Chevron Left
Back to Version Control with Git

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Version Control with Git by Atlassian

4.7
728 ratings
195 reviews

About the Course

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Top reviews

ML

Mar 28, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

RB

Nov 26, 2019

This is a great course, i.e. very pedagogical, a nice structure, a lot of practise material and gives a very solid base for working with git. I highly recomend to anyone wanting to pickup git/github

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 193 Reviews for Version Control with Git

By Nicolas S V

Apr 08, 2018

This course it wasn't challenging for me and if you already have experience using GIT I don't recommend you to take it. I finished the whole course in one hour or so. If you are experienced on GIT you can just go directly to the assignments and take them, they are quite easy. They say that "Developers and members of IT (Information Technology) are the primary audience", they should clarify that this course is for beginners.

By Chunhui G

Jun 16, 2019

The course is well-organized. There are a few suggestions: 1. provide download link for the slides used in this course because the hands-on instruction didn't cover all the knowledge in the lecture. 2. more knowledge about revert and reset should be included. There should be a higher-level course after this one talking more about a real-world project. Again, great course!

By Pavel S

Dec 12, 2018

It is a very interested course about version control, git and best practices of git

By Marcos H V

Nov 28, 2018

It has been very didactic and clear. Steve should do a second part explaining more advanced topic on Git.

By Aditi J

Dec 17, 2018

Excellent Course

By Ritesh R

Dec 19, 2018

Starts from the basic . Gives you a base to start learning git

By Slawomir S

Jan 15, 2019

Very good training. Last week contains a lot of difficult things. Maybe author should gives more longer and precises lectures about this subjects.

By rems675

Jan 03, 2019

Concept are very well explained with relevant hands-on.

By Thiago B B

Jan 17, 2019

It's a great course

By Shridhar H

Jan 17, 2019

Excellent course. Every concept in the course is explained clearly in the videos and it is followed by a well constructed quiz. This course really helps in understanding Git and is a must for one to begin working with Git protocol.

By Rouzbeh A

Feb 20, 2019

It was very helpful course. I highly recommend it

By José M L M

Feb 22, 2019

Strongly focused on practice. Very useful in my particular case (my company uses the Atlassian ecosystem Sourcetree + BitBucket).

By Aryman G

Feb 27, 2019

Best course and goot contents.

By Greenish

Mar 27, 2019

Best course I ever done till now. Here you will get a clear concept of what you are learning, why you are learning along with how you are learning. Moreover I liked about these course is, It has separate section for people who like command line or GUI interface. Highly recommended if you want to clear your concept of Git.

By Vishwa K

Mar 28, 2019

Very well explained

By Kristian L J

Feb 07, 2019

I have used Git at work for a couple of years now. Despite this, I found some things in this course that I did not know like different Git work flows, a better understanding of the internal workings of Git, as well as other ways of merging (like squash merge). Can highly recommend this course to people who are new to Git as well as people with Git experience who never got the full Git tour. Very good lectures and assignments.

By Manas S

Feb 07, 2019

before taking this course i was not at all aware about how git works and what it does. after this course i am well versed with git and i functionality and how efficiently i can use git for development and project works. thank you so much for creating this course and thank you so much coursera for providing this platform to learn.

By Rafael A H R

Feb 12, 2019

Grade course! Even to people who already use Git in his daily basis it help to improve the Git Workflow

By Anurag A S

Apr 03, 2019

Amazing course for a beginner. It covers both the usages GUI and CLI. Very well phased out.

By Adewusi K A

Apr 09, 2019

Superb.

Concise, just the right dose to get devs started on Git, the most important topics and workflows. Very well written course, thanks.

By Piyal B

Apr 11, 2019

An excellent course and introduces Git in the best way possible. Covers almost everything one has to know as a beginner and become a pro with Git. A definite 5* course

By Naman M

Apr 11, 2019

Excellent Course...Focussed Equally on sourcetree as well command line...And finally a great project at the end to get a practicle experience...Really loved the content of the course...I really really appreciate the creater of this couse...

By Joshwin P

Mar 06, 2019

Specially tailored for those without a background in version control.

By jayesh D

Jan 07, 2019

It is very great course to add more knowledge in version control -Git.

very informative and practically course.

Thanks,