Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
51,303 ratings
9,670 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

MS
Sep 17, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

BB
Feb 21, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

Filter by:

9376 - 9400 of 9,709 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Ghada m a

Sep 24, 2021

h

By Catherine L

Sep 30, 2019

V

By Ariel O

Aug 3, 2021

I​ just finished Google Data Analytics and Google Project Management and got their certifcates. When comparing the teaching styles, I didn't like this IBM course because:

1​. Full of videos and not much reading materials. I am not sure what to take note of, to be honest. Some of them are anecdotal and does not apply to me.

2​. Building from the previous reason, as a non-degree holder, the videos keep on implying that I'm not suited for this career. Compared to Google's courses where there are lots of encouragement and does not make you feel unworthy of this career path. If they want this to be exclusive to degree or masters holders, they should have noted that!

3​. Every quiz is graded. Unlike with Google's where they have practice quizzes.

By Ashley M L G

Dec 30, 2021

The course needs updating. Some questions on graded portions are insignificant to actually learning about data science (ex. asking what magazine said something about the data science field). It would be nice if the videos did a better job of reinforcing the readings to help students retain the information. It would also be helpful to be introduced to the vocabulary before it's just haphazardly thrown at you in the videos and the readings. Does not seem very well organized or put together with the student in mind.

By Joe W

Oct 29, 2019

After working as a data scientist looking to add "credentials" based on these certificates, I didn't learn any new concepts. If you have never heard of data science and are in high school or just starting to learn about the field, this course would be useful. Otherwise, if you already have experience I would recommend against taking this course.

By NITYANAND R

Jun 1, 2020

really very it is very basic thing to understand, what is data science, but it has been very lengthy process to understand this and unnecessarily time was engaged on IBM Cloud Platform, a person who's going to pursue the entire course will definitely use the tools but to introduce the field it should be very short and precise thing

By Lawrence L

Jul 14, 2019

While I appreciate the talks given by these experts, the way this content was spread out with very little substance was demotivating for me and not an efficient use of time, in my opinion.

It could be much more concise.

I liked the final assignment as a recap and way to interact with my classmates.

By Luigi d M N

May 9, 2020

The course offers some key definitions for what regards data science. The learner should not expect to understand more than just a list of new words related to the topic. The videos and reading material are moderately entertaining and the assessment strategy is excessively straightforward.

By Guillaume T

Feb 24, 2020

The course consists mostly of generalities and has unfortunately nearly no examples.

Showing a data science project with the difference phases of a project would have been great: problem formulation, data collection, data exploration, analysis, visualization, report preparation, etc.

By Max

Jan 27, 2020

Strange timings. Supposed to be 3-weeks course, but could be beaten in one evening. Also, it was not very informative. However, there was useful stuff such as report requirements. Hope, next courses will be more useful in terms of boosting my skills as data scientist.

By Ainsley S

Mar 9, 2021

Maybe consider renaming the course to include something along the lines of "introduction to" or "basics of." I expected meatier information and found very little value exchange for my time. It makes me questions what value would come out of a paid course

By Evangelos P

Jun 5, 2021

It does provide a good overview, but the whole peer review thing is a negative and questions are based on specific knowledge pieces that are not relevant to the topic. E.g. knowing that xyz person worked at yz company should not be a test question...

By Julie L

Oct 25, 2019

This course is for people with ZERO experience in data science. If you've never used a computer before, or have been hiding under a rock for the past two decades, then this is the course for you.

Otherwise, save your money and avoid it.

By Aleksandr S

Oct 25, 2020

Generally useless pile of videos explaining basic stuff about data science without saying anything useful. Final assignment was a total joke focused only on one particularly uninteresting and not-so-relevant topic. Very disappointed

By Muhammad S

Aug 9, 2020

I finished all three weeks did all the quizzes and even delivered my final assignment of week 3... and suddenly i lost the progress of the first 2 weeks!!! How is that!?!?!?!?

I had to redo the quizzes again to gain the certificate

By Olivia

Feb 7, 2021

This course is quite honestly not worth the money spent. It's such a high level overview of "data science." The topics covered in this course are quite literally what would be covered solely on Day 1 of a real college course.

By Grace B

Sep 17, 2019

I felt this course could have been a lot shorter. The reading were okay but it seemed like a lot of fluff and not so much information. Really, it can be summed up in maybe 15 minutes of videos and the 4 short readings.

By Ricardo A S

Jan 4, 2022

not really useful course, too general, just opinions on what data science is and no hands on experience with anything, just listening to some thoughts about data science and quizzes about what others said/think.

By Barry A

Sep 12, 2021

I am unable to verify my account. My camera quality is perfect but for some reason the photos are not clear enough when uploading through your interface. I suggest you add feature to add photo though gallery.

By Bob D

Sep 14, 2021

Fairly weak material that was presented in an amateurish way. The assignments were often irrelevant and occasionally even incoherent. This did not feel like it had been compiled by professional educators.

By Daniel B

Apr 22, 2020

The amount of structure and formality is not in keeping with the quantity of practical knowledge and skills i'm walking away with. Hoping that the course accelerates a LOT or I'll probably look elsewhere.

By Muthumari

Feb 17, 2021

This course is totally theoretical and no hands-on available.

Mostly this course cover the personal experience of the data scientist.

Three weeks form this course of no use.

Please try to give more details.

By Catherine P

Sep 15, 2020

I feel like I learned a few things but I could have learned all of those in a half hour video rather than a full course. The course also felt like an ad for data science and IBM more so than a course.

By auden w

Jul 22, 2020

The course videos and readings were interesting but passing the course is not worth your time. The quizzes and final project are only focused on restating what you read, making the class unchallenging

By Adam P

Mar 23, 2020

An okay introduction to what data science means and to careers in the field, but basically nothing in the way of skills provided. Hopefully the other courses in the series will provide more of that.