Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
60,989 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

KK

Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.

Krishna

Filter by:

9301 - 9325 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Shubham K

Apr 4, 2020

Greate introduction for data science and job to do for a data scientist can go deeper also while considering the theoretical part.

By Kai G H

Dec 2, 2019

Overall a good start to a program like this however it certainly leaves you excited and eager for the "Meat and Potatoes" to come.

By Sid M

Nov 30, 2021

Highly introductory in nature, with emphasis on reading skills rather than analytics insight. Hoping the next modules are better.

By Weronika M

Oct 14, 2020

Getting grades for final assignment is poor method. I did not get this point reasonable of begging people to grade my assignment.

By Jv V

May 24, 2019

Explains very well what is data science and what data scientists do. Do not expect to learn any practical stuff with this course.

By Sabarish V

Mar 20, 2019

It is a fairly good introduction to data science. There isn't much to learn here if you've already dipped your toes in the field.

By Satrio Y

Jul 24, 2022

If you're looking for an insight for data science, this could be the one that you should take. Well done for making this course!

By VAIBHAV R

Jul 16, 2020

Basic information is given in this course if you are interested to know in what is actually data sciencw the go for this course.

By Ayushi K

Jul 29, 2020

Awesome course for beginners scrolling through different books, loads of information and enrollig into other expensive courses.

By Juan-Pierre K

Jun 14, 2020

Very informational. Teaches the nitty gritty details of what a Data Scientist does and what Data Science actually is. Thank you

By Tanushree

Aug 6, 2019

We can probably add some more links for reference, so that we can get more information to go through.

Some books or references.

By Kevin D

May 16, 2019

A good introduction, but a lot of fluff in the videos that are more appropriate for high schoolers then professional education.

By Duong T T T

Feb 10, 2019

The course provided an overview of what data science is about. Good start for those who want to learn the subject from scratch.

By Kirill M

Sep 23, 2018

Good for newcomers, but a bit lean for those who know something of the field. Yet it's an introductory course and worth taking.

By Chinwe A

Feb 24, 2022

This course is a gentle and complete introductry overview of data science. I highly recommend it to aspiring data scientists.

By Pankaj P

Jan 6, 2020

The quizzes are overly complex as I feel the target audience should not be grilled on their ability for reading comprehension.

By Grant N

Mar 4, 2019

UX environment as displayed in the Coursera modules no longer matches the UX in the IBM platform. Can get a little confusing.

By Marcos P R

Dec 2, 2020

Good summary of what it is Data science, overviewing the fundamentals without getting into much detail on the subject itself.

By Isis C

Jan 25, 2020

The course presents in a very nice introduction into what data science is and what a data scientist do! I truly recommend it.

By Bongjin

May 13, 2019

This is only the beginning of way to become data scientist... we need to keep going till we get the necessary skills we need!

By Zhixia L

Sep 17, 2018

Very good introduction. But the content is little and not well constructed. More information is needed to form a good course.

By Daniel S M R

Nov 22, 2021

Good introduction, but it could have been more specific about varios data science problems, not only recommendations engines

By Oussema A

Oct 4, 2020

It's an informative and a good introductory course in Data Science and in its concepts but I wished that if it was credited.

By Omkar N

Jun 28, 2020

This is a brief introduction to data science. If you want more detailed explanation go for a specialization in Data science.