Chevron Left
Back to Types of Conflict

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Types of Conflict by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
1,024 ratings

About the Course

Conflict is everywhere and it is impossible to avoid conflicting viewpoints. However, not all conflict is bad, nor is it inherently negative. How conflict is handled makes all the difference. It is through proper identification and understanding of conflict that allows for effective resolutions, some of which may yield positive outcomes. In this course, we will examine the different types of conflict, how to understand and embrace the positive aspects of conflict, and how to successfully navigate conflict to positive resolution. This course presents the material though video lessons, case studies, and interviews. In each module students will be presented with in-video quiz questions to test their understanding. To further their mastery of the content students will also be asked to complete two peer reviewed assignments. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the different types of conflict 2. Illustrate the positive aspects of conflict 3. Provide examples of positive ways to deal with conflict...

Top reviews

DN

Mar 9, 2021

Great course! I learned very insightful approaches to conflict. Also, there are plenty of excellent literature the instructor prescribes as complementary reading that enriches the learning experience.

JC

Sep 6, 2019

Understanding the types of conflict will allow for clearer directions on resolution to said conflicts. Understanding that conflict can allow growth of a team is helpful in one's everyday business.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 260 Reviews for Types of Conflict

By Dr.Alaa Z

Jan 31, 2016

Great

By 003krusha c

Oct 2, 2020

Nice

By GAURAV B

Sep 25, 2020

good

By Mary C G

Aug 10, 2020

good

By Ibeh D N

May 10, 2018

Good

By Sapana P

May 31, 2020

Ver

By Tiémoko O

Jan 28, 2017

E

By Giulia

Sep 8, 2020

Good balance between theory and practical knowledge. I liked that only relevant information was included. As I am a clinical psychologist, I would have preferred a more neutral approach to conflict rather than ONLY company / employees (organizational) focused. For example, talking about conflict in the home environment (family, spouse, etc).

By Michael R

Jun 3, 2016

Platitudes and generalizations. The interviews with real people are the only redeeming factor. I wasn't impressed.

By Jennifer P

Mar 18, 2018

Very basic information. I was looking for more thorough investigation into conflict management. Thanks

By Felipe C

Jul 3, 2020

Falta bastante contenido, bastante.

By Mateja K

Oct 5, 2020

This course was a huge disappointment, by far the worst Coursera course so far. To begin with, the user interface was one the worst. It was tedious to find my way through the course and annoying pop-ups kept interrupting my work. It also wasn't clear from the course's title and description that this course only deals with the conflicts in organizations and can hardly be applied to life in general. The videos were boring and were basically nothing but the instructor talking to the camera and some dramatized scenes that would have been better left out altogether. The cases she presented were for the most part irrelevant and unconvincing. There was very little if any additional materials and sources presented during the course, and I found it all highly confusing and disorganized. The only somewhat interesting part were the interviews where real people from real companies shared their experiences.

By Oedhel S

Apr 27, 2019

Requirement for peer reviews and lack of people actively taking the course seems to limit how fast you can actually do this course. The instruction lacked real emphasis on the important terms to pay attention to, leaving you rewatching videos and searching the transcript only to leave you googling the concepts and feeling confused anyways. At the end of the day, the peer reviews should have been multiple choice, as they were effectively asking you for one dimensional concepts. I don't feel I walked away with any additional information.

By Isaac M H G

Nov 2, 2021

It's a good course, the best of it are the interviews with people giving you effective tips of real-life situation. There are three courses that could have fit perfectly in one course but that's my opinion. I didn't like that it was very repetive with some topics, but it was good at the end.

By Marwa K M

Aug 14, 2023

Honestly am amazed about the all the info i learned from this course, its the 1st time i heard about the positive conflict and how to use it for my advantage that will avoid me to be in many misunderstanding & uncomfortable situations .

By Diana C A

Apr 8, 2024

super bien, conocer, tener un concepto mas amplio sobre tipos de conflicto como afrontarlos y manejarlos, me parece algo muy importante en el diario vivir y en todos los ambitos.

By Luz A C P

May 22, 2024

Es un curso muy completo donde se aprendió mucho, nos ayuda a recordar nuestros valores, principios y a forjarnos como unos mejores profesionales.

By Rachel E

Apr 27, 2023

This class was very thorough and educational - love the peer graded assignment aspect, keeps you on your toes! Enjoying this one so far. Thanks,

By Amy B C

Jul 4, 2021

Perfect! The lessons were short and right to the point. The language used was easy to understand. This was a fantastic course, thank you!

By Anzorena S D

May 12, 2024

Un curso muy interesante , permite aprender a fondo sobre la resolución de conflictos,las causas y posibles soluciones.

By Nicole K

Apr 5, 2022

This course was excellent! I was actually able to put some of the solutions to work immediately with my team.

By Betsy L R V

Sep 7, 2022

Me encantó mucho este curso porque son muy detallistas al momento de transmitir el conocimiento y enseñar.

By Johnathan W

Jan 19, 2024

Prof DeBow is amazing! This course well worth your time and effort. You will lean a ton!

By Dada D

Apr 27, 2022

Excelente, es lo mejor que visto. Los felicito por su marvilloso servicio a la sociedad.

By Casey E

Apr 20, 2024

Very realistic information that keeps you remembering conflict and ways to handle it.