Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,937 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

MG

Jun 26, 2020

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

SB

Sep 9, 2019

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

Filter by:

9251 - 9275 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Grace A

Jun 24, 2021

Good intro to data science! One star off because there were times I was left wanting more information or felt activities weren't very engaging, but for the most part, I learned a lot.

By Sam B

Mar 1, 2021

Good course to give you a layout of some of the ideas behind Data Science. My only complaint that it lacks some hands-on work, even just a bit- to dive a bit deeper in to the subject.

By sweta s

Dec 20, 2020

Thanks to Coursera for this course under Financial Aid,i got a brief idea about data science, machine learning, deep learning, AI, regression and i can't wait to dive into this field.

By MARISA H

Dec 4, 2020

So far I like the video and reading materials, I like the way the profs explained about the essential part of jump out into data science and make sure this is what you're looking for.

By sneha b g

May 18, 2020

I have learned the complete basics of the data science and how do data scientists work in a full fledged way.......And finally i am very much excited to start my data science career.

By Aviwe

May 12, 2020

This is good and really gave a great start on my path to learning about Data science and which career choices are available. I'm exciting about taking advanced course, this is great!!

By Shyam P

Apr 24, 2020

For beginners this course is literally best, one can get this course and start their journey towards Data Science. This will definitely will give the confidence to learn Data Science.

By Raushan N

Jun 19, 2020

Thank you for the course. It was well structured and easy to understand. Only recommendation to put give more assignments or example. But overall, it was interesting and eye-opening.

By Raghav B

Jan 11, 2020

I do not like the first week but the second and third week is really good. Especially the video made for high school students i will have a lot of things to do during this summer now

By Paras S B

Sep 4, 2022

This course gives meaningful insights to begginers in data science. To me this is literally very helpful, as it gave me the knowledge about how integral to our life data science is.

By M. R C

Mar 25, 2019

Course itself was good however I am finding SOME of the test question wording to be a bit tricky. I have to read some of the questions 2 or 3X in order to choose the correct answer.

By Praveen K E

Jul 11, 2021

Very good to learn and in simple form we can get more informaion related to data science.Its very useful for our career and for our day to day life too.So make use of it.Thank you.

By Pratik U M

Aug 16, 2020

Great experience.I have been a complete to Data Science.This course helped me knowing some basics of Data Science.What to study,How to study,a pathway of becoming a data scientist.

By Amadou H

Jan 25, 2020

excellent classes, but I Think that transcription will be in french also or will be traducte in this language. I am french studiant and it took me large time to understand. thanks

By Yerikh S

Apr 22, 2021

This course is really good as a basic course for anyone who wants to learn Data Science deeply. This course explains many things about all first preparations to learn Data Science

By Pankaj K

Mar 5, 2020

The course introduction has been put in very simple terms by Prof. Haider and Prof. White along with few data scientists and it sets the foundation for the aspiring Data Scientist

By Joseph M

Feb 4, 2019

Lots of fluff - good for people who may have never heard of data science, but I feel like that crowd and the people taking this certification course are pretty mutually exclusive.

By Chiara P

Apr 18, 2020

Good course, good introduction to the topic but didn't like getting stuck in the peer-review system. Could have used that time to learn instead of spamming people to get reviews.

By Lohith U

Nov 22, 2019

It was my pleasure to start Data Science using this introductory course. Content was clear. Now, i am pretty much clear about data science, scope of data science, use cases, etc.

By Fernando C

Mar 27, 2022

It was a good introduction to what is Data Science. It looks like there are different perspective on how to define it , so it was good to have this course to go over all of them

By shayan h

Feb 23, 2022

A brief introduction to what data science is and which kind of skills are needed to have a successful career in its related fields such as machine learning, deep learning and AI

By Ahmed A H

Jun 22, 2021

The course is good and I like it. I just don't like the memorization. "Who is this guy?" or "where was he working?" are not good questions. Please replace them with better ones.

By Dam M

Mar 27, 2022

The course does provide very good information. I like all the experts in the videos. However I think it can have evem better content. The reading content seems a little dated.

By Erika M T G

Sep 12, 2021

Los subtítulos en español requieren mucha atención y una auditoria por parte de un traductor profesional. Hay un par de videos sin subtítulos en iOS y errores en traducciones.

By Jeremiah T

Dec 6, 2019

This is a good introductory course. It felt a little slow to me because I had just finished a book covering most of this content. I'm excited to get into the following courses!