- The course ends without any lectures on meta-regression and sensitivity analysis, which is a bit confusing as the module 8 promises such lectures.

By Ramprasad M

Nov 09, 2017

Good structured course on systematic review and meta-analysis. Really advanced my knowledge on how to do and review SRMs. Kudos for the team work.

By Aishwarya K

Apr 02, 2018

It was great! Very informative but I wish the course offered more experience dealing with the subject.

By AHMED M

Aug 14, 2016

very useful

By Lindsey R

Jun 16, 2017

Logically designed, easy to follow and very informational. The meta analysis component is a little dry but still insightful. Overall, great course!

By suresh

Apr 25, 2017

excellent information for researcher..

By Felix J G G

Jul 23, 2017

Need updates...

By Shorouq S R A

Oct 15, 2018

the course was very professional, yet simple to understand and perfect for beginners and intermediate level researchers. it provided valuable sources for further readings and the peer review assignments, I think should be more than two, because I learn what I learn by applying it carefully for an exam.

thank you for putting this much of an effort to provide this amazing course

By Xiaoyu Z

Oct 17, 2018

Overall good course. You can have view all the basic about systematic review in the field of medicine and public health.

Two short shortcomings in my view: 1. Based on clinical medicine, people in other field may take some time to get through; 2. English subtitle some mistakes, like "now" as "null".