Chevron Left
Back to Operations Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operations Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
3,517 ratings
645 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to impact the way you think about transforming data into better decisions. Recent extraordinary improvements in data-collecting technologies have changed the way firms make informed and effective business decisions. The course on operations analytics, taught by three of Wharton’s leading experts, focuses on how the data can be used to profitably match supply with demand in various business settings. In this course, you will learn how to model future demand uncertainties, how to predict the outcomes of competing policy choices and how to choose the best course of action in the face of risk. The course will introduce frameworks and ideas that provide insights into a spectrum of real-world business challenges, will teach you methods and software available for tackling these challenges quantitatively as well as the issues involved in gathering the relevant data. This course is appropriate for beginners and business professionals with no prior analytics experience....

Top reviews

PK

Oct 12, 2019

An exceptionally organized course with sufficient examples, it provides an in depth analysis of the concepts introduced (optimization, decision trees, forecasting, simulations) and of the tools used.

JH

Aug 12, 2016

This module is really good for those of us who need to plan strategically ahead. It helps answer a lot of questions that business leaders will grapple with as they try to look ahead in the business.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 621 Reviews for Operations Analytics

By Jason C

Feb 10, 2018

Week 1 of The Operations Analytics course is incredibly underwhelming. I've noted a very heavy focus on basic concepts such as calculating averages, how to calculate a ratio, how to add colours to an excel graph, which was covered half a dozen separate times IN DETAIL. I honestly couldn't tell if the material had been intentionally under-developed to minimize professor effort or simply due to an inability to recognize the required content for the course. In any case, the fact that basic concepts are routinely repeated without further development or context is an indictment on the quality of the course.The entire first week comes off as very unpolished - it's clear that the speaker is reading off slides rather than drawing from memory and that the speech is almost spontaneous - back to back explanations of the exact same thing as if the speaker forgot what was supposed to come next. It's a recorded lecture... I don't understand how you can watch the Week 1 videos and think that's an acceptable level of quality. Moreover, 10 - 20% of each talk is simply a summary of what's been discussed and will be discussed. On quiz week 1 there was an actual question where all you had to do was input a value for X then add one number and that's the answer? That's literally not even high school level math... When I see a question like that - something so basic it's a shock - it's incredibly clear that the professor put in the most minimal effort possible. Nearly dropped the entire subscription and ceased every course due to this lack of quality control from this single week. Week 2 is far better in quality. The lack of quality control is rather concerning - how one professor is clearly far less capable than every other presenter...

By Andrea M

Nov 05, 2016

I think that this course has turned out to be too much "basic" according to my education. I believe that it was too much Excel-oriented (with really basic Excel notion).

By Muhammad H

Jan 18, 2019

The awesome effort by the Wharton Business School, Thanks to Wharton Business School & all the concerns & professors, who put their efforts in this course.

By Mirna O

Feb 25, 2019

Wonderful Course, I learned a lot!

By Shubhankar P

Feb 19, 2019

Amazing course, and really informative!

By John T

Feb 04, 2019

Great hands on examples that I'm already starting to use in my job now.

By Dejan H

Mar 29, 2018

Excellent delivery of the course. Good amount of diving into material specifics to try to tie together explanations. One less star because I would have appreciated more real-world examples as part of the course, as well as additional focus on some other operations analytics. I am also curious if there are applications of big data and machine learning on operations analytics that are in use today, that were perhaps not covered as part of this course.

By Mahmoud H A L

Jul 18, 2016

the course is great and the sequence is very good specially that in each week you can feel the importance of what you learned in the previous week , but in my opinion the course lacks complexity, i mean only basic concepts were discussed, it would be better if another 5th week is made just to be dedicated to discuss and solve complex and real life problems to see how these concepts will be applied.

Thanks so much for the course and the all amazing staff.

By Krzysztof S

Dec 13, 2015

I enjoyed the technical part of the course. However, if it is technical, I would be grateful if we tackle more complex problems, which may be met in the organizations. The cases we resolved now were rather academic, which is indeed good to start, but I would be happy to tackle enterprise-level problem, or at least learn the methods that are used in the organizations on big scale problems.

I would also add more business-related information. Now, the course looks like pure university course of optimization, at entry level.

Best Regards,

Krzysiek

By Raimundo G

Feb 21, 2019

Interesting introduction course to basic analytic tools

By Tony

Sep 23, 2017

Too simple!

By Niraj A

Jan 15, 2019

A very well structured course. Thank you Coursera

By Francis I Y

Jan 31, 2019

Highly recommended.

By María A S R

Jan 20, 2019

Buen contenido. Me hizo ver las matemáticas desde otra óptica, mucho más utilitaria y aterrizada.

También me sirvió para hacer un par de forecast de trabajo. Espero seguir haciendo un uso práctico del contenido.

Muchas gracias

By Gaurav D

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent content and explanation by the respected professors of W

By Rameet G

Feb 04, 2019

Really good overview & applications of Analytics on Operations. Nice set of problem sets also that clarify the concepts.

By Shashikesh M

Dec 31, 2018

Great course with great amount of learning. worth to try.

By Yuri P

Jan 01, 2019

Curso básico, que da buenas ideas!

By Christian F P

Dec 15, 2018

Exciting!

By Asad M

Jan 03, 2019

Great course for learning and learn about simulations tools for determining future forecasts.

By Joaquín C M

Jan 03, 2019

Very intuitive and useful. They show you how to use practical tools and in a easy manner. I have enjoyed so much.

By Yashodadevi V

Feb 21, 2019

a very concise and carefully planned syllabus. thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It gave me such a boost to my confidence.

By Prateek K

Feb 11, 2019

Amazing explanation of the concept. This course is much much better than the customer analytics one and will thoroughly clear your concepts and will also provide a very good idea about decision making using different analysis tools.

By Sergey P

Feb 13, 2019

Good job. Sergey Savin is the best tutor!

By DOROTHY S

Feb 25, 2019

Amazing course. Great learning from the course especially for beginners.