Chevron Left
Back to Types of Conflict

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Types of Conflict by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
864 ratings
216 reviews

About the Course

Conflict is everywhere and it is impossible to avoid conflicting viewpoints. However, not all conflict is bad, nor is it inherently negative. How conflict is handled makes all the difference. It is through proper identification and understanding of conflict that allows for effective resolutions, some of which may yield positive outcomes. In this course, we will examine the different types of conflict, how to understand and embrace the positive aspects of conflict, and how to successfully navigate conflict to positive resolution. This course presents the material though video lessons, case studies, and interviews. In each module students will be presented with in-video quiz questions to test their understanding. To further their mastery of the content students will also be asked to complete two peer reviewed assignments. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the different types of conflict 2. Illustrate the positive aspects of conflict 3. Provide examples of positive ways to deal with conflict...

Top reviews

DN
Mar 9, 2021

Great course! I learned very insightful approaches to conflict. Also, there are plenty of excellent literature the instructor prescribes as complementary reading that enriches the learning experience.

DC
Sep 6, 2019

Understanding the types of conflict will allow for clearer directions on resolution to said conflicts. Understanding that conflict can allow growth of a team is helpful in one's everyday business.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 213 Reviews for Types of Conflict

By GAURAV B

Sep 25, 2020

good

By Mary C G

Aug 10, 2020

good

By Ibeh D N

May 10, 2018

Good

By Sapana P

May 31, 2020

Ver

By Tiémoko O

Jan 28, 2017

E

By Giulia O S R

Sep 8, 2020

Good balance between theory and practical knowledge. I liked that only relevant information was included. As I am a clinical psychologist, I would have preferred a more neutral approach to conflict rather than ONLY company / employees (organizational) focused. For example, talking about conflict in the home environment (family, spouse, etc).

By Mateja K

Oct 5, 2020

This course was a huge disappointment, by far the worst Coursera course so far. To begin with, the user interface was one the worst. It was tedious to find my way through the course and annoying pop-ups kept interrupting my work. It also wasn't clear from the course's title and description that this course only deals with the conflicts in organizations and can hardly be applied to life in general. The videos were boring and were basically nothing but the instructor talking to the camera and some dramatized scenes that would have been better left out altogether. The cases she presented were for the most part irrelevant and unconvincing. There was very little if any additional materials and sources presented during the course, and I found it all highly confusing and disorganized. The only somewhat interesting part were the interviews where real people from real companies shared their experiences.

By Oedhel S

Apr 27, 2019

Requirement for peer reviews and lack of people actively taking the course seems to limit how fast you can actually do this course. The instruction lacked real emphasis on the important terms to pay attention to, leaving you rewatching videos and searching the transcript only to leave you googling the concepts and feeling confused anyways. At the end of the day, the peer reviews should have been multiple choice, as they were effectively asking you for one dimensional concepts. I don't feel I walked away with any additional information.

By Kyle G

Aug 9, 2021

Great course with plenty of information. The lessons are followed up with interviews of individuals giving real world examples, which demonstrates the courses' relevance.

By Amy B C

Jul 4, 2021

Perfect! The lessons were short and right to the point. The language used was easy to understand. This was a fantastic course, thank you!

By Rajbir S

Aug 31, 2021

Quite informative, illustrative and elaborative course on defining various conflicts.

By Sangram V B

Aug 23, 2021

Well paced and Well controlled course

By Rajesh B

Aug 13, 2021

good learning programme

By Narayana R T

May 23, 2020

Very good course

By Katharine A

Jan 5, 2016

Helpful introduction to conflict resolution. I appreciated having the various categories and causes mapped out. It makes it easier to talk about conflict once you've internalized the terms of the categories: interpersonal/intergroup/intercultural, values/economic/power, etc. Looking forward to the next installment of this course.

By Denis L

Aug 7, 2021

It's been a wonderful experience since; I have came to know the types of conflict and the constructive conflict is the one to be embraced because it enhances inovation, good ieas and positive change in our midst. Above all, positive aspect of conflict knowledge is sweet part of what I came to know.

By Arturas

Feb 21, 2017

The course is a very nice introduction to the whole specialization. The structure of the course is very well developed, contains quite a number of use cases that give illustrations to conflicts and possible resolutions. The professor(s) of the course invested quite some effort and time to it.

By Gabriel F

Apr 11, 2016

This course provides a great introduction into conflict management. The assignments really allowed me to reflect on times when I was both successful in dealing with a conflict and when I failed.

The only drawback is that the concepts are presented rather linearly.

By Amanfo A

Aug 12, 2016

its relatively a good course, although i expected the analogy to be more of a conflict manager.s perspective rather than being in the saddle of a party to the conflict. However it still helps in conflict resolution

By Christian F

Apr 26, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. While i loved the case studies, i found the presentations inelegant and not on par with the quiality of the case studies at all. I hope that this can be improved in the future.

By Elizabeth L

Apr 14, 2017

Great course, lots of useful information and the practical application is laid out with case studies. Too bad you have to pay to participate in the assignments...

By Viralkumar P

Sep 7, 2021

I​ loved the interviews with industry experts. Please include interviews from the learders on this topic to provide real world examples.

By Andrew S

Oct 26, 2020

Good course. Informative. Would prefer an instructor to mark and give feedback on assignments, but the peer system seemed to work ok.

By sakshi p

Sep 26, 2020

I have learnt many things from these course like how to manage your anger how to reduce conflict peacefully and pateincely

By Sanjeev S

Jul 26, 2021

I learnt a lot through this course & definitely it will help to implement the same in my personal & professional life.