Chevron Left
Back to Accounting Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Accounting Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,970 ratings

About the Course

Accounting Analytics explores how financial statement data and non-financial metrics can be linked to financial performance.  In this course, taught by Wharton’s acclaimed accounting professors, you’ll learn how data is used to assess what drives financial performance and to forecast future financial scenarios. While many accounting and financial organizations deliver data, accounting analytics deploys that data to deliver insight, and this course will explore the many areas in which accounting data provides insight into other business areas including consumer behavior predictions, corporate strategy, risk management, optimization, and more. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how financial data and non-financial data interact to forecast events, optimize operations, and determine strategy. This course has been designed to help you make better business decisions about the emerging roles of accounting analytics, so that you can apply what you’ve learned to make your own business decisions and create strategy using financial data. ...

Top reviews

LS

Aug 8, 2023

great experience and very informational topics discussed in this course. Transcript used very much while they are teaching the class. Thank you Coursera team providing great opportunity to me.

FA

Jun 11, 2018

One of the most practical courses I have taken in Coursera. Highly recommended for professionals in Business, Strategy, and Finance & Accounting departments, as well as stock market investors.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 553 Reviews for Accounting Analytics

By 刘峰

Mar 18, 2019

I am very grateful to the two professors for their wonderful lectures. They have a humorous explanation on such a profound course, and finally instilled the essence of business analysis in accounting. Thanks again to the two professors!

By Mahesh G

Dec 29, 2020

Nice course. I have understood the accounting analytics concept. But a lot can be developed regarding videos and course material. The material should be very detailed explaining concepts and videos should provide more information

By robert k

Jun 8, 2016

Rather robust material with strong focus on "deceptive" practice detection. A lot of ratio analyses, each with its own moniker which I found tedious. Informative and confirmed that I don't have the "accountant gene".

By Mrunalini J

Mar 21, 2016

There was a gap between the prerequisites mentioned on the course details and those stated by Prof. Bushee during the lectures. As such, I found this course a bit harder due to tons of new terminologies in accounting.

By R Q

Apr 11, 2020

It is a very good course, bur i expected more from Business analytics and is more for auditors. I recommend that get more profound into financial metrics with more examples to adapt in companies. Thank you.

By MD. M S

Apr 23, 2021

Some points was really new for me and I had to watch youtube for understanding those, I think the reason is I only took this part from the course. Still I think it should be a bit more explanatory.

By Raghav S

Apr 7, 2019

Very interestingly taught, with active effort put in by the tutors. Good style of teaching that keeps things interesting. 4 stars since the last week felt under-done and repetitive within itself.

By Kaspars S

Jul 28, 2016

The contrast of provided material is quite huge. In first for weeks all the analytics are explained and decisions are shown, in the last week only principles and overall concepts are introduced.

By Ehsan C

Aug 14, 2017

The course introduces concepts of analytics and provides examples that require thinking critically. I have learnt some very new concepts and appreciate the application of it in real life.

By catur e

Aug 20, 2021

well i give 4 stars because in week 4 there is some trouble with translate appear fast than voice it hard to interpret and understanding because of lack listening in english, thank youu

By Shivam S

May 22, 2019

The last weeks lecture was too much theoretical. No numbers used .Rest was Fantastic and a great leaning experience.The lectures on earning management was very nice and interesting

By Lloyd M

Jul 3, 2020

Parts were good but I felt the emphasis on finding accounting fraud was too niche, I was looking for ways to improve my business. The final week actually saved the course for me.

By Hem S

Apr 10, 2020

Linking non-financial metrics wasn't very informative. May be, a more practical approach could have been more effective.

Prof. Bushee made the concepts very clear and helpful.

By Patrick S

Aug 17, 2017

It might be better to make this a 6-week course instead of 4, as I believe that the content of week 4 can be expanded (if not covered in other courses of the series, that is)

By Chow Y S

Jun 1, 2020

Good basics of learning accounting. Made me appreciated accountants more in their job scope. Good for people wanting to learn more about the scope of accounting

By Sushil D

Mar 28, 2020

Week 1 and 2 were really insightful. Pls enhance course content on similar real life case studies and regression models around financial statements analytics.

By Gowtham T

Mar 2, 2016

Brain Bushee's videos are really impressive. Some areas are too technical for a beginner to understand. The rest of the material provide good understanding...

By Vinesh K

Apr 28, 2020

All the insights and study materials with clear examples were very useful but, a few extra practical example sessions would've the done the job better !

By Pamela W

Jun 10, 2017

This course proviodes a very helpful combination of technical and strategic analysis, improving both hard and soft skills for financial analysis.

By Ryan K

Oct 30, 2016

Focus of first 3 week is more of an audit analytics material. Quiz material could have been more interactive. Overall OK course.

By JAVIER D L R A

May 29, 2020

If you are an accountant or financier, you should understand this course smoothly and quickly. If you are not, you will suffer.

By Sai G S

Mar 30, 2017

Providing what are the insight we need to look before investing in a company and how interpret the balance sheet and found the

By snigdhayan m

Apr 12, 2020

Really loved the virtual audience. The use of some business intelligence tools (other than excel) would have made it nicer.

By Masaki K

Jan 27, 2017

I have only taken one year of accounting in high school before, but the course was really easy to comprehend and engaging!

By daoudi h

Feb 17, 2016

the Best cour and the Best site

tanks