Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,052 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

MS

Sep 17, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

PD

Jul 18, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

Filter by:

9351 - 9375 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By reza s

Jul 27, 2019

It's so useful, but i think, the recommended note was written in hard literature, in it was difficult for me to understand,

By mansoor Z Z

Jan 24, 2023

This course is a little conceptual and involves basic definitions. It is good If you are not anything about Data Science .

By Isuru S

Jun 30, 2022

Great course.,some examples when I hear from course videos,it gives me new feeling about this field.thanks for the course.

By Ha T L H

Aug 9, 2021

It is inspiring when the instructors share how problems in daily lives can be solved using the insights from data science.

By Anupam D

Aug 11, 2020

I liked the in video question prompts which draws the attention of the learner and keeps him hooked to the video tutorials

By Saifuddin J

Jul 2, 2020

Data science is an inter disciplinary field that is used scientific methods process etc. Its a very Knowledge full Course.

By Nico C

Apr 28, 2020

Very good introduction in Data Science for beginners that haven't started programming yet or doing projects are their own.

By Saman S

Nov 14, 2019

This course introduces Data Science. It has some readings from a book and interviews with well known Data Science experts.

By Devaashish S

Jul 8, 2019

It's important to not skip any part of the course. I would like to maintain my pace and momentum in the online curriculum.

By Andrew B

Jan 5, 2019

Very introductory covering of what Data Science is. Really only for people who have never looked into data science before.

By Shahzaib R

Feb 4, 2023

great course , motivated and effective to explain what is data science and the roles you can land on as a data scientist.

By Deepak T

Jul 22, 2022

The course is very informative I have enjoy learning the course and think it will be very beneficial for me in the future

By NAZIF T Z

Aug 22, 2021

It was a nice brief introduction.

After taking the course, I feel more confident to become a data scientist.

Thanks a lot.

By Karthik M

Apr 24, 2021

Gave a good overview of all facets of data science. Would have been good to know a little more about recent developments.

By Deepak N

Nov 10, 2020

The course is very informative and must for all beginners who want to understand how to approach into Data Science field.

By Nicola Z

Mar 30, 2019

The english language is a bit too difficult for foreign students, especially to answer these questions with high accuracy

By Sebastian M

Oct 25, 2018

It's a very good first impression of what Data Science is. For people with some background it could feel la little short.

By Raymond S

Apr 10, 2022

Very interesting and educational. I enjoyed the professors. Just a pity I couldn't get the code to try out IBM's Watson.

By Burhanudin B

Mar 28, 2022

This course very interesting and give insight about what is data science activities and how to prepare to data scinetist

By 周舍夫

Jul 17, 2021

The questions asked are too tedious. Like who say what, about which year. Those are not important. Otherwise, it's good.

By Timothy B

Apr 9, 2020

A good introduction with a lot of terms you don't need to worry if they aren't explained, they will be in later modules.

By Aditya C

Mar 15, 2019

The course gave a good intro to how data science is perceived. Expect more hands on in the specialisation as I progress.

By tushar n

Feb 18, 2019

This course really introduces Data science is a very open way and makes me more curious to continue for the next courses

By Eri L L

Dec 23, 2022

Buen curso introductorio al mundo de la ciencia de datos, recomiendo tomarlo en conjunto con la especialización de IBM.

By Gianluca

Apr 13, 2022

It is just fine, just to have a little taste on what data science is. I hope I will learn much more in the next modules