Chevron Left
Back to Types of Conflict

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Types of Conflict by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
1,024 ratings

About the Course

Conflict is everywhere and it is impossible to avoid conflicting viewpoints. However, not all conflict is bad, nor is it inherently negative. How conflict is handled makes all the difference. It is through proper identification and understanding of conflict that allows for effective resolutions, some of which may yield positive outcomes. In this course, we will examine the different types of conflict, how to understand and embrace the positive aspects of conflict, and how to successfully navigate conflict to positive resolution. This course presents the material though video lessons, case studies, and interviews. In each module students will be presented with in-video quiz questions to test their understanding. To further their mastery of the content students will also be asked to complete two peer reviewed assignments. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the different types of conflict 2. Illustrate the positive aspects of conflict 3. Provide examples of positive ways to deal with conflict...

Top reviews

DN

Mar 9, 2021

Great course! I learned very insightful approaches to conflict. Also, there are plenty of excellent literature the instructor prescribes as complementary reading that enriches the learning experience.

JC

Sep 6, 2019

Understanding the types of conflict will allow for clearer directions on resolution to said conflicts. Understanding that conflict can allow growth of a team is helpful in one's everyday business.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 260 Reviews for Types of Conflict

By Pankaj K

May 20, 2024

completed

By Ismail Y A

Jun 8, 2016

Very Good

By Shantanu G

Mar 27, 2020

......

By Ronnie B

Apr 3, 2020

great

By Nicolas P

Aug 24, 2018

Good class overall and a topic that any manager should master before even taking office. However, the tone of voice and the talking speed during some part of the course are too slow and give the impression that its filling a void. Some part could be more lively.

However, the interviews are really insightful and provide a great "hands-on" feeling which is very welcomed.

By Daniel M

Nov 14, 2016

I definitely would recommend more essential books and maybe TED Talks as well.

Great books on communication were written by William Ury

Getting to Yes

Getting to Yes with yourself (essential book)

Beyond Reason

https://www.amazon.de/Getting-Yes-Yourself-Worthy-Opponents/dp/0062390678/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1479132707&sr=8-6&keywords=William+ury

By Viktoriia S

Aug 18, 2017

Hard language, some teachers are talking too quickly and hard to understand what they are saying. Not good structure of lessons. I would add lectures to read after videos, to make it more understandable. And also some some test to add. I didn't have this problem with UCI course Project Management which I liked a lot.

By KONSTANTINOS D

Dec 22, 2020

Excellent course and very easy to understand. However, I think that common sense is all you will ever need in order to be able to resolve a conflict. Therefore, smart/intelligent persons may find it kind of redundant.

By Varvara

May 26, 2020

Great course, useful material.

Peer graded only, no experienced professor will review your work. If your peers decide to give you a bad grade, you will have a bad grade despite the grade your work should have earned.

By Christian B

Aug 14, 2019

The course material its self is fine, if not useful. The major hurdle of the course was waiting for other individuals to submit coursework since peer-review is required for completion of the course.

By john w

May 16, 2020

Course is very good from materials

And case study

Instructors is well educated

But I think this course need more time and video

By BRIAND L

Mar 5, 2016

Great course, but sometime it is boring since the introductor just read materials. Hope this can be improved in the future.

By Alejandra E

Jul 16, 2021

Normal, esta bien para lo que es el curso pero si se busca algo en profundidad hay que acudir a otros cursos.

By Nicoletta S

Oct 5, 2020

far too simple and shallow material. also reflected in the quality of the submissions

By Leash V

Sep 16, 2015

Informative but not ideal for anyone not going into business.

By Lukas P

Dec 7, 2022

Its ok. I would like a lot more depth in the lessons though.

By Anastasia B N

Jun 17, 2018

Need more in-depth just theory and superficial

By Luis C T V

Oct 18, 2020

Poca afluencia de participación

By Cheri P

May 11, 2018

Good introduction to the topic.

By Mike L

Jul 25, 2016

Very basic, decent information.

By Arthur C

Nov 17, 2015

Feel too short.

By Marcus C

Sep 20, 2016

V

By Jennifer D

Feb 14, 2016

I didn't learn a whole lot -perhaps it is because I'm not coming into a professional setting as a newbie anymore? I found a lot of the examples juvenile - 'wearing a robe to the office' or 'stealing things'. I was looking for more substantial examples of idealogical conflict I guess -stuff that is harder to resolve than being a person of integrity and making good decisions. I know this is just module 1, but the content didn't feel valuable for the most part. The assignments were alright.

By Zuzana V

May 21, 2016

The format of the course is not very engaging. The instructor shows slides with generic statements and then reads them slowly. The case studies are quite artificial and the answers are too obvious. I was expecting more tricks how to apply this in practice.

By Jose P P

Aug 23, 2016

Interesting, bit not worthy of the invested money.