Chevron Left
Back to Accounting Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Accounting Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,967 ratings

About the Course

Accounting Analytics explores how financial statement data and non-financial metrics can be linked to financial performance.  In this course, taught by Wharton’s acclaimed accounting professors, you’ll learn how data is used to assess what drives financial performance and to forecast future financial scenarios. While many accounting and financial organizations deliver data, accounting analytics deploys that data to deliver insight, and this course will explore the many areas in which accounting data provides insight into other business areas including consumer behavior predictions, corporate strategy, risk management, optimization, and more. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how financial data and non-financial data interact to forecast events, optimize operations, and determine strategy. This course has been designed to help you make better business decisions about the emerging roles of accounting analytics, so that you can apply what you’ve learned to make your own business decisions and create strategy using financial data. ...

Top reviews

LS

Aug 8, 2023

great experience and very informational topics discussed in this course. Transcript used very much while they are teaching the class. Thank you Coursera team providing great opportunity to me.

FA

Jun 11, 2018

One of the most practical courses I have taken in Coursera. Highly recommended for professionals in Business, Strategy, and Finance & Accounting departments, as well as stock market investors.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 553 Reviews for Accounting Analytics

By Nadia V N

Jan 19, 2017

The three first weeks were almost completely dedicated to traditional finance accounting ratio analysis.

By Ahmed M

Jun 26, 2021

It is very hard explanation and boring part into the whole specialization and not straight forward

By Adwait K

Feb 8, 2018

Very little part of this course is analytics. First few videos are full of financial ratios.

By Bilal F

Feb 22, 2021

Complicated and hard to follow/stay focused

By Milos M

May 8, 2016

Too far from subject

By Jason R

May 9, 2023

Very hard course !

By Milad J

Jul 15, 2021

too hard

By Lavaneesh S

Jan 14, 2017

N

By Manish P

Oct 1, 2023

Lot of considerably complex and dry (accounting and statistics!) subject matter covered at a high level without much discussion! Quiz questions are unnecessarily complex - which (IMHO) will discourage / turn off those who are new to this subject matter in completing this course. The last week is pretty interesting though!

I am taking the full business analytic course - and find that the quality and complexity of content is all over the place!! Some are way too simple and some are highly complex.

By Jay B

Nov 12, 2019

NOT an analytics course. Just a financial accounting course. The lecturer is decent at best but read quiz questions very carefully as there are slight word changes that are easy to miss.

The most helpful part of this class was the last week (measuring the financial impact of non-financial things). Mainly just don't think this course belongs in this specialization

By Shansong Y

May 21, 2020

The course it very dry and technical, the two professors were talking about theory and didn't practice them on case, so it is hard to understand the content. And also the provided materials and courses are not enough to pass the quiz so I ended up studying by myself on Google.

By Wojciech S

Jul 16, 2019

From my own perspective this course of Accounting Analytics has been very unclear conveyed. We are here to gain information, to learn how the numbers on spreadsheet understand better. No totally convinced after a couple weeks spend time a front on screen helped me with it.

By Babuprasad S

Sep 29, 2016

Professors need to undergo a presentation and Instruction Design skills. They were talking a lot and everything was going over my head, the reason was there were not visual prompt for the examples, specifically in the last week.

By Ali A

Jun 17, 2020

Professor Brian Bushee was not the best professor I have had for my courses on Coursera. He taught basics and his questions were quite complicated when compared to what was taught.

By Alec U

Apr 8, 2021

The first three weeks of this course are taught poorly and do not effectively communicate the information necessary to take and succeed on the tests at the end of each week.

By Timothy H

Dec 12, 2022

Flies through the section 3 spreadsheets and powerponts so fast it makes learning less fun. THe cartoon characters you just want to whack them off the screen. :-)

By Hrushikesh A

May 25, 2020

They are following USA accounting standards making it difficult for commerce or finance people from other countries. Else it's really good

By Bonginhlanhla M

Aug 23, 2022

Week 1 to 3 were too technical and I feel we don't need this as data ananlysts we are not financial analysts. the quizzes were too deep

By Saba I

Sep 20, 2022

This course was quite dry with lots of information , should have appreciate if more numbers were involved then theory

By Daniela C

Jun 19, 2017

Might have enjoyed it more with a different lecturer, I was not a fan of the animations and dog store examples.

By Sheryar P

Mar 28, 2016

The Capstone project has been getting delayed since Jan

Dont expect yourself to complete the specialization

By Rubén G G

Mar 30, 2017

No practical knowledge learnd and no clear examples of the topics. Too complex all the course

By H Q

Mar 10, 2016

Easiest accounting common sense. If you ever took acct , this will be a wasting of time.

By Kartik K

Jun 22, 2020

Barring the last week (thus that star), couldn't have been worse.

By Kevin T C H

Oct 24, 2016

Can't relate questions to its contents