Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,706 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

KK

Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.

Krishna

PD

Jul 18, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

Filter by:

9276 - 9300 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Darshan D

Jul 9, 2020

I really liked how the course has been initiated and the way in which experts in the field have been onboarded in order to understand what it likes to be a data scientist.

By Shubham S

Feb 13, 2020

So many theoretical things which makes this course very long , could have made it short and summarized , nothing to learn any skill but to know about what is data science.

By Natcha A

Jan 14, 2020

good start point for someone who interests in Data science with zero idea about Data Science. However, for someone who already have some ideas about it, you can skip this.

By Fatima Z A

Nov 28, 2019

This course was very helpful, I had the chance to understand many things about data science universe and what skills should I work on to build my profile as data scientist

By Hai S

Jul 16, 2019

good for begginers, not practical but it's will give you nice background for what skill's needed, demand for the field, interesting interviews with proffesors and workers.

By Kiran V K

May 10, 2019

The Important parts of the course are all in reading materials. The videos are just interviews, which are to be honest very informative but they were not in tutorials way.

By Sajidev T

Apr 11, 2019

Data science always attracted me. the content is very good to understand What is data science, I will look forward to do more advanced data science courses through courser

By Francesco C

Jan 19, 2021

Extremely interesting base level course in data science. It certainly helps to assimilate them better, but sometimes the course tends to repeat certain concepts too much.

By Brian R

May 6, 2020

The material was a good introduction for a beginner and the materials were easy to follow. Peer review is somewhat subjective, but I guess this is more Coursera related.

By Cassandra T

Jan 1, 2020

I thought the course should have spent more time actually defining data science, data analytic and many of the terms thrown out in the video. Plus the content felt dated.

By Manqoba N

Jun 14, 2022

Really good overview of what Data Science is and how Data Science differes from Computer science, and statistics. How Data Science has evolved over the past few years.

By Yanhan D

Sep 4, 2020

The class materials are elaborate. I love how they explained their real life teaching experiences in data science by two professors. Thank you! It gave me a sound start.

By Elena K

Jul 18, 2020

The videos were fine for orientation level, but the readings were totally... most of the readings are basically cutouts from opinion pieces that don't fit with anything.

By Danielle L B

Apr 28, 2020

Very easy introduction into data science. Good for giving people who aren't familiar with it a brief overview of the topic. Definitely could be a two week course though.

By Mark C

Jan 3, 2022

Decent introductory course, which comes with IBM cloud and Watson Studio access. Even better if - it required you to investigate them a little more towards completion.

By Kira B

May 5, 2021

There is probably a mistake in the final exam. Otherwise, the course is good. You get an introductory review of tools and get a grasp of what Data Science is all about.

By SR S S

Dec 25, 2019

The cases discussed in the class were good. Since it is the introductory course, definitions were taught. Looking forward for hands-on experience in the further courses

By Chris M

Aug 28, 2019

This unit was a great introduction into what data science is. It has given me a lot of information about what I do not know, which is a useful pointer to further study.

By Apurv R

Apr 13, 2019

it is quite a good course to get the basic understanding about the data science.This course is actually helps to find your right foot towards the field of data science,

By englematics

Dec 23, 2021

Content is a good introduction to the field. Some of the quiz/final questions are testing arbitrary details from the reading, e.g. "when was the article published?"

By RAKESH R N

Apr 30, 2020

The course named "what is data science" is excellent. The way the course organised is good. In attracts to complete other 8 courses in the specialization. Thank you .

By Edith C

Mar 15, 2019

A nice overview but I think it could have been shorter.a Perhaps some real examples where data science is used with actual data and graphs would be more informative.

By Durai N

Jan 14, 2022

Good course for the beginners in Data science field. Have enough contents to give overall picture about emerging Data science field and job opportunites. I like it.

By Willard J

Mar 27, 2020

A very succinct overview of data science. Given the learner, a quick peek into the power of data science and its applications. Well worth the time! To the next one!!

By Michael K

Jan 23, 2020

This was my first Coursera course. I found the arrangement of materials to be good. Heuristic. It said a strong ontological premise, understanding for a deeper dive.