Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms, Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms, Part I by Princeton University

4.9
stars
11,257 ratings

About the Course

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. People who are interested in digging deeper into the content may wish to obtain the textbook Algorithms, Fourth Edition (upon which the course is based) or visit the website algs4.cs.princeton.edu for a wealth of additional material. This course does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

HM

Invalid date

The best online course I've taken so far. The autograder really does its job! The tests are so thorough that it always takes me several attempts to finish an assignment, but it is always worth it!

RB

Invalid date

The course focuses on Java specific implementations of algorithms, so if you're not from a Java background, you would have a little difficulty with the assignments.The course content however is great.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,254 Reviews for Algorithms, Part I

By Felix K

Jul 5, 2019

The exercises are very well prepared and documented. The lectures are also great and prepare the student well for the exercise. I'm sure the book would have helped but I was able to complete all exercises with only the material provided in this course. There are also a lot of practise questions on each topic.

By Egor Z

Jul 7, 2019

Nice course. I believe all software engineers must go through this course. Because it's fundamental knowledge which helps to understand more complex data structure and algorithm. And also it helps not only to use data structures and algorithm effectively and to compose your own data structures and algorithm.

By wang w

Apr 19, 2017

Very good. The TFs are nice too. Nevertheless for a non-CS student like me keeping up with the course is really tough, especially provided that I have never learnt java language before, and that I conducted all debugging without any debugger(I don't know how to use DrJava). In all the course is worth taking.

By Viraj T

Oct 7, 2021

What an amazing course! 16 years in software industry and yet the algorithms taught in this course amazes me. The assignments are challenging and very satisfying when you pass them. Tests associated with the assignments are very well written. Thoroughly enjoyed this course. A big thanks to the instructors.

By Sachindra N

Jun 28, 2020

Very nice explanations for some of the things I have been using as a software engineer for very long. Every programmer should take this course. The explanation of A*Search and KD Trees alongwith programming exercises were really interesting and have now made me more interested in computer vision problems.

By Christopher M

Feb 12, 2018

Fantastic course in data structures and algorithms, great introduction for those who haven't taken CS at university. Also leans towards the mathematical side versus pure programming while utilising some good programming exercises, so an interesting course from that angle too. Looking forward to Part II!

By Maximilian V

Aug 11, 2020

An absolutely phenomenal course! The instructor is great, the PPT are really good and the assignments are a good and fun challenge. Even though not necessary I would recommend getting the Algorithms 4 book as well. Overall, the course couldn't be any better, by far the best Coursera experience I had.

By Jacob F

Apr 22, 2017

I started coding with Javascript and Python...and I struggled with this course, having not mastered Java. But the resources were perfect and now I have a large cache of projects and information to draw upon as I progress with Java and more academic/algorithmic problems in my software engineer career.

By Ivan M

Sep 12, 2020

Good algorithms are better than supercomputers. This course is essential not only because it teaches you some hints that might be extremely useful, but also since it makes you change your mind about your priorities while creating something new to mankind. And it makes you think & explore your brain!

By Gleb L

May 28, 2018

Great explanation of theoretical part. Challenging and rewarding practical assignments. I wish the quizzes with interview questions would contain the solution or more in-depth explanation of approach to problem solving. Overall - amazing course, going to take some break and enroll the second part.

By David B

Nov 16, 2022

Fantastic course that not only teaches about algorithms and data structures, but really helps you think like a programmer, and how to recognize common patterns to decide what data structure and algorithms to use to solve a problem. Can't wait to take the 2nd part of the course after a short break.

By Ravi T U

May 21, 2018

The concepts that are covered in this part of the course are very fundamental and cannot afford to be misunderstood by anyone. The professor has taught them in details. Thanks to the professor for the assignments (which are applications of the concepts in the real world). I learnt a lot from them.

By Jesus I C O

Mar 26, 2017

Es un curso muy excelente, actualmente soy ingeniero en informatica y tenia un cierto tiempo que no aplicaba algoritmos con un nivel de importancia tan basica como los que aplique en el curso, muy agradecido con el conocimiento impartido a lo largo de este tiempo y encantado de realizar la parte 2

By Viacheslav

Feb 1, 2023

With all my sincere gratitude towards professors Robert Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne, and others involved in creating and maintaining of this course,

I may heartily recommend this course to anyone who is serious about becoming a professional computer programmer.

A grateful student,

Viacheslav Mikhailow

By kaixin y

Jul 12, 2021

This course is amazing and the contents are interesting. I've learned a lot and also gained much practical experience in this semester. The autograder of codes provided me many valuable advices and helped me develop good coding habits. I really appreciate the efforts of two princeton professors.

By Ahmad A

Feb 27, 2018

With the right mindset, this can be one of the best MOOCs available. I didn't start benefitting from the course until I started watching the lectures with a pen and notebook in hand, taking notes, drawing trees, hand writing code and making absolutely sure that I understand every word being said.

By Vicente A

May 23, 2018

Amazing MOOC. I followed both the video lectures and the book as I went on, and I really feel that my understanding on Algorithms and Data Structures has grown greatly in the past month and a half. The programming assignments are really tough, but very rewarding. I can't wait to begin Part II.

By KARTHIC G

Oct 8, 2023

Great experience taking this course. Well laid out course material and clear discussions based on the Java implementation of algorithms. Suggest this material to either beginners learning Data Structures and Algorithms concepts from scratch or programmers who would like to revisit the topics.

By Ali E

May 4, 2023

thoroughly enjoyed the course and learned a lot in the process. The structure and resources are great. the assignments are very useful and fun. good course to take at your own pace while juggling other balls, wether you want to learn this fresh or review some concepts from your past studies

By Tadek W

Jan 26, 2022

Excellent course, it is only a pity that many tests and final exam are not present (yet?). Course material is thorough and very well presented. Lectures are engaging and samples of usage of particualr algorithms are always solutions to real world examples. Once again - an excellent course!

By Mike L

Sep 10, 2020

overall an excellent course with well designed programming assignments. I'm not a CS major so the topics are really helpful in my coding projects. I also felt the assignments were quite challenging at times especially if one were to undertake the optional exercises in the assignment sets.

By Mikaelian V

Mar 19, 2019

Outstanding course. Thank you very much. Gives opportunity to optimise current working stuff , very good overview of existing algorithms and data structures and their applications. Also it's very interesting to solve hard tasks and always thinking how do better. I'm going to next course.

By WAN , Y

Jul 3, 2018

This course is great! The lecture slides and the code from the course are well-organized and clean. The auto-grading is powerful because it not only checks the correctness or performance of the code, it also detects the improper coding ways. I've learned a lot of things from the course.

By Stephen

Feb 5, 2018

Very helpful course. The free auto-grader is a great advantage of this course, which can give you detailed insights on your homework. The professor is excellent, explaining everything clearly. The homework is full of real applications, helping me to better understanding the algorithms.

By Ken S

Feb 28, 2017

Because I don't know Java (yet) and the homework can only be submitted in Java, I audited this course. Time well spent! Even without working the exercises, the lectures were easy to follow and highly interesting. I picked up several things that will likely help me write better code.