Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms, Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms, Part I by Princeton University

4.9
4,972 ratings
1041 reviews

About the Course

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

RM

Jun 01, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP

Jun 11, 2017

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,006 Reviews for Algorithms, Part I

By Eduardo C C

Apr 12, 2019

Everybody should take and learn from this and the algorithms II courses, both are awesome. Why?, because you will learn a lot of skills beyond the algorithms taught in the course, (which by the way are all awesome, for example you will learn to implement the kd-tree algorithm and also how it is used for computer graphic acceleration and how it's implemented in the famous machine learning algorithm k-NN, and if you dive a little more in the material you will be able to run the famous flocking boids algorithm developed by Craig Reynolds in the field of artificial life)

By working on the project assignments, you will learn by doing the best practices in OOP, coding style and documentation writing. And the most important, you will gain the skills necessary to think algorithmically to effectively solve hard problems and how to write fast and memory efficient code. All those skills will be very useful when you work in your own projects.

Also, you will understand why a good algorithm worths much more than a super computer and the importance of its study, because knowing about algorithms will make you able to answer questions like: how do I now if the algorithm I'm writing is the best option available to solve this kind of problem?, Does my algorithm scale well with the size of the problem I'm trying to solve? and much more. After completing this course you will be able to answer all these very important questions and you will have the right skillset to tackle real world problems. Definitely this and the algorithms II courses are among the bests courses in the world available in CS and you can take both for free!!!!

By Sai

Jun 05, 2017

I am a bit dissapointed for the fact that this forces people to code in Java. Need to provide flexibility for someone coming from C/C++/Python who are well versed and can code in those. It becomes more of programming hurdle than logic implementation.

By Oleksii M

Apr 08, 2017

Even though there is a lot of useful information in this course, I personally don’t like it. I wouldn’t take this course again if I had a chance to go back in time.

All hometasks are much more about programing in Java than algorithms. Open any week's discussion forum, you will find out that 90% questions and problems are about Java, not algorithms. If you are not a professional programer, you will spend at least 30-40 hours a weak instead of 6-10 hours.

5 week’s task is just a pure joke: 30 minutes explanation about most difficult structure in the course and not a single line of code.. After that you must write it by yourself. Just look at week 5 discussion forum. Do you know why there are 42 topics in week 3 and only 7 in week 5? Because people decide not to do it.

The goal of a teacher must be to make students love the course\matherial\science, not to hate it. I’m not sure about hating, but it was annoying as hell.

By Derevyanko N S

Feb 23, 2019

Курс рекомендую для людей которые совсем далеки от алгоритмов и хотят начать в них разбираться. Если вы уже имеете представления о том как оценивать сложность алгоритма и знаете хоть какие-то структуры данных, то этот курс будет слишком легким и мало что нового вы из него узнаете. Лучше начните сразу со второй части этого курса.

By Manoj K

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent course material, including the programing assignments.

I wish there were additional programming assignments spanning more topics from the course (shorter ones in addition to those in this course).

By Muhammad D

Feb 15, 2019

I am so grateful for this course. I had to practice Java, which is something I haven't done in years. I loved the historical explanation behind red-black trees. Especially, I loved the tasks .. they were very difficult, engaging and it felt so good after finishing them :) . Thank you very much for the effort and the well-crafted material.

By Nathanael Y

Feb 14, 2019

Simply awesome, the slides, lecture and assignments are very good. The assignments are challenging and difficult, but just enough for you to finish them and improve yourself. I would definitely recommend this course to every programmer I know.

By Yu H

Dec 10, 2018

best algorithm course I've ever seen!

By Robert M

Jun 01, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

By oscar a m o

Jun 17, 2019

Es de lo mejor. gracias.

By BrianTheOne

Jun 17, 2019

Very useful, and the graded assignments are awesome, thank you!

By XINYUAN Z

Jun 15, 2019

excellet

By Keshav S

Jun 14, 2019

good

By 崔金浩

Jun 13, 2019

It‘’s a extremely useful course for me, a student majoring in E&E, now I have a better experience in JAVA and data structure.

By Jinghe Z

Jun 13, 2019

this course is super great!

By Yachendra R

Jun 10, 2019

Extensive coverage of algorithms, great material and very clear explanation..

By dongqinzhou

Jun 09, 2019

牛逼!

By Qi F

Jun 06, 2019

nice

By Sueny S M

Jun 06, 2019

This course provides you a deep understanding of basics algorithms as well basic java apis.

It is challenging and instigating. Thank you for the material professors.

By Peter L

Jun 05, 2019

Loved it! The lecture was very clear and the homework was super on point!

By Bryce C

Jun 05, 2019

Great course for understanding advanced data structures and algorithms.

By Edison A R M C

Jun 04, 2019

Excelent, this course have very good introduction , its very deep and also have a lot of information in the web page about the book of reference. Highly recommend

By Jambalsvren G

Jun 04, 2019

everybody need to course

By Potter

May 28, 2019

计算机相关的算法课程是我心里一直担心但又一直念想的,也是克服了一定的恐惧。没有白入这门课。最大的收获:看似复杂之物,本质其实简单。

By Aria B

May 26, 2019

This was a really interesting course. Not too difficult to discourage one from learning, and not too easy that you can passively just listen to lectures and pass. The length of the material was appropriate too. I highly recommend it.