Chevron Left
Back to Agile Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Agile Analytics by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
418 ratings

About the Course

Few capabilities focus agile like a strong analytics program. Such a program determines where a team should focus from one agile iteration (sprint) to the next. Successful analytics are rarely hard to understand and are often startling in their clarity. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, you'll learn how to build a strong analytics infrastructure for your team, integrating it with the core of your drive to value....

Top reviews

DG

May 12, 2021

I was a bit sceptical at the beginning, but the course proved me wrong. Excellent introduction to data science and its basic concepts, and fits perfectly to the rest of specialization.

AM

Dec 12, 2020

Gives thoughtfull ideas on how to manage and make use of data in agile development. Absolutely meets the expectations as it is a beginner level course. Highly recommended.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 102 Reviews for Agile Analytics

By Shahrin S

Jun 18, 2020

Alex Cowan is one of the most generous educator that I know. I have done many of his courses and completing my specialisation. The generosity that Alex demonstrates to truly teach and ensure that you get the knowledge is obvious from how he run his sessions. There are days that I want to quit, but I kept coming back because at the end of it all when you complete the assignment and you get cert, nothing beats that feeling. I wish I could see more of Alex's passion in the courses b y others. If you have done a distance learning programme, you would understand how lonely it can be sometime. And for some of us, doing such courses is the only way thing that we can learn, could afford and are able to do. So courses like this where Alex truly does his best to teach and create a learning community that supports each other commendable. And for that, I thank Alex and Coursera for making that possible. PS - Alex, my only feedback is try not to scribble too much on your slides. Looking forward to more of your classes.

By Davor G

May 13, 2021

I was a bit sceptical at the beginning, but the course proved me wrong. Excellent introduction to data science and its basic concepts, and fits perfectly to the rest of specialization.

By Poornima S

May 11, 2020

Another fantastic course from Alex Cowan! Insightful, timely and shares great perspective from experts

By Johannes G S

Jul 21, 2020

This course touches a slight bit of a huge subject. The theory is fine, but in my opinion it lacks practical exercises. After completing the course, I completely understand what I should be doing and asking, but I have no idea "how" to do it.

By Laura W

Apr 10, 2022

Based on my personal experience, I would advise against taking this course.

The content is OK, but the delivery leaves something to be desired. Ironically for a course talking about agile and lean start up philosophies, this is delivered in the extremely old-fashioned way of having someone talk at you (also, if I'm honest, in a quite American waffle, which isn't particularly user-friendly for those whose first language isn't American English). Oh, that said, they do give you about 3 minutes of a ridiculous 'skit' to illustrate the point... But really nothing innovative or experimental at all here..!

However, much, much worse than that is the fact that it is a hotbed for people who want to 'scam' a qualification. There appears to be no vetting of 'students' whatsoever. The majority of the submissions that I was required to review were one and the same document (that is, exactly the same, not one word changed). Because I had to report them for plagiarism, this also meant that they don't count towards the total no. of peer reviews completed, meaning it's extremely difficult to finish the course and earn the certificate, as there are really no genuine submissions at all it seems. (The few I did manage to complete were mostly just copied and pasted from the internet). Pessimal experience, and the same goes for the related courses - Hypothesis-Driven Development, Managing an Agile Team and Agile Meets Design Thinking.

Also, if you alert Coursera to this and / or ask how to complain, the 'customer help service' just repeats the same thing over and over regarding the plagiarism function and ignores the complaint request outright, every single time.

In my opinion this is disgusting for a course that is this expensive. Save yourself some time and hassle - best avoided.

By JENNY P Z

Aug 9, 2021

Fue un excelente curso, aprendí demasiado, me gusto mucho la forma en que exigen para que uno en realidad este atento a la información como las evaluaciones en los videos, excelente, que puedan brindar la opción en espanol y puedan dar la opción de presentar varias veces el examen así uno se da cuenta y recibe feed back para saber que esta incorrecto y que es lo correcto.

By Ivan K

Aug 8, 2021

Many thanks to Alex Cowan for the informative and useful course. The course provided relevant knowledge, useful opinions of experts (practitioners) and frameworks for managing a Digital product using Agile.

By Archil M

Dec 13, 2020

Gives thoughtfull ideas on how to manage and make use of data in agile development. Absolutely meets the expectations as it is a beginner level course. Highly recommended.

By Kasuntha M

Nov 15, 2020

Great course to gain knowledge n the subject area specially for the intermediates, i highly recommend this. thank you for the immense support throughout the course.

By Debry W

Aug 19, 2020

At the beginning I though it was going to be really difficult, but Alex makes the course fun, dynamic and easy to understand! Thank you!

By Anna K

May 29, 2020

It is a good and interesting course in general. But peer assignments have mistakes. So, even students that understand materials well will lose points.

By Neil I

Aug 13, 2020

I have an issue with this course. I expected to love it, as it's the fourth of five in the DPM specialisation, and I've previously completed a specialisation on data science, as well as having quite an analytical job, however I HATED it. It was a chore that I had to get through as quickly as possible. Why? The practice quizzes. They are everything that gives this type of course a bad name: confusingly written, ambiguous (often with multiple possible correct answers) and far too frequent.

As a result, the course consistently demoralised me, making me think I didn't understand things I'd just learned, had misunderstood previous courses, and to question things I've held true for years.

Whoever let those questions out into the wild needs to take a long hard look at themselves.

The course content is fine; it's just those quizzes...

By Shivani B

Jun 21, 2021

The course is the part of both - Agile and Product Management series; in the course taken under Product Management series, this particular course should have been named as "Product Analytics" . This course delves into the aspects of Product Analytics with an Agile framework as a backdrop. Also, the peer review assignment provides a better understand-ability and allows you to re-imagine and implement the scenario given . And since the Product Management in the modern era has given an equal focus to Product Analytics, I think one should give it a shot !

By Wessel P

Jun 9, 2020

Of all modules in the Specialization course, this will rate as my second favourite, as a product manager/ Sales individual and even customer-facing PM these skills will provide you with a greater understanding of your client, and how to test your product to ensure you build good products and solutions. Thanks, Alex.

By Jackson T N

Jun 18, 2022

Excellent course. It addresses important points that a product manager needs to analyze while focusing on what is valuable. Dependent variable, analytics and data science are some important topics you will learn.

By Claudia T

Feb 24, 2023

It was so interesting to learn how to devolop questions, analizes, hypothesis and define metrics to find the best ways to solve problems and develop products. Thank you so much to Alex Cowan.

By Mihaly G

Jan 3, 2021

Very exciting course, probably the most exciting part of the specification so far. Helps to fill in the gaps on the theory front and provided a lot of useful practical advice as well.

By Eva T

Nov 25, 2020

I really appreciated the mixture of video lessons, a lot of quizzes and in particular the several interviews which gave a nice insight into the 'real' world.

By Adekemi F

Sep 24, 2022

First I was scared at the sight of Analytics, but having completed the course, I'd say it wasn't as hard as I thought. I can't wait to put it in practice!!

By Wollfgang A

Nov 27, 2020

It is a great course, very well explained and with expert interventions that with their experience, allows us to understand the AGILE world more.

By Gabriel G A B

Aug 15, 2020

I love this course it gives me the possibility to know and learn new tools that would help me a lot to get better insights for the company.

By Isac S

Jun 9, 2020

Very enjoyable. The examples were very clear and the interviews very educational. Probably the best course so far in this specialization.

By Ricardo R

Jan 8, 2021

For those like me who are new to Agile, the course is quite comprehensive and covers the basic principles in a clear way. I recommend.

By Javier D H M

Jan 9, 2021

Very interesting and useful course, explanation is clear. Enough detail in the Data Science topics that will for sure be very useful

By Keila G G

Dec 3, 2020

Excelent ! linking agile to data science in an easy very understandable way from which we can dig further in a solid foundation.