Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,879 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

MS

Sep 17, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

Filter by:

9326 - 9350 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Omer C A

Jan 11, 2023

Good course for an introduction to what data science is and what data scientists do. The only downside is there aren't any technical skills to be learned from it.

By agnieszka k

Oct 9, 2022

The course was engaging (different materials: lectures, films, reading, quizes, assinments). The knowledge was provided in a clear way, which I appreciate a lot.

By SANDRA J

Sep 3, 2021

The course was very informative. I am more aware of the requirements to be a great data scientist and also to focus my learning into a specific area or industry.

By Mohammed y

Dec 12, 2020

very organized course, mostly suitable for the peoples who want to start their career in data science, this course will give you a brief idea about data science.

By Srinivas g

Aug 8, 2022

this course really good which give major base knowlwdge about data science,

the people who want to start data sceince as career i strongly recommend this course

By Evangelos E

Jan 20, 2020

Very good introductory course for data science. Doesn't go to deep, but gives you a sense to decide whether or not you wish to proceed with data science learning

By Ashirwad S

Apr 21, 2019

It was a good beginners course in data science which gives and overall view of what data science is and about all the recipe required to stand out in this field.

By JOSEPH O

Aug 12, 2021

this was an interesting and eye opening course for me. i learnt a lot and also have the motivation of becoming a data scientist in my field which is engineering

By Mthlagi M

Jun 12, 2021

The course is very good. The basics are very important and getting comfortable with the terms and concepts is key.As an introductory course ,it's really Amazing

By Giacomo C

Apr 10, 2021

I found this introductory course very interesting, even though, in my opinion, I would have liked some practical examples shown throw Jupyter (or similar tools)

By MarshallianCross

Jan 2, 2021

It's like a long webinar, introduces concepts and the experience of some data scientists in their fields. There's no practical activities but yet great content.

By Arun K P

Jul 20, 2020

This Course gives the basic idea of Data science and what does Data scientist do. It gives basic understanding about Big-Data, Machine learning, Deep learning.

By Arun K

Jul 4, 2019

Some of the speakers in the videos are a bit structured, and it would benefit the listener if there was a synthesis of the comments to bring the ideas together.

By Devesh M

Jun 26, 2019

It's an OKAY course. A beginner can know about various terms that are used in the field of Data Science through this course and can begin his/her study in this.

By Arvind S

Aug 2, 2020

It gives brief introduction to Data Science and helps you make pathway to learn data science or Become data science! Thank you Coursera and Course instructors!

By Deleted A

Apr 27, 2020

Thought that three weeks to learn & understand what data science is a little too long for comprehension. But, there's wisdom in slow-and-steady so i'll digress

By Renier S

Apr 26, 2020

Good overview of what constitutes data science and what is needed to become a data scientist.

Very informative and well structured introduction to data science.

By Osama A S

Jan 21, 2020

It's a very good introduction course but it doesn't have alot of information just some general introductions to data science, and i'm generally ok with that :D

By Maxwell A

Oct 27, 2018

Good overview of data science without getting too technical. Good introduction but looking forward to getting more technical with some of the advanced courses.

By ABHISHEK S B

Oct 19, 2021

I wish the quiz had more than 3 questions and were a bit more technical based questions, other than that the course is great, it is very informative and easy

By Scott F

Oct 5, 2020

Good way to get feet wet. Would be better if emphasis was shifted from how dynamic the field is, too some more specific example of professional opportunities

By Brian P M

Mar 21, 2020

All of the information was very useful, but some of the videos had content unrelated to the section it was in. All of the videos were still very informative.

By rafael x

Oct 20, 2018

Very good introduction, however, I believe that we should have more industry professionals talking bout real world problems and examples instead of students.

By AKINOLA M S

Sep 19, 2022

i love all the clips in this course.it actually change my orientation about data science and data scientist. Thansks to those who put the resources togther

By Heba M

Dec 9, 2018

Thank you for the introductory course. The videos are very simple and rich in information at the same time. It's a motivator to resume in the certification.